NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 GX 460

Consumer Reviews

2019 Lexus GX 460

$52,505 - $63,905  MSRP Range
2019 Lexus GX 460

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

14 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Lexus GX 460?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

This is the luxury SUV you deserve!

by bostonrecruiter from Boston, MA on Thu Jan 17 2019

Traded in my very small BMW X5 for this beast and I am glad I did. Sure it is not the performance I had with BMW, however it is not the small size either. I felt low to the ground in the X5 and cramped. This SUV drives like a full size SUV, handles better and is total luxury inside and out. Plus it looks stylish and is just a beautiful vehicle. On top of that its Toyota made so it will last forever and drives nice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It does a certain job extremely well

by Affi from Indianapolis, IN on Mon Jun 24 2019

I’ve owned the car for two months and driven 1600 miles so far. Previous car: 2016 c300 4matic. No car is perfect and the Gx460 is far from it. It does a certain job very well and it leaves other jobs to other cars. The GX460 is an intentionally outdated platform that prioritizes reliable transportation regardless of the terrain. It tries to let you get where you want to go with a reasonable sense of comfort. It does not get you there fast. It creates a reasonable amount of drama, loud V8 noise, enough body roll and back and forth motion to make you wonder whether your money was better spent elsewhere. What it gets right is bad weather. I just drove 4 hours through a thunderstorm. This car just ignored it. You could feel the wind in your steering on occasion but that’s about it. The puddles of water, rain on the windshield, back, fog on the side mirrors were taken care of quickly. This car makes you want to hit the pothole rather than avoid it because it handles them so well and you want to experience that. There’s occasional shaking of the body down a bad run of potholed pavement but there’s no discomfort and you don’t really slow down because it doesn’t bother you. Finally, it’s a Toyota. German and Italian cars are great. They can take a 2.0L displacement and get you both 300hp and 30mpg. But when someone else’s door goes flying open in the wind and bumps into your aluminum body, you really wonder about all that tensile strength data that’s supposedly there. A Lexus GX460 is a reliable rock. If someone else can get into your place of work during a storm or snow or ice or hail or a taliban attack, it can get you there as well. These cars are what third world country heads of states are driven in. Hop into the back seat and enjoy the comforts of a corrupt leader without having to step on a poor kids future or dreams. Just make sure you’re not in a hurry to get where you want because 0-60 will take a few sips of Diet Coke. And make sure you have priorities other than the impending climate change (better yet, call it a hoax) because that 15mpg driving was when you weren’t being lead footed. The sturdy reassurance and the pretty luxurious ... ummm... luxury make me miss my previous sports sedan only once a week. The sound system with Andrea bocelli on surround makes tears well up in my eyes and the vented seats ensure that I’m not sweating when having to accelerate hard onto a highway ramp.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I’ve had excellent results from owning a Lexus 3 t

by Jimmy G from Burlington, WI on Sun Jan 06 2019

Outstanding car, ride is wonderful, excellent electronics, well thought out controls, professional people at Lexus of Brookfield could not be happier, 3 rd Lexus we purchased from them. Service is superior to any other dealership. Sales people were very professional. Happy happy happy with vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First time owning a Lexus and LOVE IT.

by HappyNita from Metairie La, on Thu Jan 03 2019

This vehicle met all my expectations. Love the look and love the amenities inside especially the back up camera and the touch screen radio. Wish I would have bought one years ago.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love driving new Lexus!

by Heather from Milwaukee on Sat Feb 02 2019

This SUV drives like a car. It is so roomy and has so many new and now features. We are so happy with our new ride!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very relaxing and comfortable vehicle

by Elliott from Candor, North Carolina on Sun Dec 09 2018

Our GX460 met our needs for our durability of the vehicle, such as, spacious and road driving of the vehicle and more importantly comfortable heat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best Lexus so far

by Mimmie Nguyen from New Orleans, LA on Sun May 26 2019

We need a bigger suv and we choose to stay with Lexus. This GX460 is by far the best suv we have owned and driven.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic car

by Heather from Quakertown on Sat Jul 13 2019

Love my new Lexus. Been waiting YEARS to have this car! Can't say enough great things about it. Best car I've ever had and definitely worth the wait!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable SUV I’ve owned

by Lilian Wang from New Orleans, Louisiana on Wed Jul 31 2019

This new GX 460 we just bought has all the room we need. We like to travel and this vehicle is perfect for the purpose. I would recommend it to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second one we owned

by MzRandee from Cave Creek on Sun Jun 09 2019

We've owned 2 4Runners and this is our second GX460. Love the reliability, comfort and practicality. I'm sure our next one will be a 460 as well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2019 Lexus GX 460

The verdict:

A capable towing and off-road vehicle, the old-school GX 460 manages to earn its keep in the Lexus lineup, but that’s due as much to the failure of its stablemates as it is to its own inherent strengths.

Versus the competition:

Venture outside the Lexus brand and you’ll find more refined, efficient and accommodating crossovers — even a few that can tow heavier trailers.

When Lexus finally added a third-row seat to a stretched version of the RX SUV, we thought the GX's days were numbered. You see, the GX is an old-school, truck-based SUV with all the associated shortcomings, such as space and fuel inefficiency. Its main reasons for being included higher towing capacity, off-road ability and a third row (in a Lexus model smaller than the hulking LX 570).

As it turned out, though, the RX 350L had a smaller third row than the GX, which perversely may give this truck another reason to stick around. We decided to give it a fresh look. I'll zero in on what you get from this holdout Lexus — and what you might sacrifice.

You Get Towing

The primary... Read More