2019 GX 460

Consumer Reviews

2019 Lexus GX 460

$38,338 - $52,922  MSRP Range
2019 Lexus GX 460

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

23 Reviews
87% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Lexus GX 460?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 23 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

This is the luxury SUV you deserve!

by bostonrecruiter from Boston, MA on Thu Jan 17 2019

Traded in my very small BMW X5 for this beast and I am glad I did. Sure it is not the performance I had with BMW, however it is not the small size either. I felt low to the ground in the X5 and cramped. This SUV drives like a full size SUV, handles better and is total luxury inside and out. Plus it looks stylish and is just a beautiful vehicle. On top of that its Toyota made so it will last forever and drives nice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It does a certain job extremely well

by Affi from Indianapolis, IN on Mon Jun 24 2019

I’ve owned the car for two months and driven 1600 miles so far. Previous car: 2016 c300 4matic. No car is perfect and the Gx460 is far from it. It does a certain job very well and it leaves other jobs to other cars. The GX460 is an intentionally outdated platform that prioritizes reliable transportation regardless of the terrain. It tries to let you get where you want to go with a reasonable sense of comfort. It does not get you there fast. It creates a reasonable amount of drama, loud V8 noise, enough body roll and back and forth motion to make you wonder whether your money was better spent elsewhere. What it gets right is bad weather. I just drove 4 hours through a thunderstorm. This car just ignored it. You could feel the wind in your steering on occasion but that’s about it. The puddles of water, rain on the windshield, back, fog on the side mirrors were taken care of quickly. This car makes you want to hit the pothole rather than avoid it because it handles them so well and you want to experience that. There’s occasional shaking of the body down a bad run of potholed pavement but there’s no discomfort and you don’t really slow down because it doesn’t bother you. Finally, it’s a Toyota. German and Italian cars are great. They can take a 2.0L displacement and get you both 300hp and 30mpg. But when someone else’s door goes flying open in the wind and bumps into your aluminum body, you really wonder about all that tensile strength data that’s supposedly there. A Lexus GX460 is a reliable rock. If someone else can get into your place of work during a storm or snow or ice or hail or a taliban attack, it can get you there as well. These cars are what third world country heads of states are driven in. Hop into the back seat and enjoy the comforts of a corrupt leader without having to step on a poor kids future or dreams. Just make sure you’re not in a hurry to get where you want because 0-60 will take a few sips of Diet Coke. And make sure you have priorities other than the impending climate change (better yet, call it a hoax) because that 15mpg driving was when you weren’t being lead footed. The sturdy reassurance and the pretty luxurious ... ummm... luxury make me miss my previous sports sedan only once a week. The sound system with Andrea bocelli on surround makes tears well up in my eyes and the vented seats ensure that I’m not sweating when having to accelerate hard onto a highway ramp.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love driving new Lexus!

by Heather from Milwaukee on Sat Feb 02 2019

This SUV drives like a car. It is so roomy and has so many new and now features. We are so happy with our new ride!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not a rebranded 4Runner

by ScottL from Puyallup, WA on Thu Mar 14 2019

Wanted a truck based SUV with a little more luxury and style. Looked at X5, Q7, Denali, Tahoe, Cayenne and ended up at Lexus. Drove one off the lot that day.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I’ve had excellent results from owning a Lexus 3 t

by Jimmy G from Burlington, WI on Sun Jan 06 2019

Outstanding car, ride is wonderful, excellent electronics, well thought out controls, professional people at Lexus of Brookfield could not be happier, 3 rd Lexus we purchased from them. Service is superior to any other dealership. Sales people were very professional. Happy happy happy with vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4th GX I have owned. Super automobile.

by Jerry from Leawood KS on Mon Jan 21 2019

This SUV gives me the utility and comfort I like. Plenty of interior room and back storage space. Rides very nicely on the highway too. Features all the latest safety equipment and comfort features as well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Dated technology - not good

by Bronco from PENNSYLVANIA on Sat Dec 14 2019

Very disappointed with the remote start subscription fee .... smartphone start time consuming and not reliable .... what is Lexus thinking? I’ll sell this vehicle within year

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love it !!!!

by judefrancois from mequon, wi on Wed Oct 23 2019

This is the best car ever. It's easy to drive and is so awesome to be inside of it. i'm so happy with my purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Drives like xxxx. Super slow for a 8 cilinder car.

by RobertFL SportCarFan from Miami Florida on Thu Mar 28 2019

I think they need to totally remodeled this car. I think it is to slow for 8 cilinder car. Spends to much Gas. I am a bet disappointed on performance. Back opens to the side.. Thanks

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2000 Mercury Cougar

by Betty boop from Forney on Fri Jun 26 2020

The leather issue color comes off the leather is not worth it and they will not fix it I'm having problems getting a letter fix they do not honor the letter they tell you not to put a build on because if that's bull crap you should be able to wear a belt to hold your pants up

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2019 Lexus GX 460

The verdict:


A capable towing and off-road vehicle, the old-school GX 460 manages to earn its keep in the Lexus lineup, but that’s due as much to the failure of its stablemates as it is to its own inherent strengths.

Versus the competition:


Venture outside the Lexus brand and you’ll find more refined, efficient and accommodating crossovers — even a few that can tow heavier trailers.

When Lexus finally added a third-row seat to a stretched version of the RX SUV, we thought the GX’s days were numbered. You see, the GX is an old-school, truck-based SUV with all the associated shortcomings, such as space and fuel inefficiency. Its main reasons for being included higher towing capacity, off-road ability and a third row (in a Lexus model smaller than the hulking LX 570).

As it turned out, though, the RX 350L had a smaller third row than the GX, which perversely may give this truck another reason to stick around. We decided to give it a fresh look. I’ll zero in on what you get from this holdout Lexus — and what you might sacrifice.

You Get Towing

The primary thing... Read More