2003 Grand Marquis

Consumer Reviews

2003 Mercury Grand Marquis

$986 - $8,666  MSRP Range
2003 Mercury Grand Marquis

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

40 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 40 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best car available for the money.

by Steelerfan from Pittsburgh, PA on Tue Oct 03 2006

My Grand Marquis does everything well. In addition to being reliable, it's been trouble free, comfortable on long trips, handles well and is solid (no squeaks or rattles). On a recent trip to Florida, I got 24 MPG driving thru the hills of WV and 28 MPG the rest of the way. What more could you ask? One suggestion to Ford: Dual exhaust boosts HP from 224 to 239. Since it probably would also boost fuel economy, why not make it strandard equipment?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Consistently Outstanding

by CountryBumpkin from Suffolk, VA on Fri Nov 14 2008

The 2003 is the 3rd Grand Marquis I've owned. I commute right at 100 miles per day. We use the Grand Marquis as the work horse car and including the commuting mileage I put about 40K miles per year on it. It has been faultless for the four years I've owned it. It now has 158K miles on it and all I've ever done is changed the oil and replaced the tires. It rides and drives like new and still averages 25 MPG. The last Grand Marquis went 251K miles without a problem and I have no doubt this one will too. When it's time to get another car, you can trust it will be another Grand Marquis. It's a shame that Mercury is phasing them out...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love my car

by Dennis717 from Latrobe pennsylvania on Fri Dec 09 2016

My family was a family of chevy and cadillac lovers thats all that was in my parents driveway but a year ago i bought my 2003 marquis with 79,000 miles because im a ford guy and for $2,500 dollars it was a steal needless to say i was made fun of by my family but it quickly grew on them to the point where my mother has tried to steal it. My mother ended up trading in her 2004 cts for a 2009 towncar and, my father traded in his 2004 sls for a 2008 crown Victoria ex police car as well as buying a 2002 maurader. I was planning on trading it in for something newer and more reliable but im keeping this car it is a soom riding highway beast with good power and cheap replacement parts but you'll never ever need to replace anything expensive this car has never left me stuck or broke down in any srnce of the word. All ive done was replace a upper ball joint, sparks plugs, tires, brakes, and oil... all routine maintenance stuff this car is staying eith me for a long time

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliabilty was this car's first name!

by past owner from nj on Thu May 16 2013

Ford made this most desirable of police and older drivers. Comfort on long trips, big big trunk space and room for a family of 5 . Why they stopped this American Dream is sheer stupidity.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best driving cars around for the money

by Tom from Bloomington, Ca on Mon Apr 09 2012

I've owned Lincolns,Fords and Mercurys my entire life. When looking for a family vehicle, the Mercury Grand Marquis, has everything a family needs. Seats up to 6 passengers comfortably (depending on a 3 passenger front seat or bucket seats). Mercury's drivability is the same as a Lincoln, smooth !!! Riding with the same drivetrain that powers our law enforcement vehicles ( Ford Crown Victoria). The powerful 4.6 liter engine is also economical on gas. For a full-sized family/luxury vehicle we're usually getting around 23 mpg on the highway. Also the 4.6 motors very dependable with regularly scheduled maintenance. No doubt about it it's a big car on the outside with an even bigger ride on the inside. Be comfortable in this one !!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car! Comfortable and reliable.

by Ben Dover from New Mexico on Sat Jul 26 2014

I bought my 2003 model a few months ago, and am quite happy with it. It has almost 150,000 miles, and runs as smooth as any brand new car I've driven. It has a powerful engine, yet it gets decent fuel economy. Only issue is the paint peeling off. Apparently, Ford did shoddy work on the paint for a lot of these cars, so I'm going to have to get that redone, but otherwise, this car is awesome!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've owned

by brandee from sunrise beach mo on Sat Oct 07 2006

Good looking, sturdy, safe, little to no upkeep. A classy car that will look great for years. Extremely comfortable ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2003 Mercury Grand Marquis

by Riffraff from New York on Mon Feb 20 2012

Car is a comfortable " Couch car". It has plenty of power when fully loaded. I was seeking the air supension package but could not find one at the time. I drove one with air suspension and I did not notice a big change.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

All positive, except defective rear axles this yr.

by Drewski from Charleston, SC on Sat Dec 21 2013

In 2013 got this 2003 car from mother-in-law (little old lady). Car had only 24K miles, and now has 35K Have only one complaint and that is the fact that the rear wheel axles/bearings started to fail soon after. My research found that Mercury and Ford installed defective (soft) axles in many of this year's production. This repair costs about $750 for bearings, seals and axles (that's a quality non-dealer shop price). Listen for a "wha wha wha" noise that changes with wheel speed. Best heard with windows up and no A/C or radio on.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by mazz1 from SCHILLER PARK, IL on Mon Dec 08 2008

THIS IS OUR 2ND MARQUIS. THE FIRST A 94 WITH OVER 100K DROVE LIKE A DREAM. THIS ONE HAS 53K AND DRIVES LIKE A DREAM. NO PROBLEMS GREAT CAR FOR THE MONEY- IT'S JUST LIKE A BABY LINCOLN WITHOUT THE PRICE TAG...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis

I landed here knowing that I would not fly back home to Virginia. Even with a return ticket in hand, I was determined not to fly back. America has become ugly in the air. But it remains beautiful on the ground, where at least you can hear its music, talk to its people and enjoy its scenery without a prerequisite body search.

I saw and heard lots of that beauty on an interim road trip from Chicago to Detroit to Cleveland, following a portion of what could be called the American Music Highway. I drove a 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis Premium LS sedan on that leg of the trip.

The Marquis is a full-size, six-passenger, rear-wheel-drive car built body-on-frame. It's perfect for highway cruising... Read More