2019 Mirage

Consumer Reviews

2019 Mitsubishi Mirage

$9,077 - $19,414  MSRP Range
2019 Mitsubishi Mirage

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

44 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Mitsubishi Mirage?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 44 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent in gas consumption

by Cherylstdennis from Bloomington illinois on Wed May 22 2019

With gas prices so high now the price to fill this vehicle is very economic, camera is very helpful and love the touch screen, easy to drive and see other lanes

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

50 out of 50 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love This Little Car

by Mackpine from Halifax Nova Scotia Canada on Mon Aug 05 2019

Adore this little car. After reading all the negative reviews, I decided to test it and see just how terrible it was. Out of all the small cars I drove, it was by far my favorite. Handles bumps and road imperfections with ease, drives like a much bigger car. I got the loaded GT model, switched from a loaded SUV, don’t miss it at all. Highly recommend this car to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

46 out of 46 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Basic Transportation that serves its purpose

by Ash from Mississauga,Ontario on Mon Dec 30 2019

I have owned a 2018 Mitsubishi Mirage ES Hatchback for over a year. The reason I chose to buy the Mirage was the price and the 3 cylinder engine. There is no other vehicle in North America that has a traditional 3 cylinder engine without turbo. The Mirage is reliable, fuel efficient and more than adequate for a family of 4. Critics have slammed the vehicle as being under powered, basic, anemic and not fit for North America.. The vehicle is never advertised and speaks for itself without having to defend why it exists. The Mirage is a great commuter car. It is easy to maneuver and park. It exists for those of us who look at vehicles as appliances whose sole purpose is to transport its occupants from point A to B I have driven it on the highway. Yes it is light and the 3 cylinder engine, like all the critics state, is quite “buzzy”. Road noise is an issue, but for a 3 cylinder engine with 77hp, I had it at 120Km/h with revs around 2700 RPM. The joy of driving this vehicle is rooted in the experience of feeling the road and understanding the sole purpose of the vehicle is a “people mover” and nothing else. I decided to wait a year and half before writing a review too see if what the critics state about the vehicle is true. Most of their opinions hold weight if you compare the Mirage to typical 4 cylinder vehicle like the Micra. A proper review would look at the capacity of the vehicle and make appropriate comparisons. However this would not be possible as there is no other vehicle in the same class as the Mirage, which nullifies all the negative comments about it. Newer vehicles are filled with technological marvels that cushion the ride and electronic gadgets that offer the latest creature comforts. This vehicle is as bare bones as you can get. I opted for the base model without a/c , however as the is was for my wife we settled for the CVT transmission. I would have chosen the manual, but the CVT is not that bad. Fuel economy is unheard of with us averaging around 6.2 liters every 100 km of city driving and 5.3 of highway driving. This is unheard of unless you have a Hybrid vehicle. It is odd when you are on the highway and every other vehicle is a SUV or truck. It’s a shame in my opinion that we tend to buy more than we need especially when it comes to vehicles. Vehicle are depreciating assets and it does not make sense to spend a ton of money on them. I know many will disagree with me, however ask yourself what do you use your vehicle for. The majority of you will find out that your vehicle is an appliance that gets you from point A to point B. The only thing that matters is that you have enough space in your vehicle to fit your family and it is safe and reliable. We are not racing around the city. Many of us like to show off our wealth, which is another issues all together. Given the fact that a car is a depreciating asset ,this does not make any sense. I would rather invest the money that I save buying a basic vehicle such as the Mirage over a $60,000 vehicle. Yes I may be the minority and expect many to think of me as a cheapskate. However the Mirage is one of a handful of vehicles that does not need to pretend to be something its not. That is a lesson that many in our world today could learn from.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

40 out of 40 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I am Happy with my Mirage!

by DriverDave from Kansas City, Mo on Sat Jul 13 2019

This is my second Mirage and I am a happy owner. Fuel economy is great and for a small engine, it has some get up and go, Handles well on the road with a nice 7-inch touch screen at your fingertips. I would not have it any other way.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

was a nice starter car for my son

by traci from HEYWORTH on Wed May 01 2019

my son liked the car and it gets him from point a to b,and he liked the color also and the gas mileage is also great

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great little vehicle.

by A.C.G. from Bloomington, Illinois on Sun Nov 03 2019

The Mirage is an excellent little car & it really is a shame so many professional reviewers are so hard on it. It’s quite & comfortable as a long distance commuter. I like it’s exterior & I have no idea what the reviewers have to xxxxx about where the interior is concerned. I really like it a lot because it still looks like a car & not the xxxx Space Shuttle. Build quality is quite good & it has no squeaks or rattles. It has every amenity I could possibly want. Admittedly first gear is kind of flat but, once you hit second it gets up & goes just fine. The fuel economy is stellar. I routinely get 45-47 mpg on the highway with the 5 speed. I wish I could comment on maintenance but, between Mitsubishi’s warranty & with how great my local dealership is, it really is a pleasure taking it in for its scheduled maintenance. But after the warranty is up, I imagine it’s going to be relatively easy to work on... there’s plenty of room under the hood to get at everything. As for reliability, I can’t specifically comment on this Mirage but, I’ve owned several Mitsubishi products over the years & they've all been just as reliable as any Toyota I’ve ever owned. So, I imagine I’ll be driving this puddle jumper for many years to come.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Affordable Cute Car

by AngelR from Chicago, IL on Sat Aug 03 2019

The Mitsubishi Mirage is an affordable and reliable car. It doesn’t boast all the bells and whistles of a brand new car but it’s simplistic design allows for easy travel. The sound system inside the car is amazing though.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most wonderful.

by Delacruz12456 from DeLand Fl. on Mon Jul 01 2019

For a small car it is great . It drives Wonderful. I would recommend it to anyone else looking for a car. We want to thank you all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

For a small car it handles so well!

by Mitzumama from Clearwater, Florida on Tue Dec 03 2019

First of all, I am a Ford girl I have had numerous Ford cars & trucks .. this was my 1st experience with a different brand vehicle, let me tell you... this car has everything you will get in a higher end car! Apple Car Play/ Bluetooth, Generous Rear Camera, great interior and exterior design, rear upper spoiler, quality "custom" rims matching the car! It rides smooth and feels so good to drive! I LOVE MY MITSUBISHI !!! The price and the quality are five star!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive!

by abbywabby3 from Dallas,Tx on Thu Sep 05 2019

I like the car. Wish it was faster bit I went from a Veloster to a Mirage but I do like the small cars. Even though it's small its bigger than it looks on the inside. Very happy with the car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2019 Mitsubishi Mirage

The verdict:

The Mirage GT has some surprising features for its price, but once you’re driving, you won’t forget what’s missing.

 

Versus the competition:

Other cars in this class are quieter and offer more power and features, but the Mirage is more fun to drive and a bit quirkier, which some will like.

 

The Mitsubishi Mirage is not the lowest-priced new car you can buy in 2018. That title — and accompanying ignominy or praise (I’m not sure which one yet) — goes to the 2018 Nissan Versa, which starts at $12,995. That undercuts the Mirage’s starting price of $14,290 by more than $1,000 (all prices include destination charges). But that’s not to suggest the Mirage feels like anything more than a minimalist car.

In the price range inhabited by cars like the Mirage, Versa, Chevrolet Spark and Kia Rio (compare those here), what you don’t get is just as important as what you do. My week with the 2018 Mirage produced some surprising positives to go along with a few nagging negatives.

The 2018... Read More