2002 Montero Sport

Consumer Reviews
2002 Mitsubishi Montero Sport

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

13 Reviews
2002 Mitsubishi Montero Sport
3.9 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.3 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

First Car, 3.5 years, not a single problem

by barretA_55K from Maple Grove, MN on November 17, 2009

I love this car, i am very sceptical about japenese cars, but this car is an exception! My mom drove it for about 1.5 years, then gave it to me. Even though i work at a detailing shop and can keep it nice, we havent had a single problem with the car yet, except for when a repair shop said they replaced the spark plugs for us (bear in mind the cam is over the engine so spark plugs is the only fix i cant do) they didnt replace the plugs, the engine stuttered a bit for a while and the check engine light was on, we brought it back. Apparently one of the plugs wasnt even firing at all and the thing was still puring like a kitten. Highly recommend this vehicle. Mine has 165,000 miles on it and still no problems!!!! and the photo of it i took, i didnt even mean for it to turn out this good but it turned out ad quality.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Driver J from Cumming, GA on June 19, 2011

Bought it used 5 years ago with 80k, and now has 178k. Second set of tires. Had a little issue with AC, dumb alternator from Autozone caused issues, belts, and that is about it. Love it, looks mean with front bumper guard and big tires. Guzzles gas but its a beast driving and towing. Great used buy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my XLS 2002 Montero Sport

by Montero xls from Tampa, Florida on August 30, 2016

I bought this 2002 Montero Sport XLS used in Tampa with about 160,000 miles give or take. I've driven it almost daily for over a year now and have had absolutely zero problems with it. It now has 178,000 miles. At a local gas station here in Tampa Florida I had someone who was pumping gas ask me what year mine was. He had the exact same year and he said he got almost 500,000 miles on it then gave it to his daughter. It's a fun car to drive. It does guzzle gas though.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I like it.

by Ryan from Indianapolis, IN on April 26, 2007

Had a few SUV's (Blazer and Explorer also Jeep) and I like the looks probably the most, it is just that much different than the previously named and not as common a vehicle, so somewhat disctinct. Handles good, not fast, but why speed around in it. Nice Sound system (very impressive).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great family vehicle

by iluvmyfireman57 from on May 22, 2009

We purchased our 2002 Mitsubishi Montero Sport used 2 years ago and have loved it! It is reliable, roomy, and comfortable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

very reliable car

by adwoabayaw from durham ,nc on May 17, 2009

i love this suv. this vehicle is one of the most comfortable trucks i'VE EVER used.I will always and ever recommend this vehicle to all my friends .I 'm very proud of myself for driving this reliable truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very reliable

by benny from arizona on April 3, 2007

I am a soldier and i was looking for a new reliable suv that does not gave problems to my family while i was gone on deployments. I found it .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

ready for a new car

by looking for a new car from KS on February 3, 2012

I bought this car new in 2002. While it has lasted a long time, I have had a lot of problems with it. It is needing work now, and I'm tired of it nickle and diming me so I'm looking for a new car. I'm not buying new this time either... I don't want my car to depreciate thousands when I drive off of the lot.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love!

by pam9458 from Harpers Ferry WV on August 21, 2017

15 yrs now with no problems other than regular maintenance! I did take off the highway tires and replaced them with a larger " grippy" tire. Yes, it uses more gas and yes, they throw the OD off but In the winter, I'm never stuck up in the WV mountains.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Don't Bother

by ChuckBlade2015 from Waxhaw on December 4, 2017

Ah yes, the Montero Sport...Japan's gift to off-roading in the 90's. The key there is the 90's...because other than off-roading 20 years ago they are generally terrible. Handling is so-so, engines are underpowered, and they are generally unreliable. The one we owned sheared the crankshaft bolt, went through 4 sets of ball joints in 5 years, had to get shocks, stabilizer bar bushings (front and rear), and not one but TWO gas tanks replaced in the time we owned it. We did zero off-roading. It was virtually 100% street driven. Don't bother unless you are looking for a trail beater.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2002 Mitsubishi Montero Sport