2002 Montero Sport

Consumer Reviews

2002 Mitsubishi Montero Sport

$1,502 - $6,454  MSRP Range
2002 Mitsubishi Montero Sport

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

13 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Mitsubishi Montero Sport?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

First Car, 3.5 years, not a single problem

by barretA_55K from Maple Grove, MN on Tue Nov 17 2009

I love this car, i am very sceptical about japenese cars, but this car is an exception! My mom drove it for about 1.5 years, then gave it to me. Even though i work at a detailing shop and can keep it nice, we havent had a single problem with the car yet, except for when a repair shop said they replaced the spark plugs for us (bear in mind the cam is over the engine so spark plugs is the only fix i cant do) they didnt replace the plugs, the engine stuttered a bit for a while and the check engine light was on, we brought it back. Apparently one of the plugs wasnt even firing at all and the thing was still puring like a kitten. Highly recommend this vehicle. Mine has 165,000 miles on it and still no problems!!!! and the photo of it i took, i didnt even mean for it to turn out this good but it turned out ad quality.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Driver J from Cumming, GA on Sun Jun 19 2011

Bought it used 5 years ago with 80k, and now has 178k. Second set of tires. Had a little issue with AC, dumb alternator from Autozone caused issues, belts, and that is about it. Love it, looks mean with front bumper guard and big tires. Guzzles gas but its a beast driving and towing. Great used buy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my XLS 2002 Montero Sport

by Montero xls from Tampa, Florida on Tue Aug 30 2016

I bought this 2002 Montero Sport XLS used in Tampa with about 160,000 miles give or take. I've driven it almost daily for over a year now and have had absolutely zero problems with it. It now has 178,000 miles. At a local gas station here in Tampa Florida I had someone who was pumping gas ask me what year mine was. He had the exact same year and he said he got almost 500,000 miles on it then gave it to his daughter. It's a fun car to drive. It does guzzle gas though.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I like it.

by Ryan from Indianapolis, IN on Thu Apr 26 2007

Had a few SUV's (Blazer and Explorer also Jeep) and I like the looks probably the most, it is just that much different than the previously named and not as common a vehicle, so somewhat disctinct. Handles good, not fast, but why speed around in it. Nice Sound system (very impressive).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great family vehicle

by iluvmyfireman57 from on Fri May 22 2009

We purchased our 2002 Mitsubishi Montero Sport used 2 years ago and have loved it! It is reliable, roomy, and comfortable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

very reliable car

by adwoabayaw from durham ,nc on Sun May 17 2009

i love this suv. this vehicle is one of the most comfortable trucks i'VE EVER used.I will always and ever recommend this vehicle to all my friends .I 'm very proud of myself for driving this reliable truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car ever!

by Mitchgtech from Miami on Tue Sep 26 2017

Car is great and very reliable. Plenty of room , great for long trips or even daily driving. Not one complaint

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable (and only) car I've ever owned!

by llh939 from St. Louis, MO on Wed Aug 23 2017

I've had this car since I turned 16! It's lasted me 13 wonderful years. 4WD has been a wonderful feature especially in the wintertime. It's a smaller SUV but has done its fair share of hauling supplies with ease. It is very roomy and all the back seats fold down nice and flat allowing for lots of space. Its driving and handling have been great and the interior has held up nicely.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable

by Sherri from Thornton colorado on Mon Oct 23 2017

Very reliable and really enjoyed driving and had fun using vehicle for off road and using Car to go to and from work and driving in the mountains

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very reliable

by benny from arizona on Tue Apr 03 2007

I am a soldier and i was looking for a new reliable suv that does not gave problems to my family while i was gone on deployments. I found it .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2002 Mitsubishi Montero Sport

If you're looking for a low-priced, mid-sized, true sport-utility vehicle (i.e., one that can go off-road and get back), you might be interested in the Mitsubishi Montero Sport.

Not to be confused with the Montero, which is larger and freshly designed in 2001, the Montero Sport has been hanging around since 1997, and I don't know why - it consistently comes in at or near the bottom in comparison tests. (It was the big Montero which gained notoriety last year when Consumers Union released footage of it trying to flip over in their avoidance-maneuver tests - saved by training wheels.)

The reason this review is slimmed down is because I didn't spend as much time in it as I like. It was raining that... Read More