2016 Maxima

Consumer Reviews

2016 Nissan Maxima

$13,306 - $23,198  MSRP Range
2016 Nissan Maxima

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

112 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Nissan Maxima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

101 - 110 of 112 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Only owned it for a week, but loving every minute!

by Doug from Fort Collins, CO on Tue Oct 10 2017

I love the Platinum trim package of this vehicle that includes two programmable driver settings and the double sun roof with plenty of headroom. The only complaint is my wife wishes the front passenger seat had a height adjustment setting. She is 5-4 and feels a bit like a little kid trying to see over the dash & hood.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best cars

by Handsumsean from Severn MD on Sun Dec 02 2018

I was thinking and still am thinking about trading my bmw 328i in for a maxima. Just a much bigger spacious car not too high priced and has great technology

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable car, I love driving it.

by CyphrDogX from Suffolk, VA on Tue Jan 22 2019

In short, this car has everything in it except a coffee maker. I am sure Nissan will find a way to have this as an option in the future.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Smooth

by Cwindless from Darby pa on Sun Feb 03 2019

This car meets all the things I was looking for in a car leg room comfort sporty the interior combo is sweet an the exteior color is my favorite Black

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best growing family car

by Lexi from Brownsburg,IN on Fri Mar 08 2019

I absolutely love my Nissan Maxima! It's got all the space and features i need for my growing family! It's even sporty so my husband can have some friendly fun driving it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love driving this car

by Virgo64410 from Orange ,NJ on Thu Apr 18 2019

It's a great car to drive . Anybody that love Nissans will love this car. You to drive this car .Drive it for a weekend and you will see.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Drives great

by IB from Tampa, FL on Tue May 21 2019

Very beautiful interior. Drives great. Handle curves and turns very smoothly. Purchased the SL trim and it has nice extras. Live the double moonroof. The color white looks pearl and shines really nice at night. Overall, happy with car so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most beautiful car I've owned

by CupertinoCarl from Cupertino, CA on Fri Oct 19 2018

This is my fourth Maxima and is by far the best one I've owned. It has superior looks, comfort and performance. I believe that it is a superior car to my Mother's more expensive Lexus.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly Fun Car

by MaximaOwner from Riverside, CA on Fri Jul 19 2019

After doing a ton of research, I bought a 2016 Maxima for my wife. We love the car. It isn't the most fuel-efficient commuter a person can buy, averaging about 26 mpg in her regular commute, which involves a lot of stop & go traffic in Southern California; however, the Maxima is a very comfortable car to daily drive. We bought the car with 34k miles on the odometer, and it's pushing past 50k miles. That's 16k miles in under a year of ownership. We haven't had any major issues pop up (knock on wood it stays that way!). Besides a couple of oil changes, the Maxima has been perfectly fine. The Maxima's performance is awesome, too. It feels like the car has power no matter when the gas pedal is mashed. It picks up speed very quickly. No, it won't suck you into the seat like a BMW M-car or Mercedes AMG, but for a ~3600 lb FWD car with 300 hp, the Maxima is really fun to drive. The interior is also decent looking. The car offers many creature comforts, including dual air conditioning, backup camera, power seats, etc. I hear horror stories about the CVT the Maxima comes with, but we haven't suffered any issues with the transmission so far. I intend to follow the service plan for the CVT anyway, so hopefully, it lasts us the lifetime of the car. The car also looks unique. Some might not like the styling too much, but I think the Maxima is a very attractive car. If you're on the fence about buying one, test drive it. That's all we needed. One test drive and we were sold.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car ever and i daily love this car. reliable

by RICHARD PEREZ from CORONA NY on Fri Apr 06 2018

super powerfull best car ever and i daily love this car. reliable IS ONE OF THE 2016 BEST CAR MONEY CAN BUY. THIS CAR CAN TAKE HIGH MILEAGE DRIVES WITH NOOOO PROBLEMS

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2016 Nissan Maxima

The redesigned 2016 Nissan Maxima is a powerful, good-handling sedan that stays true to the nameplate’s performance-oriented heritage and features an upscale interior that befits its price.

“Maxima” is Nissan’s longest continually-in-use nameplate, and the eighth-generation car is a boldly styled sedan that draws heavily from the Nissan Sport Sedan Concept.

Ever since the Nissan Altima grew into a midsize family sedan in the early 2000s, the Maxima hasn’t fit neatly into a segment. Nissan says the 2016 Maxima is designed to compete with larger, traditional full-size sedans like the Chevrolet Impala and Toyota Avalon, as well as appeal to buyers looking to move up... Read More