2016 Maxima

Consumer Reviews

2016 Nissan Maxima

$13,306 - $23,198  MSRP Range
2016 Nissan Maxima

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

112 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Nissan Maxima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 112 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Best Maxima Yet

by Al from Roswell, GA on Fri Aug 26 2016

This is my 6th Maxima and the best one yet. The revised engine is an absolute rocketship and the CVT provides seamless, effortless and immediate power delivery. It is vastly improved over the previous generation Maxima. The interior quality rivals that of a luxury car costing thousands more, and the new exterior styling is very attractive. Fuel consumption is particularly low for such a powerful car. On the negative side, I find the driver's seat to be not as comfortable as my 2012 Maxima. I have the SV and the sound system could also be a lot better. Had I realized that the sound system was so mediocre, I would have probably spent a couple thousand more for the SL. Nissan Connect doesn't work, and I have tried just about everything, but that is not a major concern for me. Lastly, the Continental tires were horribly noisy so I replaced them with Yokohama YK740's which ride a lot smoother and are very quiet. I don't know why Nissan put such horrible tires on their premium vehicle. In summary, this is an excellent vehicle for the money, although there is some room for minor improvement in the areas I described. Overall, a commendable job by Nissan.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016 Nissan Maxima SR is the best

by Bosnian Driver 2016 Maxima SR Owner from Des Moines Iowa on Wed Jan 18 2017

I purchased a brand new 2016 Nissan Maxima SR. Had it for one month and already have 1200 miles on the cae . The car is awesome , some would say its a rocket when you hit the sport button and use paddle shifters, i love the way it handles around tight cornors and grips the road and the engine keeping it high in the rpms so you have Instant power ,although i think Nissan needs to bump up the hp on this car to maybe 330hp , yes this car has a CVT and its my first car with CVT and i honestly dont mind it . I have full power whenever i step on gas and dont have annoying gear hunting like other car makers .its fully loaded but the SR doesnt come with sunroof because they get sportier suspension which is fine by me . Its got all the bells and whistles on the car , foward collision alert ,blind spot mointering , adapetive cruise control . so far ive been getting decent gas millege 22city havent done much highway, interior is 10 out of 10 seats are comfy My only compliment would be the foglights are not led and the headlights are bright white hid which make fogs look cheap , ive driven it in snow storm and got around fine with it , tire size is kinda weird on SR so makes finding tires hard or you have to wait for most places to order. Love the remote start heated seats and cooled and also heated steering wheel. Overall i would give this car a 8 out of 10 just because its got some stuff that could be changed . Bigger engine led fogs , resale value on these cars are horrible but i bought it brand new and plan on keeping it for long time , local nissan dealer was amazing to deal with . If you plan on buying test drive it for me then hour so youll see if you like it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

by Disappointed from Albany, GA on Sat Mar 23 2019

Purchased a 2016 Maxima November 2015. One year later the console cover began to crack. I took it to the dealership service department, the service manager inspected it and seated “it’s wear and tear, we can’t do anything about it.” I also spoke with my salesman, he listened but did offer a suggestion. I called Nissan corporate, they stated “take it to your local dealership for a review by the service manager.” #willneverpurchaseanissanagain!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Poor quality

by Dave on Sat Jul 14 2018

the paint job have a flaw on the hood when I purchased it brand new from a dealer in Joplin they tried to hide the damage on the hood with some kind of cheap touch up paint then claimed there was no damage after I brought it back to them just three short months later pointing out the flaw which now is eating completely through the paint in less than 2 years.The paint job is inferior and of poor quality Nissan will not guarantee flaws or faulty paint job until you buy a $2, 500 clear coat from them ,which is highly suspicious! The paint job has a flaw on my automobile and they flat refused to cover it under their warranty and they tried to hide the damage before purchase.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Most expensive cheap car you can buy.

by Not Nissan from Manitowoc Wi on Sun Jul 28 2019

I was so excited to buy this brand new beautiful car with great reviews. After several recalls and issues with rear brind, headliner, breaks, electric system, seat motor on top of it taking several visits for the dealership to fix the flaws for a brand new vehicle the dealership advised me to contact Nissan directly because of how many problems this car had been. 3 filed claims later and even with my very expensive warranty that I purchased they say everything was wear and tear and never cover it but threw in a 5 year extended warranty that i cant use because they dont cover anything. PLZ PLZ PLZ RECONSIDER PURCHASING THIS CAR OR ANY NISSAN THEY ABSOLUTELY DO NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

With already six recalls

by Kit from Charlotte nc on Thu Nov 15 2018

I would not purchase this car with all the recalls that I’ve had to go through sunroom Motor needs to be repaired after three years but hardly ever used. Turning radius is very wide and card difficult to park

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE THIS CAR

by Donna T from Brandon,FL on Tue Apr 11 2017

This car is by far one of the best cars I have ever had. I prefer it to my Mercedes I had a few years ago and chose it over BMW when car shopping a few months ago.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly stylish and handles well

by MikeS from Elizabethtown on Tue Mar 14 2017

The Nissan Maxima has more power and style than previous years. What used to be a Toyota Camry or Honda Accord of cars as stepped up their game to BMW or Lexus. I am not disappointed by its handling.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Family rocketship

by Fast Car For Dad from Waukesha, WI on Tue Aug 25 2015

Perfect car for a mom/dad that still enjoys the thrill of a sports car. Plenty of room for everyone with plenty of power behind it. Interior is beautiful, although the navigation/settings UI is a little bit laggy. Good experience at Boucher Nissan in Waukesha.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Fourth Maxima

by Pinky from Bethany, CT on Mon Jan 18 2016

Smooth, fast, comfortable, great handling and looks great inside and out. This is the best Maxima out of four that I have owned. Gas mileage actually beat the window sticker estimate on the highway. Purchase car in July 2015 and not one thing to complain about.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2016 Nissan Maxima

The redesigned 2016 Nissan Maxima is a powerful, good-handling sedan that stays true to the nameplate’s performance-oriented heritage and features an upscale interior that befits its price.

“Maxima” is Nissan’s longest continually-in-use nameplate, and the eighth-generation car is a boldly styled sedan that draws heavily from the Nissan Sport Sedan Concept.

Ever since the Nissan Altima grew into a midsize family sedan in the early 2000s, the Maxima hasn’t fit neatly into a segment. Nissan says the 2016 Maxima is designed to compete with larger, traditional full-size sedans like the Chevrolet Impala and Toyota Avalon, as well as appeal to buyers looking to move up... Read More