2016 Maxima

Consumer Reviews

2016 Nissan Maxima

$17,626 - $28,802  MSRP Range
2016 Nissan Maxima

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

65 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Nissan Maxima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 65 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Nicest Vehicle I've owned

by Kirk from Denver, CO on Mon Apr 03 2017

So far, the best car I've owned. Love the power - at 300 HP, this thing will get up and go. I've had to temper my foot on the gas compared to my powerful truck. Looks great too. The new body style Nissan came out with in 2016 makes this car work the purchase. Its very comfortable and fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Change is good!

by Biggie on Thu May 17 2018

I am coming from a AWD Dodge Charger which I loved but it was time for a change and I am very happy with my choice. If you do some reaearch you can see how they got the interior styling aspects from the Blue Angels!!! You really feel like your in a cockpit and with 300hp it is fun to drive. I have to admit I was not a fan of the CVT but You get use to it. All and all a great car for it?s price range!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I'm in Love with my car

by Cowboys Fan from Nashville, TN on Wed May 10 2017

I am glad that I made an investment into the Maxima, I have been nothing but pleased with its performance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Loving it

by Meka6352 from Birmingham, AL on Tue May 30 2017

I really love my new Maxima. It really handles the road and you don't hear the outside noise which is a pet peeve of mine. It's sporty and as I haul the kiddos they love how the car looks and rides.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most incredible,Safe and reliable car I've ever ow

by Hannah2020o from Ormond beach, FL 32174 on Tue Jun 06 2017

Love This Car nand is everything I have ever wanted in a car. It looks like a luxury sports sedan and have had multiple Compliments on it. It gets great gas mileage .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice car!

by Reggieb from MOUNT PLEASANT on Thu Feb 22 2018

This car has it all incredible styling and comfort. The maxima handles extremely well and plenty of leg room, nice sound system and hardly no outside noise.. Two thumbs up

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

sports sedan

by kc from brooklyn,ny on Fri Oct 06 2017

the cvt transmission is great for the every day use allowing that easy switch to sport mode when aggression is needed. the design looks sculpted and yet fierce. I currently own the platinum that comes with a panoramic moon roof and 360 deg viewing cameras which puts this car above the rest. I would definitely recommend to others.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Comfortable and fun

by Bziggy from Olathe, ks on Fri May 12 2017

I really enjoy the car. The looks great. The interior is upscale. It's fun to drive. The CVT takes getting used and I have to be careful of torque steer.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice all around

by Ernie l from Whittier,CA on Fri May 19 2017

Luxury that matches and surpasses some high end brands. The performance is good and gas mileage is great!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely pleased so far

by Jschmitz from Wisconsin on Tue May 09 2017

So far we are very happy with our 2016 Nissan Maxima SR, my wife loves the styling and performance. With highway mileage averaging over what they rated it at, we are getting 33-35 mpg, and with a v6 with plenty of power, it has impressed. As for reliability, we will have to wait and see, Have not owned it long enough to give it a perfect rating, hoping for the best. of course the ride in the SR is a bit stiffer than the other models, it isn't terrible either, but is noticeable, so if your looking for more of luxury ride, I would go for the SL, or SV, there is a blind spot that is created by the drivers side mirror and A pillar when you are turning to the left that you have to be aware of. Will still have to see how it handles a Wisconsin winter, so far wet weather is no problem. Overall I would recommend one to anyone, fun well built car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2016 Nissan Maxima

The redesigned 2016 Nissan Maxima is a powerful, good-handling sedan that stays true to the nameplate's performance-oriented heritage and features an upscale interior that befits its price.

"Maxima" is Nissan's longest continually-in-use nameplate, and the eighth-generation car is a boldly styled sedan that draws heavily from the Nissan Sport Sedan Concept.

Ever since the Nissan Altima grew into a midsize family sedan in the early 2000s, the Maxima hasn't fit neatly into a segment. Nissan says the 2016 Maxima is designed to compete with larger, traditional full-size sedans like the Chevrolet Impala and Toyota Avalon, as well as appeal to buyers looking to move up to a luxury car, like the Acura TLX... Read More