2016 Maxima

Consumer Reviews

2016 Nissan Maxima

$13,306 - $23,198  MSRP Range
2016 Nissan Maxima

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

112 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Nissan Maxima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

41 - 50 of 112 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Satisfied Customer

by LakiaB from Baltimore, MD on Wed Feb 15 2017

I was a little skeptical about purchasing a Nissan but I'm glad that I came to this place. The customer service was excellent and I felt that the staff were very knowledgeable. Thanks so much!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the new design

by JSchmitz from Wi on Fri Apr 14 2017

My wife fell in love with the looks and performance almost immediately, look forward to years of fun driving in this car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Failed Power Control Module & Car is Falling Apart

by NoMoreNissan from Pewaukee, wi on Tue Jun 02 2020

I purchased my 2016 Nissan Maxima new in 2016. By 2017, my front fender (Right side of windshield) had been ripped off by the wind. By 2018, my power control module failed. 43,000 miles and not covered under warranty. Cost = $4,700. I now listen to Bluetooth in my somewhat new vehicle. Today, my rear fender fell off (design flaw that Nissan dealerships are well aware of). How does a part of the car fall off? Both rear fenders have already been replaced. Now they want $225 to replace each one. THE CAR IS FALLING APART. This was my third Nissan family purchase in 4 years. NEVER AGAIN. Also, Nissan did not respond to my email, phone call, so I am officially filing a complaint and review. They are a complete joke. Buyer beware.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great performance

by Rotten ray from colo spgs co on Wed Feb 14 2018

This car has good comfort and performance ,plus you get good gas mileage for the size of the car and engine

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful car

by Flaguir1518 from Seattle Washington on Wed Oct 25 2017

Love it have couple years ago just thinking and get a car like this, I’m driving Nissan Sentra love it too but when try’s this one see a big difference

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by mystiquec from Freeport,NY on Sun Mar 04 2018

The Nissan Maxima is a great vehicle. I would recommend this vehicle if you like sport cars. Nice size car. Some of the features that the platinum came with are heated seats, sun roof, keyless entry, and navigation. I don't know if all the maximas' come with this features but the Nissan maxima platinum does. Even though its a little pricy if you buy it new it was worth the money.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Balancing Act

by MSCowboy from McKinney, TX on Mon Feb 26 2018

This car is really good. Perfect balance of sport, luxury, speed and family sized sedan. The speed and smooth ride is what i liked the most. I compared this to the acura tlx and the maxima won.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I like it

by Winn from Green Bay, WI on Mon Jun 18 2018

The Maxima is not rated high by professionals because if interior space mostly. That does not bother me. Most cars in this category have a 4 cal, the Maxima is a V-6. Great performance and gas milage. The CVT transmission is one of the best I have driven.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great choice

by Kbrown from Miami Fl on Tue Jul 18 2017

I made the perfect decision and couldn't have chosen a better vehicle if your in the market to buy a car the Nissan Maxima would be a great choice

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Only owned it for a week, but loving every minute!

by Doug from Fort Collins, CO on Tue Oct 10 2017

I love the Platinum trim package of this vehicle that includes two programmable driver settings and the double sun roof with plenty of headroom. The only complaint is my wife wishes the front passenger seat had a height adjustment setting. She is 5-4 and feels a bit like a little kid trying to see over the dash & hood.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2016 Nissan Maxima

The redesigned 2016 Nissan Maxima is a powerful, good-handling sedan that stays true to the nameplate’s performance-oriented heritage and features an upscale interior that befits its price.

“Maxima” is Nissan’s longest continually-in-use nameplate, and the eighth-generation car is a boldly styled sedan that draws heavily from the Nissan Sport Sedan Concept.

Ever since the Nissan Altima grew into a midsize family sedan in the early 2000s, the Maxima hasn’t fit neatly into a segment. Nissan says the 2016 Maxima is designed to compete with larger, traditional full-size sedans like the Chevrolet Impala and Toyota Avalon, as well as appeal to buyers looking to move up... Read More