Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2016 Maxima

Consumer Reviews

2016 Nissan Maxima

$17,424 - $27,796  MSRP Range
2016 Nissan Maxima

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

72 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Nissan Maxima?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

61 - 70 of 72 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely pleased so far

by Jschmitz from Wisconsin on Tue May 09 2017

So far we are very happy with our 2016 Nissan Maxima SR, my wife loves the styling and performance. With highway mileage averaging over what they rated it at, we are getting 33-35 mpg, and with a v6 with plenty of power, it has impressed. As for reliability, we will have to wait and see, Have not owned it long enough to give it a perfect rating, hoping for the best. of course the ride in the SR is a bit stiffer than the other models, it isn't terrible either, but is noticeable, so if your looking for more of luxury ride, I would go for the SL, or SV, there is a blind spot that is created by the drivers side mirror and A pillar when you are turning to the left that you have to be aware of. Will still have to see how it handles a Wisconsin winter, so far wet weather is no problem. Overall I would recommend one to anyone, fun well built car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Quickest car I've ever driven.

by RacerCollected on Mon Jul 10 2017

This car is great sedan with sports car-like attributes. The driver is placed into a seat position that would inspire the enthusiast driver.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most beautiful car I've owned

by CupertinoCarl from Cupertino, CA on Fri Oct 19 2018

This is my fourth Maxima and is by far the best one I've owned. It has superior looks, comfort and performance. I believe that it is a superior car to my Mother's more expensive Lexus.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Change is good!

by Biggie on Thu May 17 2018

I am coming from a AWD Dodge Charger which I loved but it was time for a change and I am very happy with my choice. If you do some reaearch you can see how they got the interior styling aspects from the Blue Angels!!! You really feel like your in a cockpit and with 300hp it is fun to drive. I have to admit I was not a fan of the CVT but You get use to it. All and all a great car for it’s price range!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nicest Vehicle I've owned

by Kirk from Denver, CO on Mon Apr 03 2017

So far, the best car I've owned. Love the power - at 300 HP, this thing will get up and go. I've had to temper my foot on the gas compared to my powerful truck. Looks great too. The new body style Nissan came out with in 2016 makes this car work the purchase. Its very comfortable and fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've brought

by Louisiana guy from Vacherie on Thu Nov 22 2018

This car meet all my need and its exactly what I wanted. I wouldn't trade it for anything I'm very please with my purchase with panaromic sunroof,USB chargers,sports mode,leather, etc

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the new design

by JSchmitz from Wi on Fri Apr 14 2017

My wife fell in love with the looks and performance almost immediately, look forward to years of fun driving in this car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by mystiquec from Freeport,NY on Sun Mar 04 2018

The Nissan Maxima is a great vehicle. I would recommend this vehicle if you like sport cars. Nice size car. Some of the features that the platinum came with are heated seats, sun roof, keyless entry, and navigation. I don't know if all the maximas' come with this features but the Nissan maxima platinum does. Even though its a little pricy if you buy it new it was worth the money.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I like it

by Winn from Green Bay, WI on Mon Jun 18 2018

The Maxima is not rated high by professionals because if interior space mostly. That does not bother me. Most cars in this category have a 4 cal, the Maxima is a V-6. Great performance and gas milage. The CVT transmission is one of the best I have driven.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great choice

by Kbrown from Miami Fl on Tue Jul 18 2017

I made the perfect decision and couldn't have chosen a better vehicle if your in the market to buy a car the Nissan Maxima would be a great choice

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2016 Nissan Maxima

The redesigned 2016 Nissan Maxima is a powerful, good-handling sedan that stays true to the nameplate's performance-oriented heritage and features an upscale interior that befits its price.

"Maxima" is Nissan's longest continually-in-use nameplate, and the eighth-generation car is a boldly styled sedan that draws heavily from the Nissan Sport Sedan Concept.

Ever since the Nissan Altima grew into a midsize family sedan in the early 2000s, the Maxima hasn't fit neatly into a segment. Nissan says the 2016 Maxima is designed to compete with larger, traditional full-size sedans like the Chevrolet Impala and Toyota Avalon, as well as appeal to buyers looking to move up to a luxury car... Read More