2004 Xterra

Consumer Reviews
2004 Nissan Xterra

Change Vehicle
4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

27 Reviews
2004 Nissan Xterra
3.9 out of 5 starsComfort
3.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great Off-Road Performer

by Xstatic from Columbia, Maryland on November 26, 2013

I owned a 2000 Xterra 5-speed manual and moved up to the 2004 5-speed manual. Feels sturdier than the earlier model. Has more power and you can feel it. Better appointments. This vehicle is stable, reliable and drinks gasoline like a man who found an oasis in the middle of the dessert. It's a second car so that's ok. I use this vehicle for moving stuff and camping. It's rugged and dependable. Great for hauling kayaks and climbing mountains.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Always Wanted One!

by LainaJ from South Bend, IN on May 22, 2017

I bought the car when it was 12 years old. 2004 was the last year with the exterior style I liked so much. I have had to do some work to the car but not a whole lot. I opted to replace the head gasket because the intake was already going to be dismantled for the knock sensor valve replacement and she was leaking a little oil. I have had the check engine light on for over a year now telling me I need to replace the fuel level sensor. I did replace it last year but the light still came back on. It was operating fine then and still operates just fine so I'm not worried. She always starts right up and has absolutely no trouble getting through snow or mud. I live near Indiana/Michigan so she has been tested with the snow. Love the car. I do wish the interior was a little sturdier. The fabric is falling off of the ceiling. If I was feeling really ambitious I would replace it - but it doesn't bother me that much.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE THIS CAR!!

by Off roader from Willington, CT on October 20, 2011

Ive had my Xterrra for about 4 months now and LOVE it!!! Im looking forward to the snow (FIRST TIME IN MY LIFE!) so i can play around!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great all around sport utilitie

by jas from west palm beach florida on April 16, 2012

I enjoy driving My xterra Great all around vehicle The only downside is fair gas mileage. very roomy inside for its size.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Drove 200,000 over 13 ys. 100% reliable every day

by Xterra Fan on February 7, 2018

I raised three kids in this car, travelled near and far, camped over and over and she never let me down. No major repairs and I did all basic maintenance myself. Great Family car. Planning on purchasing another x-terra this year.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable Car!!

by Belle387 from Dover, DE on December 14, 2017

This car is very reliable, and good on mpg. Drove it from Minot, ND to Dover DE in 24 hours and still going strong. Only major changes I have had to do after buying the car used was changing oil and timing belt which is necessary after a certain number of miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

13 Years Old and Going Strong

by LainaJ from South Bend on July 16, 2017

Love it! Have always loved this particular year of Xterra. Great in snow, gravel and dirt. Starts every time!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Xterra just hit 400,000 km with minimal repairs

by Hockey Wizard 12 from Delta BC Canada on March 6, 2018

This is the best and most reliable vehicle I have owned. It is unreal in snow and is extremely durable. It is not great on gas, but is a great size and gives you the safe feeling when in it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my car

by Retired Mom from NYC on January 1, 2017

Have had this vehicle since 2005 drove it to and from work only have 68,000 on it now. Thought about getting another vehicle but really don't need to. It has a few dents but still looking good. Wouldn't trade her for anything, I would just buy another vehicle and use her for local use.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've ever owned.

by Stickfan from Garfield on March 20, 2018

This is one of the easiest cars to repair, of all the cars I've owned. I am looking to upgrade to the same car but newer, because of the facilities and how dependable it has been.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3