2005 Xterra

Consumer Reviews

2005 Nissan Xterra

$1,442 - $12,698  MSRP Range
2005 Nissan Xterra

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

34 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Nissan Xterra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 34 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2005 Nissan Xterra SE

by Matt from Arvada, CO on Sat Feb 07 2009

This SUV (on a truck frame), is incredible! I live in the foothills of Colorado and this vehicle never fails me in the snow, which I drive in a lot. I haven't used four wheel low yet, but I hear it will get you out of anything (almost)! It is a great ski vehicle as well! One complaint I have is legroom in the back seat: it lacks it! Also, on long trips I tend to be a little sore in the back area! I have been very happy with the performance aspect, going up into the mountains is cake! I would recommend getting the premium sound system, I tried the standard and it is in a different ball game for sure! I am looking forward to towing the boat in the summer, should be a great tow vehicle as well!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Dependable

by BB Experience from Houston, TX on Tue Apr 10 2012

This is a reliable SUV and you can get lots of miles out of it. Stick with what works and stay away from American cars.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun vehicle i've owned

by Shag from Rockford, IL on Wed Aug 31 2011

I have a 2005 XTerra. For being full off-road and 4X4 capable, its a nice ride on the highway. I have averaged 27 mpg on the highway but intown driving is pretty hard on my gas. It has all the options i need without all the fluff i don't. The price was the deciding factor when looking at other comparables, and i've never regretted it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Xterra Offroad

by Xterra from on Fri Jan 31 2014

Powerful, big trunk, good 4x4, bad in snow in rear drive back end comes out too easy, good in snow with 4x4. Soft brake pedal feel.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not perfect but may be the best thing out there.

by skeddy from Vermont on Fri Apr 09 2010

I LOVE driving it. No major problems. Lots of little annoying problems right from the get go. Window regulators, tensioning belt, battery, interior bulbs. Things that should not go wrong on a 1, 3, even 5 year old car. Windows have failed multiple times. The vehicle however has never left us stranded, is practical for our needs and is great in the snow. And again - a pleasure to drive. One more thing - we had kids since we bought this. Dog goes in back now, fine. But two car seats in the back leaves NO room for a third person to squeeze in with them. This was a surprise to us.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not too shabby

by Mr. Awesome from Denver on Wed Jul 25 2007

the '05 Xterra is definantly an overall great SUV, however, the interior could be much better. For starters, the back seats have very limited leg room, and theres no A/C in the back. Other than that, this SUV is an overall great vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

240K Miles and counting...

by Sparrowgirl from Mill Valley, California on Wed Apr 10 2019

LOVE this car! People are shocked by the number of miles on it. I bought it new and am up to almost 240K and the car still has a lot of spunk. If you buy, make sure the recall issues are taken care of. I purchased the extended warranty that covered the tensionner and radiator part that caused fluid to leak into the transmission issue. I change the oil every 3k miles and there doesn't appear to be any carbon build up in the engine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by RM on Sat Nov 11 2017

Fun to drive!!! I purchased this car a couple months ago and I'm loving it. There is not much to complain about except it's not that great on gas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outstsanding source ... so pleased!

by Fugettabouttit from Houston on Wed Oct 30 2013

I worked very hard at researching just the right vehicle for my needs. I looked at many different avenues and cars.com was the top for my product source information. I located the dealer with just a phone call... test drove it and bought it within the hour. THANK YOU!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dont get ripped off

by lOGG from on Fri Feb 28 2014

although the Xterras are awesome and i would tell anyone to get one DONT GET RIPPED OFF. i bought my for 8,000! with 130,000 miles on it!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2005 Nissan Xterra

One of my favorite SUVs has become even better.

Last fall, Nissan introduced the second generation of its compact Xterra for 2005, which continues as a true truck-based sport utility designed for the kind of rugged off-road driving that I enjoy.

It returns for 2006 with no significant changes, since it was just redone.

The redesign of the Xterra coincided with the makeover of the Nissan Frontier pickup, upon which the Xterra is based. For 2005, both vehicles got extensive changes, including a new chassis that is related to the one used for the full-size Titan pickup, as well as the full-size Armada and midsize Pathfinder sport utilities.

For the Frontier and Xterra, which are considered compact trucks... Read More