2002 Bonneville

Consumer Reviews

2002 Pontiac Bonneville

$847 - $7,299  MSRP Range
2002 Pontiac Bonneville

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

15 Reviews
80% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Pontiac Bonneville?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

2 out of 5 stars

Looks great! Mechanical Nightmare!

by Okoboji Guy from Okoboji, IA on Mon Aug 16 2010

2002 Bonneville SLE Owned this car for 4 years and purchased with 60k miles. Car is very comfortable, loaded, and handles perfectly. However since buying the car we have had to fix numerous minor engine problems, both rear windows have failed, moonroof assembly and motor broke, gas gauge doesn't work, interior lighting always blows the fuse, climate control fan stopped working, and both front heated seats stopped working. On top of all of this the 2002 parts are extremely expensive because they were only made for that particular year. Overall this car is in need of continuous repairs...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the Bonneville

by chicagosport from Ottawa, IL on Fri Apr 15 2011

I bought my Boneville new in 2002 and I love it. I wish they continuing making them. I have a family of four, and we all fit comfotably, but it has a sporty look, so I like the idea that I'm a "cool" mom. It's roomy, and I've never had any major probelms with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

by Bunny from Michigan on Mon Oct 05 2009

I have a SSEI 2000 and purchased it used with 34,000 miles on it. I now have 135,000 miles and on it and it is one the most reliable vehicles I have owned. The super-charged engine gives me a lot of power to use, when I need it. I did have a problem with the power windows, but to me that is minor. I live in Michigan and it has survived the long winters without any problems. It is good in snow and easy to handle. I wish they would have kept on making them because I would purchase a new one. It is hard to find a good used one around.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best value

by 3800 from Rochester, MN on Fri Oct 15 2010

Very nice car with excellent reliability!! This car also gets 30 MPG! The ride is very smooth and not lacking horsepower.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car For Road Trips,Great Car Overall

by MEFoUrTwElVeFaN from New York on Mon Jul 02 2007

This car is, in my opinion, one of the best full-sizes Pontiac ever made. Its performance is strong, and I love the interior. Its nice and roomy and boasts some pretty confusing but neat nicnacs.I love the elegant leather. The exterior is very aerodynamic amd sleek. It definitely sticks out next to most sedans. My family's 02' SLE is great on road trips. We were traveling at 74 MPH and obtained a fuel enconomy averageing 34 MPG. The ride of the big Pontiac is relatively smooth, and the handling is fairly well for being nearly 18 feet long. The only downside:the Bonneville isnt that reliable. There was a fairly high amount of problems going on with it since it's puchase in July 2002, and we bought it for $200 shy of 30k. Still, despite its mediocre reliability and price, its one of the best full-size sedans around.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The Car GM Should Have Kept

by Old Guy Rodder from Cedar Rapids, IA on Mon Jan 02 2012

I recently bought my 3rd Pontiac Bonneville; a 2002 Black on Grey SLE. The Bonnevilles are the GM car I will miss the most with their restructuring. The bigger car ride, smaller car handling, full instrumentation and adult styling made the Bonnies an all-American car. The 3800 engine is very hard to fault and this car can easily last 200,000 miles with modest attention. My wife probably summed it up best when she said "This car has more testosterone in it than any man deserves". A good ride!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

SSEi has some warts, but performance is great

by pontiac nut from Wisconsin on Thu Jan 22 2009

I really like the SSEi for its performance. I had to replace both front wheel bearings at 85,000 miles. The garage where I had the work done said this is a common problem with almost all cars as the bearings are a sealed unit and cannot be lubricated. I also had the window problem, but I rarely have anyone in the back seat so I'll let that one go. Good car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great

by The sportier the better from KS on Fri Jul 20 2007

Very sporty but practical! Must drive to see what pep it has. For a V6 I must say, it gets up and goes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Black Beauty

by Billgt6 from Delafield, WI on Sat Jan 25 2014

I bought my black 2002 Pontiac Bonneville SLE new, using my 1996 Bonneville as a trade-in. I call the new one "Black Beauty". My son called it "A BMW on steroids." It now has only 72,000 miles on it, and its first set of new tires. Traffic fuel use is about 26 mpg. I drove it from Milwaukee to Los Angeles and back in October 2012 and got 31 mpg on that trip. Sunroof, heated leather seats, sporty rims, very neat car. When my now-adult son borrowed and crashed it on black ice in December 2013, I chose to have it repaired rather than look for a replacement. I wish GM kept making them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second car, very reliable and fun.

by 02PR1X02BS1E from Muncie, IN on Tue May 09 2017

I have had this car for close to four months now, and haven't has a single problem out of it. I am the third owner, and it was previously very well taken care of. it had been in a wreck in 2006 I believe, but it was fixed and you can't even tell. It is an amazing car, with only 98,xxx miles. The car drives like new, and really packs a punch when you take off. It is a Silver 2002 SLE, and when I first seen it, I couldn't pass it up. This is honestly what I believe to be the best looking car Pontiac ever made. These cars are worth every penny, and I assure you that you will love one if you get one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2002 Pontiac Bonneville

Even during times when patriotism is not running as high as it is now, the phrase rankles: "Not bad ... for an American car."

I heard that line twice recently -- applied to the 2002 Pontiac Bonneville SE and the 2002 Chrysler 300M Special. Both are full-size sedans in the fine American tradition of producing that species.

Of course, saying you own a big American sedan prompts laughter in some circles these days. The loudest laughs usually come from those who have purchased a foreign make that has consistently rated high in the latest customer-satisfaction or reliability surveys.

And while I have no argument with surveys or much of the hardware made by foreign automakers, I still think it's fair to... Read More