2005 Bonneville

Consumer Reviews

2005 Pontiac Bonneville

$2,335 - $8,367  MSRP Range
2005 Pontiac Bonneville

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

23 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Pontiac Bonneville?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love my 2nd Bonneville!

by Marykara from Norwich CT on Sat Oct 09 2010

I had a 1995 Bonneville which I would have kept until the end but when I heard they were halting production, I hurried and got a left over 2005 in 2006. I absolutely love it - everything about it. I hate that I can't buy a third one! Cool car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Value

by Bonneville Lover from Columbus, OH on Sat Aug 27 2011

Can't speak of reliability, just bought a 2005 SE with 71,200 original miles, 1 owner, clean carfax, dealer maintaned. This car is so CLEAN!!! drives like a dream, got it for a song considering it was over 28K new. Wish I had the center console with the shifter in on the floor, but considering how mint this car is I will survive. I am a big man, 6'2", 300lb and I fit well. My son is 6'7" 200lb and he fits good also. I wish they never stoped making them. I feel so lucky to have this one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my Dream Car

by Bonneville Lover from Illinois on Thu May 01 2008

The GXP is my third Bonneville and definitely my favorite!!! Great ride and doesn't make you feel like you are driving a boring sedan. Pontiac needs to start making Bonnevilles again!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car EVER

by Carfreak from Eagle River, Alaska on Tue Mar 25 2008

I think the pontiac Bonneville GXP is a very Strong good looking sports car. I bought mine brand new in 2005 and it's has been way more than I could every ask for in a Car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very strong, very comfortable

by Riaku from Florida on Fri Oct 12 2007

As the title already states, this vehicle is a high powered high comfort sedan. It has a great sporty look and was the favorite car I've owned. Gas mileage is the only down factor if you are worried about such things.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Bonneville GXP Purchase

by Mike from Fort Wayne, IN on Mon Jun 25 2012

Purchased at 40,500 miles and love the ride and the power and the cool air conditioning. Just installed a Kenwood in-dash NAV and stereo unit. Looks great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Bring back the Bonneville

by Love my Bonneville from Dixon, Il on Tue May 27 2014

Owned my 05 since 07. Had 2 others before this one. Will not drive anything else. Enjoy this car so much I'm looking any distance to find a low mileage one before they are all gone. Car is comfortable & I've had zero problems with it for 7 years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

05 Pont. Bonn. GXPelectrical, guages, blower motor

by Shadetree M. from missouri on Tue Apr 01 2014

Possessed? Does the bonne need an excorsism? Having weird electrical experiences? Check the grounding wires, esp. At the grounding boards. They tend to loosen and corrode/oxidize. Bottom line = poor connection. The blower motor ground goes to a block/board under the pass. Side dash behind panels. The guages and such go to ones under the drivers side. As for the crankshaft positioning sensor recurring code, check the engine wiring harness. It may have gotten too hot at one time and burnt a wire.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car EVER

by Bonneville lover from ND on Thu Jun 09 2016

I owned a 89 Bonneville. At 400+K miles, it started having transition problems. Only work during the 400+K miles was brakes. Now have the 2005. No problems or work yet with 176K miles. I had gone to a dealership in 2000 to look for a used Bonneville. They had a lot of Cadillacs and Chevys, but no Pontiacs. I asked why. The dealer said that few people trade them in as they are such a reliable car, they keep them for a second vehicle. Wish they still made the Pontiac. I think the reason they quit making them was that they were so reliable that people didn't need to buy as often. Two other dealers at different locations said it was the best engine ever built. Smoothest ride ever and easy to handle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Black Beauty: Bonnevilles

by billgt6 from Delafield, WI on Sat Mar 08 2014

I've owned four consecutive black Bonnevilles with sunroofs: 1989, 1996, 2002 and now 2005 (last year for Bonnevilles.) My son said the first one looked like a BMW on steroids. The styling on all of them is terrific and totally up to date. I got 31+ mpg on the 2002 during a 5,000 mile round trip (WI to CA) in 2012. When a black ice accident in Dec. 2013 totaled my 2002, in February 2014 I found a 2005 with low mileage in Fox Lake, IL that looks and feels like new. Fabulous maintenance, fantastic engine, great styling & comfort. Deserves the nickname "Black Beauty." - Bill GT6

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3