Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2012 Cayenne

Consumer Reviews

2012 Porsche Cayenne

$16,111 - $38,799  MSRP Range
2012 Porsche Cayenne

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

28 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Porsche Cayenne?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Incredible car

by DougBalt from Baltimore on Mon Mar 05 2012

Happily owned a number of BMWs and was ready for a change. I am thoroughly excited every time I get in the car. Everything about it is awesome...the controls, systems, drive, comfort. A grand slam.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Performance & luxury in one package.

by Porsche driver from Broomfield, CO on Fri Jul 29 2016

I've owned 3 different Porsche Cayennes from the S to the Turbo models. My current daily driver is a 2012 Porsche Cayenne Turbo, & it is the best car I've ever owned. The car's performance is unmatched by any SUV in it's class & the luxury features are done beautifully. I really like the air suspension, which is adjustable to raise or lower ride height. There is sport setting on the shocks, which is a great feature to adjust ride quality. The aggressive look of the Turbo model also gets a lot of attention & compliments from other drivers. I have been car guy since high school & strict on all required maintenance on all my cars, therefore the reliability is a non-issue. I have never had this car break down on me. If you are in the market for a performance car; such as a Cayenne Turbo, then you should also be prepared to pay higher maintenance costs than you would a Honda or Toyota. I will definitely buy another Porsche product.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love the acyenne

by Minnie from Clearwater Beach on Sun Jun 25 2017

best ever. Thsi car is unbelievable by all emans and measures, shows no wear and tear even after 84.000 Miles - its unreal

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid Car

by So Far...So Good from Naperville, IL on Mon Apr 02 2012

So far, I am very happy with my 2012 Cayenne. I chose the base model V6 because of price. Tows 5,000 lbs better than a lot of more powerful vehicles. Very comfortable for 5 people with room for some bags to come along. The interior design is unsurpassed, In my opinion, Porsche has raised the bar on interiors forever with this car. The dislikes include crazy options list and big prices on all options. That's about all I can say so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Powerful Road Cruiser

by Carholic from Los Angeles, CA on Tue Aug 21 2012

The Turbo version is really a Machine! However, the seats, even with the 14-way option, are difficult to adjust to a truly comfortable postion that doesn't compromise between total comfort and visibility. Wish the seat could "hug" the driver a bit more, especially on the turbo version, the lateral movement can really throw the driver around during high speed turns. Which brings me onto the next point, I wish the car's turning were more precise. Even though this problem improves when the it's set to Sport mode, there's just some understeer feel cornering with this thing. Otherwise, it is such a fun vehicle to drive around!! Never has a SUV had this much fun with that much functionality as the Cayenne! Plus, the interior is just absolutely amazing! If budget allows, do get the Carbon trim for interiors, it is just awesome looking!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2012 Porsche

by 2012 Porsche from Columbus on Wed Jul 11 2018

This Porsche cayenne has all the features you want, parking assistance, lane change assist. In addition, xenon headlights, 19-inch Porsche second-generation wheels and jet back metallic make the car look cool. The seat heating and cooling system provides a comfortable driving environment in bad weather. Most importantly, BOSE surround sound makes your driving experience great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

by Bryan from Denver co on Tue Oct 17 2017

Just drive it. so far great value little worried about cost of repairs but so far runs of fu to drive

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hard to find 6sp Manual Transmission Cayenne

by Michael DC from Washington DC on Fri Apr 14 2017

I've been looking for a year and half for one of these in great condition with low mileage. Its a beautiful car and one of the last manual transmissions available. The technology blows my mind (coming out of a 2000 BMW 540 Sport). Its a beautiful vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car! Not only classy but drives smooth!

by Lt1980 from Dallas on Tue May 01 2018

It’s got great room! Nice wheels and classy car! Great sound system! Love the white with the black wheels! Great family car or for an individual. It can suit any class and it’s fun to drive!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Sport SUV on the market!

by TampaRed from Tampa, FL on Mon Dec 11 2017

This Porsche Cayenne is awesome! You'll forget you're driving an SUV when you put it on Sport mode. Then when you need to get the groceries or tow your boat you'll love the torque and the space and convenience.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2012 Porsche Cayenne

Editor's note: This review was written in August 2010 about the 2011 Porsche Cayenne. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2012, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

In its first full redesign since the model's 2003 debut, the 2011 Porsche Cayenne is quicker, larger, roomier, more efficient and richer than the previous version — and it is still very much a Porsche, on both road and track. Along with new exterior and interior styling, the Cayenne comes with a sliding backseat, increased power and, according to Porsche, better mileage in all versions. Compare the new and old generations here.

V-8-powered Cayenne S... Read More