Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1999 9-5

Consumer Reviews

1999 Saab 9-5

$2,730 - $3,730  MSRP Range
1999 Saab 9-5

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

18 Reviews
78% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Saab 9-5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever for me.

by I love my SAAB from tulsa, ok. on Fri Oct 22 2010

This is one of the best cars I have ever owned. Have had little trouble with car and have been oh so pleased with the car overall. Will purchase another when and if this one passes on.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best used car for the money

by menoname from Chicago,Il on Thu Jun 30 2011

I recently purchased this car,used, and for the price I paid, I couldnt have made a better choice. The styling is exceptional, interior appointments are on the luxury level, performance and braking are far better than any other car Ive own, and MPGs are consistently in the low 30s, I was shopping for a Nissan,Toyota, Honda market, and all the cars interiors in my price range were plastic, and the mileage on them, in my price range, were 170,xxx, that doesnt matter much with those cars, but the creature comforts that came with my Saab 9-5 sold me, and it also had 110,000 miles on it. Check these out, they are a quality built machine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Cool Hot Saab Lover

by Cool Hot Saab Lover from Matthews, N.C on Sat Feb 20 2010

My Saab has 194000 miles on the odometer. Each time there is a mechanical problem with the car, I spend $150. On it and it keeps on running, so I cant get rid of it. Every time that I decide to sell it and buy another car, I wash it, change the oil and keep rollin'. The paint has held up the interior is great and it still gives me 26-28 mpg. I now live in N.C. and drive it back to Connecticut (80-90 mph),about 4 times per year. For repairs the dealer rips you off expensively, so if you plan to own a Saab, find a small garage with former Saab mechanics working there. I love my SAAB.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Totally awesome car

by Maine_Chick from Lincoln,ME on Tue Oct 12 2010

This is a great car. This car is worth buying. It's got a great reputation and ti comes in a whole bunch of colors.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Unique and Fun

by Top City Snaab from Topeka, KS on Thu May 06 2010

I bought my 9-5 used from the original owner. It's in prisitne condition, well-maintianed and enjoyable to drive. I was aware of the service issues with the car. Especially when you live in a town where no one services them and the nearest dealer is 60 miles away. I looked at an Audi A4, really wanted one but the cost was a little much. This car has lots of great features and was affordable to purchase. Good thing I know a good mechanic.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cheapman's Beamer

by Golfnut from Wisconsin on Wed Sep 30 2009

About 6 years ago, being a dedicated Honda man but wanting a better ride and unwilling to pay the price for a used BMW, I bought a used 9-5 with about 99k on it. I had the some major issues right away with the tubo going out and other things. For a car with 99k on it, I had expected that. But I bought the car for the way it rode and the low up front price. I probably put half the cost of the car in repairing the vehicle to where I wanted it to be for a daily ride. For the first couple of years of ownership, the 9-5 was in the shop on pretty much a bi-monthly basis that the repair shop had me on speed dial and I got on their Christmas card list. (Just kidding about the last two things.) Right now the car has over 200k on it and running great. I love it. I plan on running it to 300k. I recommend buying the car because you can usually buy them cheap but (always a "but") plan on putting a few bucks (initially) into car to keep it (or get it) running good. And make sure you get a good mechanic that is practical and understands what you want. My 9-5 maxims are: Sometimes used parts are better than new, don't let anyone else (especially teenagers) drive your car and the occasional repair bill is better than a regular car payment.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SAAB FOREVER!!!

by Yankeeboy2 from Chattanooga,Tennessee on Fri Feb 22 2008

I bought this car used about 4 months ago. I was trying to decide between the 9-5 and the Volvo S70. I chose the 9-5. When you first get into this car you notice that the ignition is by the gear shifter. I love it! You may also notice the beautiful wood grain, superb heated and cooled leather seats, roominess, and great lines. The back seat is also heated! Very rare. The exterior of this car is much sportier, more modern than the previous generation Saabs. Mine is the olive-green color with tan leather. The sunroof is great and opens up all the way. The safety of these cars are nothing short of excellent. The overall body structure of the car and the quality of the parts are incredible. Very sturdy vehicle. The exterior is bold and very aerodynamic. I have only had to fix a few things on this vehicle. This includes the all new window switches, new transmission belt, and now the car might need a new oil filter. My repairs have been pretty cheap. After owning this 9-5 I will defenitly return to Saab. And you cant go wrong with them being owned by the company that produces the best cars on the planet and for the planet-General Motors. This 9-5 is a car for you if you like the mid-size catagory, have a need for speed, sporty look, comfort, luxury features, and pulling up to a redlight and nobody have the same car as you. A real head turner. I truly am SAAB Forever, if it is the 9-3, 9-5, or the 9-7x they are all top-of-the-line vehicles from a company with a proud history and a very bright future.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great driver. Expensive to maintain.

by bbb from Cincinnati, OH on Fri Aug 17 2007

A great running car on interstate and around time. Very comfortable, save, stable and fast. But since hitting 100K miles, big repairs of sensors, turbos, and the like. Not confident this car is built to last like volvo, honda, toyota, lexus. etc.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic to own and drive

by Sold on Saab from Columbus Oh. on Wed Jul 16 2008

While admitting that the previous owner was more than a little OCD about care of this car, I am very impressed with the overall quality. Fit, finish, performance and comfort are all that anyone could reasonalby expect from a car nearly 10 yrs old. I've now owned 2 "99 wagons and can't imagine a better value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

A clunker in disguise

by Colorado Backpacker from Littleton, CO on Sat Aug 22 2009

My wife bought this nice silver sedan in 2007 with only 70,000 miles on it. Driving it was a pleasure, but the Engine Oil Pressure light caught us by surprise on a recent trip to Yellowstone. It turns out that Saab recalled the vehicle due to an engine oil sludge problem that is caused by a faulty engine design!!! Buyer beware (do your research before buying). Our mechanic told us we needed a new engine> $5K for a used one or $8K for a new one...we didn't even pay $8K to begin with. We ended up selling it to a local mechanic for parts. What a shame!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1999 Saab 9-5

We love wagons that don't look or feel like wagons. Even better, we love Saabs that look and feel like Saabs. The all-new 1999 Saab 9-5 wagon - the Swedish automaker's first family hauler in 25 years - fills the bill admirably on both counts. From the cockpit, the wagon is pure Saab. From the outside looking in, you won't mistake it for anything but a Saab. Is it worth the $35,000 sticker price? With a few reservations, we'd say yes.

He: How's this for a Kodak moment? Four guys, all of us musicians, with all our gear, cruising in the Saab wagon from Detroit to Columbus, Ohio, to check out the big guitar show. Believe it or not, we thought about driving a minivan or a big sport-utility down... Read More