2006 Baja

Consumer Reviews

2006 Subaru Baja

$6,169 - $13,565  MSRP Range
2006 Subaru Baja

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

32 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Subaru Baja?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 32 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Very Nice!

by Vehicle to hold my style of driving :) from Lowman, NY on Tue Nov 29 2011

I love my Baja!!! This car handles so smooth, corners real nice - would recommend to anyone. The only complaint I have is that Subaru quit making these in 2006. I love this car!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love Subaru

by Ann from Taos, NM on Wed Sep 10 2014

I bought the 2006,5 speed, turbo. I'm still getting used to the turbo , the car really takes off. I've only had this car for a month and I bought a 3 year warrenty with it so I don't expect any problems.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My First Subaru and it's a Baja

by BajaFan from on Sat May 06 2017

I've been impressed with Subaru mileage and AWD for a long time but never made the transition from sportier vehicles. I've been looking for a small, older, inexpensive truck for home and range use for a couple years. After looking at a lot of vehicles, I finally found the one ... a 2006 Subaru Baja Turbo. It's got payload and power to meet my needs, sized like a car so it fits in the garage nicely and the gas mileage is pretty good considering it's both AWD and turbo. Not to mention it's quirky, "cute" (I get that from the neighbors) and gets a little attention and comment. Really surprised it didn't sell better and fell out of production.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great all-arounder

by Hiking fisherman from Balt,MD on Tue Jun 20 2006

Very solid little truck.Great for fishing,hiking,poor traction conditions.Best mpg I've had in a 4wd/AWD.Can't wait for snow.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It's the brakes that I have a problem with

by 2005 baja from flatwoods, ky on Wed Nov 15 2006

The brakes and the local subaru service dept.; subaru could've have transferred the seat heaters over from their other models and the sound system lacks umph. other than those things, it's everything that the reviews have mentioned. I hope to hang onto mine until they bring them back out again.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car there is!

by beetz from Phoenix, AZ on Thu Mar 09 2017

This is the second Subaru Baja I have owned....the other one got totaled while parked. I wish Subaru still made these!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A blast to drive!

by Akubra from Southeast Kansas on Thu Jun 01 2017

I've been driving my Baja for over 18 months and it has been a joy most of the time. I did end up having to replace the transmission because I believe the previous owner was towing things too big for it. (It isn't a full-size pick-up but that's how it may have been used). Other than that, I've really enjoyed the ride. It's solidly built and gets decent gas mileage. It is too bad that Subaru discontinued this little gem. I love it's versatility.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Baja Sport

by Prescott from Waynesville, NC on Sat May 19 2018

Very unique vehicle, 4-door, truck bed, AWD, lots of fun, sunroof, tow pkg, very clean lightly used only 75,000 miles, there's a lot of life left in the vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The BEST vehicle owned as outdoor enthusiasts

by Dan9255 from McLean Virginia on Mon Sep 18 2017

Perfect for hauling 3 mountain bikes, hiking and rock climbing gear. Pros: Love funky and cultish outside styling and functionality. Seats four comfortably, awesome, fun, cool, head turner. Have 150 miles logged. Expect to double, low repair costs, low cost of ownership, AWD, simple and quality build. Cons: reliability not at Porsche or Honda level, non-turbo version way underpowered/ slow 0-60 and passing, wide turning radius.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

06 Subaru Baja

by fitzgeoff from Baton Rouge on Mon Jul 16 2012

This car is close to perfect. The open bed means you can do most the work that any pick-up can do but it hugely more comfortable whether it's commuter driving around town or cross country. It's also amazing where the AWD can get you without getting all scratched out like the big-beast pickup trucks would get. Also, highway is 28 mpg. My combined has been around 25mpg. Other than a limited towing capacity, a Subaru Baja is the best all round, do-anything truck there is. If you could have only one vehicle, this would be it. It is a 4door sedan, a truck, an all wheel drive go anywhere utility vehicle and it is one of the most reliable vehicles made, perhaps the most reliable vehicle made.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

40 out of 41 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com