2016 Outback

Consumer Reviews

2016 Subaru Outback

$12,675 - $23,775  MSRP Range
2016 Subaru Outback

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

167 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Subaru Outback?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

91 - 100 of 167 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Nicest vehicle I 've owned to date.

by Mrs. Right from Medina, N.Y. on Wed Jan 17 2018

This SUV had all the features I wanted and the AWD takes much of the stress out of winter driving and the12 speaker karmon sound system is great.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outback 3.6R is Subaru's secret weapon

by ColoradoGuy from Broomfield Colorado on Fri Feb 23 2018

The Outback 3.6R Limited is Subaru's king of the hill as far as we're concerned when it comes to value, price and quality. You can go and drive SUV's that cost twice as much and you'll come back and buy an Outback for it's symmetrical all wheel drive. It's the best AWD in any SUV without having to leave a check with a lot of zero's on it.. Interior features great quality and solid feel and ride go hand in hand with this SUV. I would not hesitate to recommend an Outback to any of my friends.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Michelle from Gurnee, IL on Sun Jun 17 2018

I’ve been very happy with my Subaru Oatback. It’s dependable, comfortable, and quiet. Would love a bit more space between seats for ’stuff’, but that’s about it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LIKE NEW

by jaybob from Austin, TX on Thu May 03 2018

This car has everything. Low Mileage. Very clean. excellent safety features. I hate to sell it but have too many cars. Well maintained 2 owner car. Have title report.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best family vehicles out there

by ZuMoney from NY on Sun Jul 02 2017

What makes it great for family is its height (easy to get in and out), interior spaces and trunk space. The car is very stable and owns one of the best AWD systems out there.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!

by madams23 from Indianapolis, IN on Wed May 23 2018

This is the car for people who want an SUV without driving a big boat. It's got 4 wheel drive, the clearance of a large SUV, TONS of legroom, great cargo capacity, built-in adjustable roof racks. It is made to get out there but is also small enough to maneuver easily in the city. Great gas mileage, very comfortable, lots of nice little extras like backup camera, programmable seats and tailgate, even lights on the side mirrors to light your way into the car in the dark! I absolutely love this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I would buy it again. Well pleased.

by Chood from Wheeling WV on Sat Jul 22 2017

I'm currently looking to replace it with another Subaru Outback. This vehicle has out performed my expectation. I strongly recommend that you give this automobile consideration.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Safety of Occupants

by Califanna from Jacksonville, Florida on Mon Mar 20 2017

The Outback is all about the safety of its occupants. Backup camera, warning lights and sounds the minute a car is obstructing your way and slowing the vehicle down is just a fraction of the safety features this vehicle offers. A must buy for safety conscious drivers and their precious cargo - their family members and friends.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely love my new Subaru!

by MsDawn from Cropwell Al on Tue Mar 20 2018

Love the comfortable seats, heated seats, backup camera and just about everything the new outback has. This is my 2nd outback and love how safe I feel in this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Comfortable and Practical

by munkeyslut from WALLINGFORD on Sat Jul 01 2017

The Outback is very comfortable and handles really well in any weather. It can hold a lot of cargo and is very reliable. The starlink system is kind of freaking me out though, because it tells me whenever I need to do maintenance, but also tells the shop and they call me. Overall, it's a great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com