2016 Outback

Consumer Reviews

2016 Subaru Outback

$12,566 - $23,726  MSRP Range
2016 Subaru Outback

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

167 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Subaru Outback?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 167 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Superior Safety and Dependable Ride

by Dependable, Value Car from Winchester, VA on Wed Sep 23 2015

I bought this car to travel safely no matter how bad the weather gets, and to get some of those interior 'extras' too. The Subaru Outback delivers!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good Job Subaru

by Car Tech from Wisconsin on Thu Dec 17 2015

First let me say I have only owned the car for a week and I bought it for my future wife. I wanted to get her a safe, reliable and versatile vehicle to drive. I think I made the right choice with the Outback. The Eye Sight system is AMAZING it really works well especially the adaptive cruise which she loves. If i have to find something wrong with the vehicle its ride comfort its a little on the firm side. I also being over 6 foot have trouble find a comfortable position for my legs I just cant seem to find the right spot. The seats on the other hand if you get cloth are very cushy and comfy avoid the leather if you can they are pretty firm. If you want a vehicle that will haul you and your family's stuff through the snow and mud with ease buy an outback. With 8.7 inches of ground clearance it will run through a lot of snow with no problem. The outback also can tow up to 2700 pounds with the 4 cylinder which beats out all of the other small crossovers thats for sure, all while getting 25 city 33 highway.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Best ICE / SNOW Vehicle

by Byron Baker from Alpine, Wyoming on Wed May 01 2019

Looked at Volvo’s and the rest before deciding to buy a Subaru. The ride is noisy most of the time. So far, I get 28 mpg, so why buy the slow noisy 4cylinder? The traction system is called X-Drive and it works well in glare ice and deep snow. Dealer maintenance is outrageously expensive, charging $600 to replace 6 spark plugs. The. CVT causes this wagon to be slow even with the high output six cylinder. The cabin heating system needs to improve so that you don’t have to idle for 1/2 hour to get heat when it’s -10.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Wonderful SUV

by Ezab73 from Columbus, Ohio on Thu May 25 2017

I love this SUV! It drives like a car with all of the benefits of an SUV! I looks great and drives great! The Nav system is really good too. Love love love the back-up camera and side warning lights. I have and will continue to recommend this SUV to others!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safest car I've owned

by Subaru fan from Portage, IN on Thu Mar 10 2016

AWD, eye sight crash protection, nav options are make this car the safest car I've owned. My wife and I love driving this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I Feel Really Safe

by Lise Mayer from on Mon Feb 27 2017

I love this car--mostly because I feel very safe. We have the model with Eyesight and it provides a lot of safety features like lane departure warnings, blind spot indicators, and dynamic cruise control to name a few. Recently we needed some additional assistance in figuring out how to set our memory seats. We brought the car into Haddad Sabaru in Pittsfield. Even though we bought the car from a different dealership, Darrell Clarmont, a salesman, cheerfully spent a lot of time with us answering our questions. We will buy our next Subaru from Darrell!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 3rd Subaru

by Ric from U.P. on Thu May 25 2017

Have always liked my Subarus. My Outback is a pleasure to drive on long trips, already have 18000 miles and not a year old. The Eyesight is a great feature. My only negative comment would be any of the indash mounted Nav systems that sometimes you get a glare from the sun and there is no way to overcome it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable and fun car to drive !

by jpm55 from Lincoln, Nebraska on Thu Aug 23 2018

I really enjoy Subaru engineering in the way that the car works and it looks pretty good too. Could use a bit more power, but it is very nimble and easy to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car for the money I have ever owned.

by Jim Tucson from Tucson , Arizona on Tue Sep 05 2017

Best car for the money I have ever owned. The car has features, ride, comfort and safety that is equal to and in some cases, better than cars that cost $5000+ more. Safety features are superb.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Outback

by MarthaP from Tacoma, WA on Sun Jun 17 2018

This is the 2nd Outback I have owned. I purchased a 3.6R just to have more power. This car is fully loaded. The Subaru Eye Sight is awesome. I can tow a small trailer. This car is very comfortable on road trip's. I have been on 3 long trips over 2500 miles each. GREAT gas mileage even with the bigger motor.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com