2016 Outback

Consumer Reviews

2016 Subaru Outback

$12,566 - $23,726  MSRP Range
2016 Subaru Outback

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

167 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Subaru Outback?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 167 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Almost Perfect

by Motorhead from Allouez, WI on Tue Sep 26 2017

I am used to low-seated, road-hugging performance vehicle so was looking for that feel as much as possible in a utility type vehicle. The Outback sits lower than an SUV so it feels more stable which I like. Not as soundproof as my VW; I can hear wind whistling. Not enough bass or sound depth on audio and adjustments are cumbersome. A simple equalizer for bass, treble etc. would be more sensible. Wish list: switchblade key like my VW's, or temperature and time readout near the speedometer, as it distracts from driving when checking time in the information spread. Love the roominess, interior layout, safety features and performance so far. Time will tell.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Outback

by MarthaP from Tacoma, WA on Sun Jun 17 2018

This is the 2nd Outback I have owned. I purchased a 3.6R just to have more power. This car is fully loaded. The Subaru Eye Sight is awesome. I can tow a small trailer. This car is very comfortable on road trip's. I have been on 3 long trips over 2500 miles each. GREAT gas mileage even with the bigger motor.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SUBARU - SAFETY FIRST!!!

by Sandie from Lakewood, WA on Wed Jul 26 2017

The safety features alert you of potential trouble and help you avoid it. The Outback has Blind-Spot Detection, Rear Cross-Traffic Alert, and EyeSight Driver Assist Technology with the all-new feature--Lane Keep Assist. I love driving my Subaru!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I’m in love with this car!

by Julie ’feed hauler ’ from Wauseon,OH on Tue Nov 28 2017

I’m so happy with this purchase. Head room, leg room, front and rear heated seats, easy on fuel. Sits higher for easy entry and exit.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I have owned

by Mike V. from Redwood Falls, MN on Sun Jul 30 2017

My interest in a Subaru started with the "We Lived" advertising in early 2015. I am an older driver with safety, visibility, all wheel drive, and easy to understand controls most important. It has exceeded my expectations along with great fuel economy and outstanding function. After driving my Outback for almost two years, I wish I had given a Subaru a try many years earlier. Before I purchased my Outback, I asked owners how they liked their Outback, and not one person was unhappy with many drivers on their sixth or seventh Subaru product. I will not drive anything else.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic car for any weather. Still great milage

by Florindy from Tampa, FL on Sat Jun 23 2018

Most versatile car I have owned. Great in snow or rain with best AWD available. Still can get close to 30 mpg at 75mph. Have experienced high 30?s at 55mph! Eyesight warns of possibility of obstruction and can even stop, if you do not do so in a timely manner. AC and heat more than efficient in extremes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first Subaru I have owned

by Greg’s Outback from Massachusetts on Wed May 30 2018

After having Toyota Rav 4 for 8 years I looked into a Outback! This is by far the safest car I have ever owned! It is like a Sherman tank in the winter and although it is a wagon it maintains 30MPG on the highway!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

3rd Subaru but now Disappointed

by Junior D from Ottawa, Canada on Fri Jan 26 2018

My 2 previous Outback’s were phenomenal. This version of the 3.6 premium has 37,000 miles and have had the battery changed because it failed. The car has been recalled twice and now at 35,000 miles the car accelerates and jerks as if I were manually shifting gears. At about 1,500 rpms, the CVT performs very erratically and gear shifting is not smooth at all. Brought it in for correction and that did Not help at all.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

great on gas milage.

by Bobsupercota from Mmuskegon,Mich on Thu Aug 17 2017

Seats are very hard. Poor adjustment for seat comfort, raise seat height tilts you forward unable to be position unless put in full lowered position.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have owned

by Outback owner from Crescent, PA on Mon Jul 03 2017

This car drives very well. Excellent in the snow. Priced well. Excellent gas mileage. Easy to maintain.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com