2016 Outback

Consumer Reviews

2016 Subaru Outback

$12,675 - $23,775  MSRP Range
2016 Subaru Outback

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

167 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Subaru Outback?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

61 - 70 of 167 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

They've come a long way since 1973

by 2ByoungAgain from Pac NW on Sat Mar 12 2016

An older brother had a 73 GL, I had my first in 78, a DL 2dr (only FWD) but they were still fabulous in the Snow of the Midwest. 38 years have gone by, and I've owned many other vehicles in-between, and now I have my 2nd Subaru; a 2016 Outback 2.5 LTD. It is a pleasure to get in and go, wherever the road takes me. The top notch Harmon Kardon sound system makes me want to keep driving, just because. With the mulit-adjustable driver seat, it is the easiest and most comfortable vehicle I've ever owned for ease of entry and exit and long distance journeys. All my passengers have loved it as well; they just wish the passenger seat had height adjustability. With the factory equipped M&S tires it had no issues going up to Timberline @ Mt Hood with snow covered roads and parking in a foot deep or more snow. I can only imagine how sure-footed it will be with a good set of Snow Tires on it; probably like a wolf or snow-lynx :) I would prefer a 6 speed manual, but the CVT seems to work quite nicely and have no complaints about the ability of the 2.5 to go anywhere I need or want it to with ease. What I miss, auto locking doors when put into gear and auto unlock when I pull on the door handle. Engine noise upon hard acceleration is the only drawback to the engine, otherwise it is a smooth quiet ride when cruising along and under everyday acceleration needs. Wish they would offer some colors a bit more lively; like the Limited edition yellow from the Crosstrek last year and red for the Crosstrek in 2016 coming soon. Don't care for the Hyper-Blue myself.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 1st NEW CAR

by KT from Washougal,Wa on Wed May 18 2016

I chose a Subaru Outback 2016 V6.All the bells and whistles like lane Alert and correction ,brake assist with so much technology! I am in my 50's and this is the 1st new car I have ever owned.....

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Super Subaru

by Murty from Pittsburgh, PA on Fri Jul 15 2016

Tech is like a wheel !!. When the wheel is perfectly round it will launch a new adventure everyday but if its not perfect, you are better of a get a donkey to ride. The surprise is how seamlessly the tech works in Subaru. When I went upto my Porsche dealer to shop for a cayenne/ similary equipped to my Subaru, the guy never heard of such features and laughed me off as overly nerdy. Since when is a rear view camera, blind spot alert and adaptive cruise a luxury ? hence an option in a 80 thousand dollar car but is standard in a Subaru. The 'eyesight' in Outback works beautiful. Kudos to Subaru guys. You delivered a knock out punch to the German breed,

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

For the most part I love this car.

by Mike from on Tue Mar 14 2017

The only complaint I have with the 2016 Subaru is the radio. I hate it. It's complicated to program and just plain aggravating to use.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Subaru

by Regular Guy from Maui, HI on Mon Apr 18 2016

The car is great--only had it for two weeks so hard to know what the future may bring. I owned an older model Outback for several years and got great service from it. This website had nothing to do with the purchase, though. My request for quotes from dealers was completely ignored, so I finally just went down to my local (and only) dealer on Maui and bought the car, making the best deal I could--just like the old days before websites like this.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My New Outback, 3\29\17.

by FlagJim from Flagstaff, AZ on Thu Mar 30 2017

Opened search 5 weeks ago, refined it at least 30 times, honed in on; make, model & trim, framed and focused on 6-8 units, and allowed Cars.com system, to do its job. Bingo, new car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Never Again

by Dont_buy_Subaru from Allentown Pa on Thu May 04 2017

This car is poorly designed and overpriced. I regret buying this car. I was looking at a Ford Edge and the Subaru Outback. I chose the Outback because of the Eye-site package. That was the biggest mistake I ever made. Run do walk away from Subaru!!!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Michelle from Gurnee, IL on Sun Jun 17 2018

I’ve been very happy with my Subaru Oatback. It’s dependable, comfortable, and quiet. Would love a bit more space between seats for ’stuff’, but that’s about it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LIKE NEW

by jaybob from Austin, TX on Thu May 03 2018

This car has everything. Low Mileage. Very clean. excellent safety features. I hate to sell it but have too many cars. Well maintained 2 owner car. Have title report.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Full technoloy package.

by Randy from Wife's Car. on Thu May 03 2018

Roomy comfortable car. Beautiful Metallic Titanium Paint with White Leather. Fun to drive. safe and reliable. Subaru "Eyesight" lane keeper. Collision prevention. Active Radar cruise control.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com