2016 Outback

Consumer Reviews

2016 Subaru Outback

$12,684 - $23,780  MSRP Range
2016 Subaru Outback

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

167 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Subaru Outback?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

81 - 90 of 167 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

LIKE NEW

by jaybob from Austin, TX on Thu May 03 2018

This car has everything. Low Mileage. Very clean. excellent safety features. I hate to sell it but have too many cars. Well maintained 2 owner car. Have title report.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Subaru=Love

by LVP on Fri Jul 20 2018

Purchased our 2016 Subaru Outback new in 2016. This is by far our favorite vehicle (and we've owned a number of them over 37 years). Our Outback ticked all the boxes as far as safety, overall look, options and price. We will DEFINITELY look at Subaru again when it is time to replace our aging minivan. Loved it so much I took my boss for a test drive in mine and she ended up purchasing the same vehicle in a different color and absolutely loves hers as well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Bang for the bucks

by Tank from Houston on Thu Apr 19 2018

It's very sturdy reliable and safe car. get good mileage not too heavy on pocket. provide ample option for storage. good off road capabilities. The only thing Outback can improve on is seating. seats feels slightly small and hard.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely love my new Subaru!

by MsDawn from Cropwell Al on Tue Mar 20 2018

Love the comfortable seats, heated seats, backup camera and just about everything the new outback has. This is my 2nd outback and love how safe I feel in this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sips the Gas

by GarrettFoCo from Fort Collins, CO on Mon Aug 21 2017

This car has a ton of utility: commuting, storage, and can even tow a decent sized trailer. It has great fuel economy for both in-town and highway driving. The only thing I dislike is that the cabin is more noisy than I like but it's not something that would make me regret getting the Outback.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A good choice to check out.

by Gaby from Philadelphia,Pa on Wed May 30 2018

Mileage is Good. Headroom for my husband good.Style is nice. Only negative is that I feel all the bumps (Philadelphia roads not good after the winter period). Feel sporty but safe. Otherwise very pleased

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Loved it after the drive, now I'm buying it

by Diane A-D from St. Petersburg, FL on Fri Dec 22 2017

This car is better than everyone said, and they all said good things. I was surprised how comfortable I was when first sitting in it. The extras are all anyone could ever dream of. Can't wait to take it on a road trip

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2nd Outback I've owned. This one for only a month

by CapnKirk from Atlanta, GA on Tue Mar 27 2018

I previously owned a 2013 with base engine, a bit underpowered in my opinion. This one with the larger engine is far superior in drivability, smoothness and power. Gas mileage took a little hit, of course. The safety features on the 2016 are excellent and a big improvement over the 2013. Adaptive speed control is amazing! I like the layout of the infotainment screen even better than in the 2018 Outback I test drove. Reliability of the 2013 was excellent, but I've only owned my '16 for a month, so the jury is still out on this one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!

by madams23 from Indianapolis, IN on Wed May 23 2018

This is the car for people who want an SUV without driving a big boat. It's got 4 wheel drive, the clearance of a large SUV, TONS of legroom, great cargo capacity, built-in adjustable roof racks. It is made to get out there but is also small enough to maneuver easily in the city. Great gas mileage, very comfortable, lots of nice little extras like backup camera, programmable seats and tailgate, even lights on the side mirrors to light your way into the car in the dark! I absolutely love this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Comfortable and Practical

by munkeyslut from WALLINGFORD on Sat Jul 01 2017

The Outback is very comfortable and handles really well in any weather. It can hold a lot of cargo and is very reliable. The starlink system is kind of freaking me out though, because it tells me whenever I need to do maintenance, but also tells the shop and they call me. Overall, it's a great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com