2018 WRX

Consumer Reviews

2018 Subaru WRX

$20,184 - $29,376  MSRP Range
2018 Subaru WRX

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

67 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Subaru WRX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 67 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

We’ll built

by Boy racer from Montgomery al on Thu Mar 28 2019

Quality and performance are top notch but the infotainment system is third rate. Half the time Bluetooth won’t connect to my iPhone. When it does and I’m playing music, the song information won’t refresh. The only thing that works consistently is SiriusXM and local FM/ AM. The build quality is really good. The car is solid and seats are comfortable and the ride is acceptable for a performance vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best awd sports car to ever own period

by Wrxfan from McKinney, Texas on Mon Oct 02 2017

This vehicle has a stylish sport look too it with a sport performance and luxury feel on the inside. Not only is it extremely safe but it's great on gas and just a fun car to drive. Definatly no disappointments with the new 2018

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car!

by Moo on Mon Nov 13 2017

I love my 2018 Subaru WRX Premium. I opted for the manual transmission. The shifting between 1st and 2nd gear took about a month to get used to. The performance is amazing. It feels like you are on rails going around turns. The rear seat had enough room for 2 grown adults and the trunk space is roomy for such a small sedan. The gas milage (using premium) is about 19 in the city and 25 on the highway. I am sure i could improve that, but I enjoy spirited driving. There is some rev hang that is noticable, but you get used to it. I had a 2012 Dodge Charger SXT and although this car is much smaller, it is way more fun to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is the car I've always wanted...

by Mike C from Matawan, NJ on Sun Jul 30 2017

I didn't realize until I drove the car, that this is everything i've ever wanted from a car. I love the way it looks, sounds, drives and feels. I have no complaints whatsoever!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever!!!!!

by GIJosie from Highlands Ranch, CO on Sat Dec 30 2017

I love the WRX. Super speedy. The new WRX engine doesn't have turbo lag and I love it. This is my 2nd WRX. Never had any problems with the first one that I had for 5 years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The Auto is good!

by Trevman from Danbury, CT on Fri May 11 2018

Despite mixed reviews online I have nothing but good things to say about the automatic transmission in this car. Its still very quick and smooth as can be!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

by Grippa from Cincinnati on Sat May 05 2018

Had great get up and go. Fun car! Would buy it if it didn't have so many number signs behind it. Love the go go go feeling

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best handling car I've ever owned

by jjspagnolo from Hockessin, DE on Thu Jul 27 2017

This car did need all my needs. All wheel drive 4-door sporty sedan with plenty of passenger room and trunk space with a manual transition. Maintenance cost and 5 year cost to own separated this car from its competitors.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The new WRX is nice

by D_rich22 from Ohio on Mon Aug 14 2017

Good mpg, sporty ride tight around corners. Quick but feels like the turbo is lacking during mid power band. Could be just because it's builds it up smoother than the last gens

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Like it better than my STi

by Spartan 604 from Racine, WI on Tue Jul 24 2018

I had a '15 STi, and traded it for a WRX so my wife could drive it. It is surprisingly more fun to drive than the STi. The turbo is amazing, and the handling feels great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2018 Subaru WRX

The verdict:

The 2018 Subaru WRX has performance chops but could stand a trip to polishing school.

 

Versus the competition:

The WRX isn’t the most refined or sophisticated car, but it does have horsepower — a lot of it.

 

The 2018 Subaru WRX isn’t an immediately likable compact sports sedan. It took me a few days of thrashing on a World Rally Blue Pearl WRX Premium to scale the car’s learning curve, but once I started meshing with it, it was clear there are few cars in the $30,000 price range that combine no-drama acceleration and slot-car handling like the WRX.

For 2018, the Subaru WRX is mildly updated, with revised tuning to the suspension, power steering, manual transmission shifter and clutch. There’s also a new Performance Package with upgraded brake rotors and more aggressive front seats. These changes take the WRX further away from its roots as the 2012 Subaru Impreza, which was a practical but... Read More