2018 WRX

Consumer Reviews

2018 Subaru WRX

$20,163 - $29,395  MSRP Range
2018 Subaru WRX

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

67 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Subaru WRX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 67 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A game-changer for me

by RBambusch from Littleton, CO on Thu Aug 10 2017

I love this vehicle so much. It's beautiful, smooth, and most importantly, fast. It has amazing resale value as well! The only negative is the interior. It's good, but it could definitely use some minor improvements.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most tech based car I’ve ever owned but awesome to

by Lucywrx from Medicine Hat on Sun Nov 05 2017

This car is ver spacious, great power no turbo lag at all, very reliable and easy to maintain. Awd system is great in the snow and overall very happy with this car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever

by Skyeru on Tue Jul 10 2018

This is the best car ever. Handling is great. The exterior is beautiful. It is roomy, with plenty of space in the front and in the back.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super fun car to drive

by Noda on Mon Jul 02 2018

This is my second wrx, is a really fun car to drive. I have the base model that’s the only thing I regret, because I don’t have a sunroof or fog lights

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

by Tanner S. from Morgantown, Pa on Tue Mar 27 2018

Was just as great as expected. Would not have chosen any other car even after driving it! Very comfortable, easy to drive, and looks great!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my new WRX

by wrxowner from Hillsboro, OR on Thu May 24 2018

The car has exceeded all my expectations. It's the perfect combination of comfort and performance for a great price! I can see myself owning this car for a ver long time,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great in every type of weather

by Liz B from Wisconsin on Sat Feb 24 2018

I went from a 2016 Subaru wrx to the 2018 and in my opinion it seems to be slower than the 2016. It is great in all types of weather (as long as you put winter tires on) you can pass cars when the roads are full of snow and still have full control of the car. It's a beast!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Car Purchase.

by classiccarfan1 from Los Angeles, CA on Mon Mar 12 2018

This is a great car for the money I spent, I get a sedan that can take all my family and its a very fast car that has all the power that a sports car has, all the way around is the best vehicle I ever bought.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love It

by JKT1969 from Clinton Township on Mon Apr 30 2018

After driving a 2011 WRX 5 speed for almost 8 years, I traded it in for the CVT trans. My wife refuses to drive a stick (if we ever need to switch cars) and I need hip surgery from many years of hard labor, and running. I love the CVT. It is smooth and quick.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Heritage Blue 50th Anniversary 2018 WRX

by HeritageBlueWRX18 from Gurnee, IL on Tue Apr 10 2018

The limited edition has every bell and whistle I could possibly need. The color is a muted blue, a throwback which is only found on 600 2018 WRXs world wide. The exterior has a 50th anniversary badge on the front doors, a sunroof, self leveling headlights, lane change warning on the side mirrors, backup warning for cars traveling perpendicular to your back up path, and keyless entry. The interior hits you in the face with Recaro race seats for the front, light grey seatbelts, 18”(I think) display. A customizable HUD above the display can show fuel useage, boost guage, differential adjustment, backup camera and more. The short throw shifter is perfectly done. Each shift clicks into place smoothly but with a distinct feel as you move through all 6 gears. The shift knob is beautiful and matches well with the newer design on the steering wheel giving you a symbiotic feel between steering and shifting at a fast pace. Trading up from the 2009 WRX to the 2018 WRX, I noticed a difference in throttle response at mid to high end speeds... it’s quick. The low end throttle is a little more aggressive which takes some getting used to. Overall I am extremely happy with my car choice. This will probably be my last WRX as I feel like the STI might be calling my name for a turn at my household after these five years of payments are up... but this will be a fun five years!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2018 Subaru WRX

The verdict:

The 2018 Subaru WRX has performance chops but could stand a trip to polishing school.

 

Versus the competition:

The WRX isn’t the most refined or sophisticated car, but it does have horsepower — a lot of it.

 

The 2018 Subaru WRX isn’t an immediately likable compact sports sedan. It took me a few days of thrashing on a World Rally Blue Pearl WRX Premium to scale the car’s learning curve, but once I started meshing with it, it was clear there are few cars in the $30,000 price range that combine no-drama acceleration and slot-car handling like the WRX.

For 2018, the Subaru WRX is mildly updated, with revised tuning to the suspension, power steering, manual transmission shifter and clutch. There’s also a new Performance Package with upgraded brake rotors and more aggressive front seats. These changes take the WRX further away from its roots as the 2012 Subaru Impreza, which was a practical but... Read More