2018 WRX

Consumer Reviews

2018 Subaru WRX

$20,170 - $29,378  MSRP Range
2018 Subaru WRX

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

67 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Subaru WRX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

31 - 40 of 67 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Love It

by JKT1969 from Clinton Township on Mon Apr 30 2018

After driving a 2011 WRX 5 speed for almost 8 years, I traded it in for the CVT trans. My wife refuses to drive a stick (if we ever need to switch cars) and I need hip surgery from many years of hard labor, and running. I love the CVT. It is smooth and quick.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Heritage Blue 50th Anniversary 2018 WRX

by HeritageBlueWRX18 from Gurnee, IL on Tue Apr 10 2018

The limited edition has every bell and whistle I could possibly need. The color is a muted blue, a throwback which is only found on 600 2018 WRXs world wide. The exterior has a 50th anniversary badge on the front doors, a sunroof, self leveling headlights, lane change warning on the side mirrors, backup warning for cars traveling perpendicular to your back up path, and keyless entry. The interior hits you in the face with Recaro race seats for the front, light grey seatbelts, 18”(I think) display. A customizable HUD above the display can show fuel useage, boost guage, differential adjustment, backup camera and more. The short throw shifter is perfectly done. Each shift clicks into place smoothly but with a distinct feel as you move through all 6 gears. The shift knob is beautiful and matches well with the newer design on the steering wheel giving you a symbiotic feel between steering and shifting at a fast pace. Trading up from the 2009 WRX to the 2018 WRX, I noticed a difference in throttle response at mid to high end speeds... it’s quick. The low end throttle is a little more aggressive which takes some getting used to. Overall I am extremely happy with my car choice. This will probably be my last WRX as I feel like the STI might be calling my name for a turn at my household after these five years of payments are up... but this will be a fun five years!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my new WRX

by wrxowner from Hillsboro, OR on Thu May 24 2018

The car has exceeded all my expectations. It's the perfect combination of comfort and performance for a great price! I can see myself owning this car for a ver long time,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Everything I've been waiting for.

by subtletale on Mon Apr 30 2018

I love this car. It's the perfect blend of sedan sized family capability and coupe style sportiness and performance. And with Subaru's penchant for long-lasting vehicles, I expect to happily drive this one for 200k miles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Repeat customer of this model

by JonCokato from Cokato,MN on Mon Feb 19 2018

Excellent pick up, handles very smoothly. Has ability to receive phone calls through radio so don't have to touch actual phone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Tcramped on Sat Jul 21 2018

What can I say it's a great car go test drive it and drive it home. Great performance, steering, style and ride. Cost can be a bit steep but it's a Subaru WRX. Subaru are reliable and it's standard all wheel drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very cool and fast

by Love from Kenosha on Wed Apr 25 2018

Good retail value and realiable.It's four wheel drive. This is very Sharp looking car. Love it! I just bought it and can't stop drive it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

by Tanner S. from Morgantown, Pa on Tue Mar 27 2018

Was just as great as expected. Would not have chosen any other car even after driving it! Very comfortable, easy to drive, and looks great!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I am in love with it!

by Momma loves on Thu Mar 15 2018

This car has all the things my husband I were looking for! AWD, stylish, turbo charged- you name it. All I wanted was heat seaters and this car is equipped beyond words can say!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Turbo life

by onetuffgirl from Orlando on Mon Oct 23 2017

I'm excited to enjoy this vehicle. It has been over 10 years since I owned a brand new vehicle so this is very awesome. Can not wait to get it broke in.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2018 Subaru WRX

The verdict:

The 2018 Subaru WRX has performance chops but could stand a trip to polishing school.

 

Versus the competition:

The WRX isn’t the most refined or sophisticated car, but it does have horsepower — a lot of it.

 

The 2018 Subaru WRX isn’t an immediately likable compact sports sedan. It took me a few days of thrashing on a World Rally Blue Pearl WRX Premium to scale the car’s learning curve, but once I started meshing with it, it was clear there are few cars in the $30,000 price range that combine no-drama acceleration and slot-car handling like the WRX.

For 2018, the Subaru WRX is mildly updated, with revised tuning to the suspension, power steering, manual transmission shifter and clutch. There’s also a new Performance Package with upgraded brake rotors and more aggressive front seats. These changes take the WRX further away from its roots as the 2012 Subaru Impreza, which was a practical but... Read More