2018 WRX

Consumer Reviews

2018 Subaru WRX

$20,184 - $29,376  MSRP Range
2018 Subaru WRX

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

67 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Subaru WRX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 67 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

New Car Purchase.

by classiccarfan1 from Los Angeles, CA on Mon Mar 12 2018

This is a great car for the money I spent, I get a sedan that can take all my family and its a very fast car that has all the power that a sports car has, all the way around is the best vehicle I ever bought.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far so good

by Punklux from Laurel, MD on Thu Mar 08 2018

I picked up a 50th anniversary edition WRX. And coming from a 2010 WRX premium sedan, the quality, ride, and most importantly, the seats are vastly improved. The seats really hug you. Cornering is better than my 2010, but not outstanding. A set of springs and bigger sway bars will fix my nit picking. The only thing I'm not a fan of is the infotainment system. Its old! Slow. And doesn't have Apple car play or Android connect. All in all the WRX still puts a smile on my face every time I get behind the wheel.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car is so much fun to drive!

by Rob Subaru WRX from Annapolis, MD on Wed Aug 08 2018

I'm having a blast driving this car everyday. The AWD of a Subrau with the twin turbo 2.0L 4-cy engine provides plenty of power when trying to merge on roads in the DC metropolitan area. The last 2 cars I owned were AT and to drive a 6 speed MT with the vehicle response it has is just exhilarating.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a car compared to most in its class!

by Gamer from Calgary Canada on Tue Oct 30 2018

I owned a 2013 frs new for 5+ yrs and loved it. Now I wanted to upgrade so I narrowed to 2 cars wrx sport and audi S3 and decided on wrx cause of cost to repair vs S3 and purchase price and resale value.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I’ve ever owned

by AnthonyT from Akron, OH on Tue Aug 22 2017

The car is remarkable in performance, and exterior styling is superb. The comfort of the ride may not be for everyone, but that is because of the sport tuned suspension for better cornering and better overall performance experience.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Car

by WRX Owner from New York on Wed Jan 09 2019

Drives like a dream. Can be a daily driver, and a nice calm ride. Also can have fun, and not beat on the car. Just fun, safe, and solid car. It's price point is really aggressive, for the quality of this cars performance. Interior is not "luxury", but the driving experience is amazing.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very cost efficient car

by NotImportant from West Lafayette on Sun Jun 24 2018

It's great in general for a 30k car. It's got a nice engine and startup speed. The exterior looks cool. The only thing that needs improvement is the noise during high-speed while driving.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super fun car to drive

by Noda on Mon Jul 02 2018

This is my second wrx, is a really fun car to drive. I have the base model that’s the only thing I regret, because I don’t have a sunroof or fog lights

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

by Tanner S. from Morgantown, Pa on Tue Mar 27 2018

Was just as great as expected. Would not have chosen any other car even after driving it! Very comfortable, easy to drive, and looks great!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Awesome Upgrade To The WRX

by wrxgod on Sun Oct 15 2017

Ive owned this car for about a month now. It has been great! The upgraded interior feels way better than the previous models. The only complaints I have about the car is the gearbox feels kind of clunky and the touch screen radio/Bluetooth definitely isn't the best. Other than that this car is awesome and I definitely recommend one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2018 Subaru WRX

The verdict:

The 2018 Subaru WRX has performance chops but could stand a trip to polishing school.

 

Versus the competition:

The WRX isn’t the most refined or sophisticated car, but it does have horsepower — a lot of it.

 

The 2018 Subaru WRX isn’t an immediately likable compact sports sedan. It took me a few days of thrashing on a World Rally Blue Pearl WRX Premium to scale the car’s learning curve, but once I started meshing with it, it was clear there are few cars in the $30,000 price range that combine no-drama acceleration and slot-car handling like the WRX.

For 2018, the Subaru WRX is mildly updated, with revised tuning to the suspension, power steering, manual transmission shifter and clutch. There’s also a new Performance Package with upgraded brake rotors and more aggressive front seats. These changes take the WRX further away from its roots as the 2012 Subaru Impreza, which was a practical but... Read More