2019 WRX

Consumer Reviews

2019 Subaru WRX

$22,246 - $31,766  MSRP Range
2019 Subaru WRX

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

27 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Subaru WRX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 27 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best cars I’ve owned

by Brad Burchard from Beaverton Oregon on Thu Nov 14 2019

I love my WRX although I do think they need to work on some of the rattle problems in the interior and maybe the sound of the motor while idling. Aside from that its my favorite car I’ve owned to date and I’ve owned quite a few.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun car to drive!

by ffgage24 from Ontario Ca on Wed Nov 13 2019

This car has all the bells and whistles and the price and performance is amazing! It’s a very fun car to drive and the design inside and out hands down spectacular

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive car that is better than a hot hatch

by Ponch92 from Orlando, Florida on Mon Jan 07 2019

I was looking to get something more sensible, but I found the WRX and was instantly attracted to it. It has enough room for adults in the back seat, 4 doors, a nice full trunk with fold down seats, and one heck of a fun ride. It is sensible and fun to drive, imagine that. One of the down sides (depending on who you are) is the gas mileage for the size of the car. Topping out at 29mpg, you're probably going to average around 25/26 using required premium fuel. The second down side is the ride. It is a bit stiffer than one might expect and noisy. I don't mind this at all since I prefer the "driver" feel, but if you're looking for some more comfort, perhaps look to the Honda Civic Si or the GTI from VW. I think the WRX is a great long term fun car for the money. Subaru is difficult at best to work on price with, but the value is there. I believe the WRX is better than any of the hot hatches out there, and a better value.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My dads favorite car he’s owned

by Jermjerm from Denver on Tue Jun 18 2019

He absolutely loves his new wrx.. it’s his favorite blue and it’s the fastest AND safest car he’s ever owned. I’m glad he got it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great family and weekend car

by E.Raigoza from Green Bay WI on Thu Nov 15 2018

I love my new 2019 Subaru wrx very reliable vehicle . Great interior layout and exterior performance is great makes a great family and weekend car. For a brand new 0 miles vehicle I feel like the price was fair so I am very happy and satisfied with my purchase my only complaints about my vehicle are. The drivers and passengers seats aren’t very conferrable the audio system in the car isn’t very good Could use some improvements for better sound Quality I also feel like the side skirt on my vehicle stick out too far so it makes me step out further than normal so i don’t damage them from constantly exiting my vehicle and hitting them causing wear and tear other than that my vehicle was great

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car Rated #3 under 50 thousand Fun to Drive.

by 954 Pappi from Deerfield Beach on Thu Jan 17 2019

Car has everything only 1 bad thing i can really say Stereo Speakers and Radio Amp isnt there yet only thing bad i can Say other than that Great Car !!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best performance for the money.

by CrosstrekWrxowner from El Paso on Tue Jan 01 2019

The car has great amount of power through all gears. The habdling of the car is the beast I have driven withiout losing comfort. Very spacious the rear can fit two adults comfortably for long trips. Mpg is 28 avg.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Save up for the STI

by Jason from Kirkland, WA on Wed Apr 10 2019

Like all owners say, the rev hang is annoying at best and detrimental to the transmission at worst. You'll have to get good at slipping the clutch to go fast. The shifter on the base model is clunky and imprecise. Sometimes it won't let me into gear and I have to pull out and try again. The engine and suspension are nice, but are overshadowed by the poor transmission and driver experience.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Horrible

by Defense from Largo,FL on Thu Sep 27 2018

I started driving and it instantly It’s a really bad car very bad not good enough for me and you are the same person who was very mean for

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 196 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

If you like driving, this is an awesome car

by Experienced Car Leaser from glen rock on Sun Jun 02 2019

This is a performance vehicle, not suited for the faint of heart. FAST, and tight. The only reason I didn;'t buy it was cause it was too much car for my wife to drive. I can only imagine how much fun this car would be to drive in the snow.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2019 Subaru WRX

The verdict:

The 2018 Subaru WRX has performance chops but could stand a trip to polishing school.

 

Versus the competition:

The WRX isn’t the most refined or sophisticated car, but it does have horsepower — a lot of it.

 

The 2018 Subaru WRX isn’t an immediately likable compact sports sedan. It took me a few days of thrashing on a World Rally Blue Pearl WRX Premium to scale the car’s learning curve, but once I started meshing with it, it was clear there are few cars in the $30,000 price range that combine no-drama acceleration and slot-car handling like the WRX.

For 2018, the Subaru WRX is mildly updated, with revised tuning to the suspension, power steering, manual transmission shifter and clutch. There’s also a new Performance Package with upgraded brake rotors and more aggressive front seats. These changes take the WRX further away from its roots as the 2012 Subaru Impreza, which was a practical but... Read More