2007 Highlander Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2007 Toyota Highlander Hybrid

$4,809 - $12,573  MSRP Range
2007 Toyota Highlander Hybrid

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

18 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2007 Toyota Highlander Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A great vehicle, especially for the price

by Soundguy from West Palm Beach, FL on Sun Nov 17 2013

Before recently buying this vehicle used, I read all the reviews on Cars.com and took each one into consideration. I got the chance to buy one at an excellent price with only 50k miles on it. I wanted a hybrid because I needed great gas mileage and wanted something SUV sized for towing my boat and for cargo. It has great towing capacity which was a big consideration. Before looking at the dealer's mpg rating, check out the government rating and you'll get a better idea of what to expect. I average between 28-31 mpg with a combination of city and highway. Your mileage will vary depending on how you drive it. If you have a lead foot and like quick takeoffs, you won't get the gas mileage I do. And driving a hybrid takes a little getting used to. When you let off the accelerator the battery kicks in so the engine doesn't slow you down like you may be used to. The front wheel drive also takes a little getting used to if you're used to rear wheel drive. It's a very reliable vehicle and have not had any problems in the 5k miles I've driven it. The vision from the driver's seat is excellent because there are very few blind spots. The seats are comfortable but could use a little more padding but other than that it is designed very well. This is the most economical vehicle I've ever owned, especially something SUV sized. I recently purchased a 50" widescreen TV and had no problem fitting it in through the back door. I've owned tons of vehicles in my 40+ years of driving and think this was one of the best purchases I've ever made, even though the car was 6 years old.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect for us

by Family guy from Shavertown, pa. on Fri Sep 21 2007

Read up on all vehicles we were considering, mostly wagons or midsize suvs (to keep gas mileage reasonable). Drove RAV4 and CRV, then just for comparison drove the highlander hybrid. Ended up buying the hybrid. It had the right combination of space, features and gas mileage for my wife who drives mostly around town. In 3 months we have about 3800 miles about 80% of which is city, and are averaging between 25 and 28 mpg. Only 1 small problem of the rear radio speakers buzzing intermittantly. We love the handling, features and gas mileage which is about 10-12 mpg better than our old 2000 GMC Jimmy. We plan on keeping this car for 8 yrs which is the warranty on the hybrid system.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

quietest, most pwrful, fuel efficient auto ever!

by familiesrgreat! from Denver, CO. on Wed Oct 17 2007

We researched extensively & have owned many diffrnt autos. This is our favorite, most impressive auto. Drivng up Rocky Mtn. passes are effortless and transmission is almost undetectable. On highways, we hit 90 mph and felt like 35 mph. It's amazing to get at least double better gas mileage than any other SUV. WOW.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good performance but hard to optimize mileage

by Bil from Chicago on Thu Oct 21 2010

Overall we've been really happy with this vehicle. For its size it accelerates nicely, quite a change from the non-hybrid version. MPG has been a bit disappointing. I'm sure that's partly because we live in a cold climate and make a lot of short trips, before the batteries really have a chance to warm up. But mileage is still better than a conventional version. From a financial point of view, though, it makes it harder to swallow the hybrid price premium.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best suv

by Sacha from Las Vegas, NV on Wed Feb 29 2012

Very smooth drive. Very quiet. It takes time to accelerate and deccelerate. But overall, very comfortable and roomy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid Car

by Telemomma from Salida, CO on Sun Sep 03 2017

I've really enjoyed owning and driving this car. It's been really reliable for me. Drives well in all kinds of weather. No issues after owning the car for a year

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable hybrid I've heard about

by Toyotafanboy from Denver, CO on Mon May 01 2017

This SUV has been great and anyone else I've met who has owned one raves about it. It's been great in the snow and has no problems with elevation or steep roads.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful family hauler with some guts!

by AstroCry from on Mon Sep 18 2017

I loved my highlander. It was economical getting 25-30 mpg, it was spacious and when you needed the power that CVT transmission really poured it on. Only thing that was disappointing was the fake leather seats that didn't hold up to the riggers of my big butt.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT MILEAGE SUV/CUV

by Dutchman from Kalamazoo, MI on Wed May 24 2017

This Hybrid with its 3.6L V6 is a pleasure to drive. The amenities of the Limited (3 row seating) are ample. Very comfortable car to drive great distances and getting mid twenties and higher MPG. The trailer package enables me to pull a boat and or utility trailers and still get good mileage. After 140K miles maintenance has been minimal and no unexpected repairs needed to be made. Being 4WD and snow tires will make this car go anywhere during the West Michigan winters. The two(2) electric drive motors give the car an unexpected torque with the V6 when accelerating, capable of keeping up with traffic even when trailering 3,500 lbs. I dis replace the Toyota OEM radio in order to have hands free and Bluetooth for my phone. The sound system with the OEM JBL speakers is second to none. Bottom line; not an in-expensive car to buy but after 10 years the overall cost is less then what was expected for an 8 passenger vehicle and the re-sale value of the car is still up there.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Economical Car I've Owned

by Economy Minded from on Sat Apr 06 2013

This is a very reliable car that gets great gas mileage. I would purchase another Toyota Highlander Hybrid.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2