2009 Highlander Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2009 Toyota Highlander Hybrid

$8,607 - $16,923  MSRP Range
2009 Toyota Highlander Hybrid

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

16 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Toyota Highlander Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

great suv

by max6133 from parlin nj on Sat Feb 05 2011

bought this 2009 toyota highlander hybrid for my wife 1 year ago..great vehicle for families..entrance to the third row seat is easy with a removable center console that can be easily stored, ample room for a third row..great on the highway..very responsive pickup on entry ramps and passing highway speeds..i average around 24 mpg mixed driving..you could get more in econo mode but the vehicle feels less responsive to throttle wich makes sense..less gas..but you have to constantly monitor the fuel consumption monitor..if you do you can get closer to 27mpg in mixed driving..power liftgate is great when juggling items..only draw back i found was winter driving...very poor in dep snow..rear wheels rarely engaged when trying to get out of deep or moderate piles of snow..once you're up and going it handles pretty well..very nice package just wished it performed better in winter living in the northeast..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good SUV

by Steve from Willis, TX on Fri Apr 28 2017

Quiet as a church mouse. Good on gas too. I have personally owned this vehicle for about 3 years and was very impressed with the product.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2009 Highlander Hybrid Limited

by bandgmcg from Gainesville, VA on Tue Jan 22 2013

Bought this car after seeing it listed Cars.com. I had sold my 2006 Highlander through Cars.com as well. Love the Highlander. The 2009 model is so much more comfortable and enjoyable to drive than my 2006 V6 Highlander Limited. The gas mileage is about 10 mpg's (40 %) better. The cabin is larger and more comfortable. A much more luxurious ride that's for sure.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Highlander Hybrid - NOT!

by Cowboy from Morehead, KY on Wed Jun 06 2012

The highlander Hybrid was everything I expected EXCEPT in-town gas mileage! I expected in-town mileage to be closer to advertised mileage of 27 MPG. I got between 14 and 18 MPG. I was told by Toyota to drive MORE AGGRESSIVELY!. Totally counter-intuitive. If you are hauling a boat - it will satisfy you. If you are seeking a good balance between road and town driving with hybrid - you are wasting $3000 - $4000 for and electric motor that won't get it done.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Should have made this purchase two years ago

by Family Guy from Midland, MI on Fri Oct 21 2011

The Toyota Highlander Hybrid is perfect for our growing family. It's easy to maneuver and zips through traffic effortlessly. Getting the best gas mileage is dependent on keeping your acceleration speed within the recommended indicator lights. The ride is smooth and quiet, and the Highlander is great for quick trips to the store or long rides to grandma's house. Our whole family loves it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car-poor tires

by Vince from Dayton, Oh on Tue May 10 2011

I've only owned the car for 3 months (bought it used) but it has been as good as advertised. It's comfortable, fairly quiet and I'm averaging almost 28 mpg. With only 30,000 miles the tires need to be replaced and it was obvious when I bought the car. For a car with that price tag I would think Toyota would equip it with better tires. The steering is a little loose but all in all I like the car and would recommend it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Toyota ain't what it used to be.

by Merle from Dallas, Tx on Wed Feb 15 2017

115,000 miles on my Highlander and dealership told me I need complete engine replacement! $4500 later, I have a new engine, new axle shaft, brakes, and they threw in a "complementary car wash". I'm done with Toyotas. I've taken perfect care of this car and it's been a pain in my backside (and my wallet).

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Beautiful, reliable car, gas mileage not so good

by coffeelady from Pacific Northwest on Sat Mar 12 2011

I love everything about this car except the gas mileage is not what they say. Had it 6 months, and find that MPG is erratic . Have started to use the ECON setting and will see?? Don't think you should have to monitor the car settings. Ride is fantastic. If you don't care about gas mileage this is a wonderful car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Not so good.

by Keith from Callisburg, Texas on Tue Feb 14 2017

The purpose of a hybrid is to be more economical, right? The mileage on this thing is dismal, if you consider that it's supposed to be great. The interior materials are subpar. Squeaks, rattles, poor fit and finish, driver's side arm rest on door has broken completely. You need a PHd to use the navigation system. The design of dash is just ugly. Exterior is just a bad. "Some" people believe that because it's a toyota it has to be great. That's a foolish assumption. Nothing about this vehicle is better in any way than my American vehicles. My GMC Yukon XL is made better, rides/drives better, has much more room, gets as good fuel economy, and looks 100x better. And I'm close to having to replace the $4500 battery in this thing. I'm thinking to environmental impact will be high when I go to dispose of this battery as well...

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Why? GM & Ford have much more to offer.

by Hag from Gainesville, TX on Sat Feb 11 2017

Of all the midsize SUV's on the market these days, I can't think of one thing that would compel a person to purchase a toyota Highlander hybrid. Bland, stoodgey styling, cheap interior materials, bad gas mileage, very unrefined ride (road noise is terrible) and goofy & complicated interior controls. This car doesn't come close to getting the EPA mileage ratings of 27 city and 25 hwy. Ford and GM offer much better vehicles, in every way. Intelligent people will stay away from anything toyota.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2009 Toyota Highlander Hybrid

Editor's note: This review was written in June 2008 about the 2008 Toyota Highlander Hybrid. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2009, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

On the surface, the Toyota Highlander Hybrid seems a fantastic idea: a hybridized version of an already relatively efficient crossover, and one of the only hybrids with an electric-only mode. Though the reality of this model is positive overall, it is an expensive alternative with only a minimal mileage advantage on the highway and an electric-only mode that — as executed — is a gimmick of little practical value. Short supply, high sale... Read More