2021 Highlander Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2021 Toyota Highlander Hybrid

$38,510 - $50,415  MSRP Range
2021 Toyota Highlander Hybrid

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

7 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2021 Toyota Highlander Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2021 Highlander Hybrid Beats the Lexus RX 450hL

by Cabo4Fun from Charleston , SC on Fri Nov 06 2020

As current Lexus owners, my wife and I really wanted another Lexus. However after reading many reviews, driving both vehicles and comparing the bottom line there was no way I was going to pay12 K+ more for an automobile that delivers less. In my opinion the 2020-2021 Highlander should serve as a good proof of concept vehicle for the 2022 Lexus RX. After just completing a 500 mile move with the interior packed to the roof with heavy boxes of household goods, this is what impressed me the most about the 2021 Highlander. 1. Interior. Real stitching on the soft touch dashboard. Comfortable heated and ventilated leather seating 12.3" touch screen display. Excellent sound system. Good amount of cargo space but not best in class as some critics have pointed out. 2. Performance/Handling. Lets' not kid anyone this is a 6,000 lb. GVW hybrid SUV, not a Toyota Supra. It gets you onto the highway safely and easily passes vehicles in the slow lane but it will never be mistaken for a Porsche Macan or BMW X7, nor should it. At 70 mph the cabin is quiet and the ride soft, very Lexus like. So far it slightly exceeds the city/highway average MPG 35.4/34.2 actual, compared to 35/34 estimated. I do not remember any vehicle I ever owned meeting, much less exceeding, the MPG estimate. However, the hybrid takes a little getting used to driving compared to my non-hybrid Lexus. 3. Styling. I will admit, the appearance of this vehicle took me some time to appreciate. I hope I do not offend anyone, but I can best describe my thoughts on the appearance with a simple analogy- Lexus RX450hL/Country Club; Toyota Highlander/Country Farm. The great thing about this look is the fact as you look at the end of the hood from the drivers seat, that is the end of the vehicle. There is no sloping forward point from the hood line making a minor front end kiss less likely. To me that flat nose says truck not SUV and it fits in quite nicely with the rest of the styling and where I live. 4. Value. It is hard to believe a vehicle that stickers for more than 50K is a value. However you need to pay to play. If you want all of the great features available in a three seat SUV, not to mention that it is a hybrid, you have to be willing to pay for it in either the Limited or Platinum trim. This time around, I believe, it is the Lexus that lacks value, not the Highlander. Hint: If you want to save 2k under the Platinum cost and you do not care about a moon roof, heads up display or a rear view camera view in in your rear view mirror, order the limited trim and add the 12.3" touchscreen with birds eye view camera, perimeter scan and curb view for $1,050.00.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by BertWI from Appletone, WI on Fri Jan 01 2021

It is fully loaded with technology and fun to drive. Very good handling and mileage. Could use a little more storage space. Would buy it again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I am a first time Toyota owner😍

by GigiStahl, CarQueen from Wayne, PA on Mon Dec 14 2020

Love everything about the Ride and drive. I look forward of getting in the driver’s seat each time😍a very comfortable ride along with fabulous handling makes a very happy driver🏁

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliability and comfort

by William from Statesville on Tue Jan 05 2021

As a person with a bad back I bought this vehicle for it's soft ride and the hybrid mileage is also a comfort. Interior layout is very good, with (2) 110 volt outlets, numerous usb, superb sound and many more features. Acceleration is good, but won't win any races. Only drawback is different noises from engine / drivetrain, but still acceptable. Noises are under acceleration. Retired so use for around town and trips

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Exceeds Expectations

by SDS from Dallas, TX on Wed Nov 04 2020

The vehicle has all I wanted in a car - room, seating, comfort, technology, and good gas mileage. I miss not having a "binder" to keep all the manuals secure in one place.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable and nicest features I’ve seen.

by Judy Padgett from Marshfield, Mo. on Sat Jan 02 2021

The comfort of the second seats is very nice. With the rear seat warmers are very nice . Great legroom . Beautiful interior and exterior!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my first hybrid!

by JDRPHRICK from Manchester, NH on Sun Dec 20 2020

Excellent comfort and great features. It’s quiet but plenty of power. Great mileage so far. Looking forward to getting to know the car even better in the months ahead.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1