Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1997 Land Cruiser

Consumer Reviews

1997 Toyota Land Cruiser

$4,232 - $18,792  MSRP Range
1997 Toyota Land Cruiser

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

8 Reviews
75% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1997 Toyota Land Cruiser?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding offroad vehicle

by Wheeler from North Carolina on Sun Jan 18 2009

The FZJ80 series Land Cruisers were the last of the solid front axle Cruisers sold in the US. With optional factory lockers, 1 ton axles and the ever reliable 1fze engine they are considered by many the most capable 4x4 Toyota ever sold in the US. 1997 being the last year this series was produced, they had the most luxurious appointments and the peak of technology, such as the electronically controlled A343F automatic transmission. The 40th anniversary models also available in 1997 came with unique paint colors, two tone leather and automatic climate control. Not all Land Cruisers came with the sought after factory equiped front and rear lockers. A quick way to tell if a vehicle is equiped with them is to check the dash to the left of the steering wheel. A factory dial type switch that says "Diff Lock" indicates it is. This switch is not to be confused with the more common "Center Diff Lock" switch usually found in the center dash area.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best suv for the money!!!!!!!!!

by skoal from Washington, DC on Sat Sep 30 2006

This is the best of the suv class...regardless of the suvs age. This suv's style is always going to be the gold standard to which others hope to be. The 97 was the best year for the landcruiser...before it turned into a mini van like suv. This thing is like a 4runner on roids...but it also is very posh.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

bullet proof suv

by mr t from San diego CALIFORNIA on Fri Feb 15 2008

If you are looking for a SUV that all you need is Gas, Tires, Brake pads and no electronics this is it. I owned many many cars from Mercedes, Audi, BMW and other but the Land Cruiser is in a league on is own...THE MOST REALIABLE CAR EVER....That why many many off road lovers always look for this incredible Model and year...because they are BULLET PROOF 300k 400k no problem.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I have ever owned!

by Outdoor Guy! from Nashville.TN on Fri Sep 11 2015

I live in TN, and flew to CA to buy my LC. It was a one owner that took care of it and I drove it home. Now 10 years later, it looks & rides great. Now I take care of it, but it takes care of me. At 278,000 miles and going, it's never any trouble. Just regular maintenance and it will last forever. My LC is in mint condition and I hope to keep it to the day I pass. The only 2 draw backs to this truck is the mpg and back seat room. The mpg. It stinks! 13/14 in city and 15/16 on highway. The best I ever got was coming out of Denver with a wind behind me at 17.5 mpg. My model is 4WD at all times. So this is why the mpg suffers! The back seat might be good for most, but with boys at 6'6 and 6'9 what can accommodate them! Great truck if you can find one well taken care of regardless of the miles. The 6 cylinder- inline engine is ironclad solid. You can't hardly tear them up! Just take care of them once you get one, they're rare here is the states, as I was told that many were shipped to the Middle East by eager buyers during the so called gas shortage many years back here in the states.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing vehicle!

by 1997 Cruiser from Palo Alto, CA on Wed Jun 07 2017

Owned my 1997 Land Cruiser for 12 years. Never felt me stranded, very reliable. The three factory installed lockers are great for driving in snow, ice, mud, etc. Repairs are expensive compared to a Corrola, but much less than a BMW or Mercedes. Not sure why people complain on a $800 Land Cruiser valve cover seal replacement but are ok to pay $4000 for the same job on a BMW at the dealers. The Land Cruiser will last for ever. Hold its value. Many have reached the 300,000 miles. I have seen a Land Cruiser with 750,000 miles, original engine and transmission. Says a lot about its quality and durability.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great and comfortable car

by only one from Maryland on Sat Jul 02 2011

excellent body and smooth engine and driving condition. The Interior looking is as good as the new one. Great deal!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

headgasket headaches

by Smarter Than Before from Left Coast on Tue Jul 24 2012

These vehicles are lemons, all of them. Cut your losses and sell it to some kid who will roll it over trying to climb a four foot tall rock.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

A great vehicle if you like 1950's technology!

by No toyotas! from Denver on Tue Sep 25 2007

Gutless and gas guzzling! Primative suspension design! Terrible handling and ride. 15 mpg and it can barely get out of its own way! Big outside and bulky. High stepin to a bland interior. There are many better and safer vehicles than this!

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 44 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1