1998 Tacoma

Consumer Reviews

1998 Toyota Tacoma

$1,798 - $10,930  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

19 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Toyota Tacoma?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great all around truck

by Yotaluver from MD on Fri Sep 17 2010

I've had this truck for about a year now and I love it. The 3.4 V6 4x4 5Spd got 23MPG when the truck was stock and still gets 17.5MPG with 5 1/2" lift and 33" M/Ts. It has all the power you could want and with the 4x4 and E Locker it will go anywhere you ask it to and it will beg for more. I will always have a Tacoma and I'll prolly stick with the 1995.5-2004 model as after that they got bigger and have more plastic on the body, thats not what I want from a Tacoma. the extra cab is great for your extra stuff and would work for people if it had to, but get double cab if you want to take people with you. A Taco might cost a little more to buy but will hold its value better than others.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good around truck

by mc2 from on Sat Apr 16 2011

this truck is extremely reliable! i have a lift and 35inch tires the smaller v6 had some truble untill i put a new computer chip in it. now it is the best truck i have ever ower the chip worked magic for fuel efficiency and horse power

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable truck I've owned

by Hayden from Houston on Mon Apr 23 2007

This truck was a great truck. In and out of mud. No matter what I had to haul carry or pull my toyota never failled me.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Well worth the money

by Toyota Fan from Wichita KS on Wed Aug 05 2009

This truck was the best for any occasion. Whether four wheel drive or on the main streets. I would recommend this truck to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck Out There

by Tacoma Owner from Michigan on Tue Jun 05 2007

Awesome truck. Will run forever and then some. New or used they are a great deal and the resale value on them is tremendous.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable Truck

by First Time Truck Owner from Chicago, IL on Mon Feb 07 2011

I purchased this truck used several years ago so I could build a deck on my house. It has been a very steady vehicle and I'd recommend one, and buy one again. The interior isn't the greatest and look a little plain, but that is a minor deal. I've enjoyed having the truck, and would definately look to get one again. I really liked the body style.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent truck

by porqpine from SLC, UT on Wed May 29 2013

I've owned my Tacoma for several years, and have loved every second of it. I went from a 4cyl Toyota pickup to the V6 and it has the extra power i was looking for. I love the keyless entry, and the auto lock when the vehicle is turned on.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Roldaddy

by Roldaddy from Wise, VA on Tue Nov 15 2011

I've never had anything for a personal vehicle besides a Toyota truck. This truck gets the job done....period. Change your oil, do the simple upkeep and it will go as long as you want it to. Doesn't get the best fuel economy, not the best interior in the world, it works.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Never had any issues

by Jpandrew1 on Sat Mar 24 2018

Great commuter ! AC is cold and works great. Runs great has always starts and never had to worried about it. Most reliable vehicle ever owned.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent, reliable 4wd vehicle.

by FrankMD, from Lakewood, Colorado on Wed Aug 23 2017

I am happy to replace my old Tacoma with this one. This one is even better with a stronger engine, much less miles, and new tires.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1998 Toyota Tacoma

The two stretch-cab Toyota Tacoma pickup trucks looked pretty much identical: jacked up, huge tires on modular wheels and the initials TRD written large on the sides of their pickup boxes.

TRD stands for Toyota Racing Development, an impressive name for an off-road package "inspired by Toyota's successful Desert Racing Program," the literature says. It provides a stiffer, more aggressive suspension, greater ground clearance and that brawny rubber, all designed for close encounters with bad roads.

Upon closer inspection, the difference between the two trucks is glaring. One has a rugged four-wheel-drive system for serious off-road work, complete with low-range gearing, that gives it the... Read More