2019 Golf Alltrack

Consumer Reviews

2019 Volkswagen Golf Alltrack

$22,310 - $35,758  MSRP Range
2019 Volkswagen Golf Alltrack

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

26 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Volkswagen Golf Alltrack?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Go anywhere high performance stylish urban chariot

by Ghutch from Minneapolis, MN on Fri Mar 29 2019

Traded in a Golf Sportwagen for the Alltrack which has 4 wheel drive and a more solid road presence. Great performance, responsive, and well designed the Alltrack has it....(wait for it)...ALL. Room for the grandchildren and gear we can go to school or vacation. Mileage slightly lower for the Alltrack but worth it for the traction in snow on poorly plowed roads. Nice interior, large roof window, comfortable seating, and logical controls. Larger wheels and more ground clearance this car is like an SUV without the bloated shape and top heavy appearance. Compare to Audi (they both use the same mechanicals) at a value price. CR rates a "buy" not sure about overall reliability but previous Golf Wagon was flawless.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car so far

by FunSun from Phoenix, AZ on Wed Apr 22 2020

My family purchased a 2019 VW Golf Alltrack leftover about a month ago from the dealership and did the current Coronavirus promotion they were offering. The car is extremely comfortable and quiet while the 1.8L Turbo has perfectly adequate power for a vehicle of this type. I will be using this vehicle mainly when the family all wants to go out or for commuting to work. The DSG is really quick, however, it took me about a week to get used to driving a DSG. I really like that this vehicle takes regular 87 gas while many other turbo cars require premium. The car has a ton of cargo space and yet fits in my single car garage like a glove. I wound up with the SE with the panoramic sunroof and so far it has been holding up well. I have driven the car about 500-1000 miles so far due to the pandemic and I have not had any issues at all with it. The sound system is also really good for a 6 speaker system. I will look forward to how this car holds up for years to come.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Hi I got the base model it’s well equipped car

by Roger from Queens NY on Sun Jun 09 2019

Car is very nice I will keep away from the sunroof because of water problems so I got the S model very happy with my new car just 2 weeks old I also got the manual transmission you have to drive the manual to appreciate the car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's only 2 1/2 weeks old, but heading for #1 VW

by Dr Photo from Lincoln, NE on Tue Apr 30 2019

The best all-around car I've owned to date, in 50 years of owing and driving cars. This one is great on-road, off-road and long-distance driving

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun Ride with a Few Annoyances

by dr dave from Allentown, PA on Sat Jan 18 2020

Everything has worked well so far. In over 40 years of driving, this is the best powertrain setup I ever owned (5 other manual transmission cars and 3 automatics, all except 2 were 4-cylinder engines like this one, but this is the first turbo, and this is my 5th AWD car). The 1.8L turbo can lug, and it is perfectly matched to the 6 speed manual - excellent choice of ratios. Ride is tight and handling is precise. Controls are convenient and well integrated. I am already crying that this model has been discontinued, leaving the US market completely devoid of anything like it. They had no competition among manual transmission AWD small wagons and they discontinued it! Now the quirks. Who in the world would make it nearly impossible to unplug something from the USB socket? What were they thinking? Does everyone except me have super-thin, super-long, super-strong fingers? The CD player is in the glove box. You either need to pull over to the side of the road or else hire a minion to ride along with you to change CDs. The driver probably can’t do it safely with the car in motion. The front doors swing so wide that it takes unbelievable care and coordination to avoid bashing an adjacent car, wall or pylon in almost every place I have ever parked the car. Seriously, if you want the door to open wide enough to allow super-large people to get into the car, can’t you at least provide some mild detente that keeps the door from swinging all the way to the widest position unless you really need to do that? These points are not major, but they really are annoyances. I’m getting decent mileage (27 mpg so far in mixed driving) and the driving experience is even better than I had with the Subaru Outbacks it replaced. (Ratios on the Subaru manual transmissions were so low that the engines spun incredibly fast - about 50% faster than the automatic transmission versions! I never quite understood that. They ran fine, but They were noisy and I expect they could have achieved better economy with better-chosen ratios.) This is the closest thing to the two 2003 Outbacks I got rid of last year and the 1996 Outback I had before those, but with a much nicer drivetrain.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very fun to drive

by scrib from wausau, wi on Tue Jun 25 2019

Opted for 2019 manual S. Peppy, hugs the road and is a pleasure to drive. Interior is comfortable and cosmetics well above average . Passenger seat reclines 100% with excellent head and leg room. Would be tight in the rear should the two up front use all of the space available. Options are more than adequate. Upgrades for SE and SEL were not must haves. Wife loves this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first new car in over 15 years

by SteveF., VW owner from Westchester County, NY on Tue Oct 08 2019

The Golf Alltrack has brought me up to date with all the latest features on my wish list. I had been looking for a hatch-back with all-wheel drive and plenty of cargo space but without the height and bulk of an SUV. This station wagon answered all my needs and then some. The handling and response makes for a fun driving experience and Volkwagon's refined and understated styling suits me. For my taste, many of today's models have too many angles on the outside and too many dizzying details in the interior. Despite all the choices out there, I know I've made the right one in my Golf Alltrack.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've owned

by Kris from Lawrence on Mon Jun 17 2019

This is the 4th VW Sportwagen I've owned, and loved all of them for their sleek styling, turbo performance, extended storage space, good gas mileage (the diesel TDI version was fabulous) and, well, all the benefits of an SUV without being one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First VW I have owned.

by John from LEAVENWORTH on Thu Jan 23 2020

Car is a safety animal. Took car on 3000 mile trip KC to Orlando. Handled rush hour traffic ATL and ORL with ease. Averaged 33 MPG. Trip home was a brute. Heavy rain (handled with auto wipers) white out snow handled with 4 motion drive. All I had to do was keep gas in it and drive! Could not see myself in Subaru. Better car for less money.., Traded in a 4 wheel drive jeep. Feel much safer with auto 4 motion, lane assist, forward collision warning, blind spot, cross traffic, pedestrian warning.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

AWD with Manual transmission

by Glenn from Alton, NH on Tue Jun 11 2019

User friendly, comfortable and fun! Complete with AWD, manual transmission and enormous moon roof. Gas mileage 32 highway so far. I plan to keep this for many year to come

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3