2015 Golf GTI

Consumer Reviews

2015 Volkswagen Golf GTI

$14,798 - $22,770  MSRP Range
2015 Volkswagen Golf GTI

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

34 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2015 Volkswagen Golf GTI?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

"Car of the Year"....Well deserved!

by Wineguy from Eldersburg, MD on Sat May 30 2015

I purchased a 2015 GTI 4 door SE with a 6 speed manual transmission about 7 months ago and have driven 8,000 miles. Ever since the first GTI came out in the 1980s, I always said I would have one some day. I read all of the car publications and decided the 2015 would be the perfect car because of the upgrades VW made from the previous models. They knocked it out of the park with this car. Favorite Features: Quiet ride in the cabin at highway speeds, Fender brand stereo is the best I have seen in a car recently, rain sensing wipers, Gas mileage (32 MPG in mixed driving.....I calculate it every time I fill up), comfortable leather heated seats with leather stitching look swank, Easy to fold down rear seats for lots of cargo room, Easy to read gauges, quality fit and finish of classy interior materials, large sunroof, smooth clutch and gearbox, incredible head-snapping acceleration, cold A/C and fun to drive. Minor improvements: Glove box is small, windshield wipers don't flip out to clean the windshield without hitting the hood of the car, and needs little larger fuel tank (maybe 15 gallons?) for extending cruising range. I hope my new 2015 GTI that was manufactured in Mexico turns out to be a reliable vehicle to the 200,000 mile mark. That is my only fear with a VW, after driving Hondas and Toyotas previously which all have made it there without mechanical issues. Overall, this is truly the car that does it ALL.....Performance, Fuel efficient, Comfortable, Good looking and utilitarian (Cargo room). I would highly recommend this car to any enthusiast, based on my limited experience behind the wheel!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Keeping the faith in VW. This car rocks!

by Finncapo from Burlington, VT on Sun Dec 13 2015

As a Passat TDI owner, I am upset at VW. I have persuaded multiple people to buy TDIs and have been a huge brand advocate. The diesel software trickery is frustrating to say the least. Buying another VW was not high on my list but the GTI is so good that I could not resist. The car continues to put a smile on my face every time I drive it. Mine has the performance pack and the brakes alone are worth the extra money. I drove the GTI for twelve hours straight one day (Daytona to DC) and was amazed at the comfort of the seats and the 32 mpg while driving fast on I-95. If you buy this car, you will not be disappointed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best GTI Ever!!! Best car!! It's perfect!!!

by enzoferrari2015 from Chattanooga, TN on Sun Jan 18 2015

Purchased the car on New Years, I have owned all previous models of golf from 1992 on. This is by far the best, options are a bit off. I purchased the SE but wanted Navigation, I wish I could have optioned it. It is fast and handles like a dream, the sport mode with changable steering, lighting, and engine sound is awesome. The lighting package is a must, if you don't get it you will regret it! I love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VW Nailed it with the Mk 7

by VeeDub Lover from Tampa, FL on Sun Dec 28 2014

This is my 3rd VW Golf Family vehicle (2008 R32, 2012 Golf R, and now 2015 GTI). So, I've had the Mk 5, 6, and 7. Without a doubt, this is the best one so far. The interior of the Mk 7 is outstanding. It feels "crafted" rather than manufactured. VW's often are lauded for their interiors, but the Mk 7 GTI interior is beautiful and functional. The seats are comfortable, materials are 2 classes above par, and there are so many useful features from the cargo area right through the cabin. I feel the Mk 6 Golf R lost something in the way of feel and handling, but the Mk 7 gets it back. Of course, it should be an unfair comparison between an R model and a GTI, but the feel, acceleration, braking, and ride quality are all better in the Mk 7 GTI than the Mk 6 Golf R.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

As Close to Perfection as it Gets

by Bluegrass GTI'r from Louisville, KY on Wed Dec 16 2015

Absolutely the best car I've ever owned. It is really hard to find a way to nick pick complaints on this car, it is that good. Every driving aspect on this car is near perfect - driving position, steering feel, smooth tight shifting 6 speed, seat comfort, on and on...only wish is that it would have about 20 more horses for even MORE spirited acceleration. Don't let the small size dissuade you from this car. It is roomy, highly comfortable, and an absolute hoot to drive. I have SO much fun with this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Power, Stability and Style

by JC from Boston, MA on Thu Apr 30 2015

I recently purchased a 2015 Golf GTI and I couldn't be happier with the car. The car is sturdy, yet nimble. It handles turns beautifully and has great power and acceleration. The styling offers the perfect amount of simplicity and sophistication. I can't wait to take a long road trip with this sweet vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2015 VW GTI SE PP 2 door 6 MT non dcc

by Kgs6263 from Puyallup on Mon Mar 06 2017

Best car for the money. Performance Handling Fun My wife has cancer and we use the car primarily as transportation to and from various medical facilities around Seattle. It is very comfortable yet still transmits feedback from the road in a very good way. If you like to drive, this is a great practical hatchback.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Winner

by golfish from Mid- Michigan on Sun Sep 06 2015

Just as all the published reviews said..."Winner!" What can be said about a car that is exactly what Car & Driver and Consumer Reports said it was..."Such fun to drive."

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Affordable Perfromance

by Andrew Antonio from on Tue Apr 25 2017

This is my 5th VW and second GTI. I have never had an issue with any of them and this GTI Autobahn is by far the best of the 5. Affordable, reliable, performance... All that would be expected from German engineering.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car I've ever owned!

by AllieHan38317 from Port Chester, NY on Thu Feb 16 2017

The best all around car I've ever had the pleasure of driving. The interior is upscale. I like the way it handles and it's so easy to drive.There isn't anything about this car that I don't like. Driving this car is a lot of fun.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4