Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2018 Golf GTI

Consumer Reviews

2018 Volkswagen Golf GTI

#5 Most Popular Wagon/Hatchback
$26,415 - $35,070  MSRP Range
2018 Volkswagen Golf GTI

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

12 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Volkswagen Golf GTI?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Driving Happiness

by Cogmarks from Marietta, GA on Sat Jul 14 2018

I really enjoy my 2018 GTI SE. It is quite an upgrade in both the drive and technology over the 2014 Wolfsburg Edition GTI that I had been driving. The new car is peppier and quieter than the old. The only downside is the poor quality Hancook tires that came on the car. I drove the car for 180 miles and had a bulge in the sidewall of one of the Hancook Ventus S1 Noble 2 Tires. This tire was recalled in several sizes for having weak sidewalls, but not in the size 225/40-R18 that came on my car. A week into owning the 2018 GTI, I decided that I would replace the Hancooks with Continental Extreme Contact DSW 06 Tires. I have had 6 Volkswagens. They all came with high quality Continental or Pirelli tires. Also, don?t expect the CarNet app to work, because it doesn?t.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Cute and Fun Car That Everyone Loves

by Elroy Haylock from FL on Thu May 17 2018

This is my first ever GTI, and boy is it living up to the hype. It's super comfortable, especially over bumps and rough roads. It handles those potholes like a luxury car would. Overall, it's got very low NVH. It's just a little shy of a luxury car, but way less in price. It's quick and fast. The clutch is smooth...so smooth and easy, you can teach anyone to drive stick on it. It's got great technology inside and is so cheap (especially if you get the manual transmission). Dollar for dollar, it's the best bang for the buck you can get. That's just an overall Volkswagen thing though. Overall, I'm so glad I got this GTI.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A total giggle!

by PCB_Designer from Saint Johns on Sat Feb 24 2018

It seems well made and well thought out. comfort is very good and it is a blast to drive. The adjustable comfort and performance levels add greatly to the value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned

by theomega96 from Tulsa, Ok on Tue Jun 19 2018

You get it all with this car, the practicality of a daily driver with enough room for the wife and kids, you get cargo space and you get extreme comfort with all the extras for a great price. Car is great on gas and above all it is a little speed demon with a super reliable turbo 2.0 4 cylinder.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I'm loving this German engineering

by Chickenminnie from Schenectady on Mon Oct 08 2018

What a great little car! I have owned it for two months and continue to be surprised by the thoughtful features, power and handling. My only regret is that I purchased it from the worst dealership on the planet, Fuccillo VW of Schenectady.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wow, how things have changed!!

by christophe from Newberg, OR on Mon Nov 12 2018

All, I can say is whooohoooo!! Many of you whom have been with VW for many years like I have probably have the same response to this latest GTI. It has been sometime since I have driven a GTI and know those of you personally whom have begged VW to get back to it roots on this car. After years of porky, non-inspiring, lack luster performance, styling that was less than desired, the GTI is finally back. If you have been, like me, holding out for years, waiting for VW to finally get the GTI right, well wait no more, drive down to your dealer and snatch one of these up. You won't be disappointed!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty, Great Handling, Good Looking Car

by DougO from Folsom, CA on Tue Jan 09 2018

Volkswagen GTIs are the ultimate hot hatch. Great handling sporty little car. You get a lot of car for your money with a GTI. Even though the GTI is a performance-oriented car it is also really economical and it makes very good use of the space that it has. I'm not really a fan of hatchback body styles, but the GTI is such a great little car I had to look at it and it is growing on me now.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You get more than one vehicle when you buy a GTI.

by X-Factor Athletic Performance from Richmond, VA on Sat May 26 2018

Are you looking for a car that does just about everything well? I was also looking for that recently and my list of requirements for a car was relatively simple. I wanted something somewhat economical, comfortable, and most importantly, fun to drive. In this day and age, you'd think that simple combination would be simple to come by ... but it's not quite as simple as you'd expect. A large problem is that most sports cars are useless as a daily driver and most cars you would have as a daily driver aren't a lot of fun to drive. More often than not, anything exciting comes with a hefty long-term cost as well while on the other hand anything economical isn't something you'd want to be behind the wheel of anyway. There are challenges in producing an affordable car that checks all of the boxes and then pricing that car appropriately so that people can actually buy one. VW has risen to the challenge (once again) with the GTI and I was lucky enough to buy one at the perfect time. I purchased a 2018 GTI SE and it was the right choice. The 2.0L Turbo engine is fantastic, the DSG gearbox is astonishing, and the handling is some of the best I've ever experienced. It's got all the horsepower and torque you could ever want and puts it on the road in the best ways possible. On the inside, you should definitely invest in the leather seating option because it ties the styling together with a very fine, soft leather and a wonderful red stitching that makes the whole thing pop. The rest of the interior is all very efficient and everything is where you think it should be. There's no extra frills crowding the dash and the simplicity is appreciated yet you never feel as though you've lost anything. In terms of space, the back seats leave plenty of room but in giving comfort to passengers, the GTI has lost some cargo space in the back compared to other vehicles in its class. Outside of the car, the styling cues for the 2018 facelift are subtle but well executed and you'll definitely want the new 18" wheels. There are a few drawbacks that I've found. The seats may not be for everyone and there have been some sacrifices made to ride comfort in favor of performance. Reverse gear is also cumbersome and weak. Other than that, and considering the price (long term costs as well) it's perfect. When you buy a GTI, you get more than one car. In sport mode you get a performance driven sports car that's just as fun as high end luxury brands, in normal mode you get a perfectly good daily driver that will soften your ride and make your commute pleasant, and in eco mode you can have a fuel efficient car nearly as good as any economy car out there. When you buy a GTI, you'll feel as though you've bought up and sacrificed nothing. If you are a car enthusiast who wants something you can fall in love with and also live with, this is the perfect car for you.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car in its class

by Jumpy from Dallas, TX on Sun Mar 04 2018

I have a 2018 GTI Autobahn DSG in Dark Iron Blue. It's a fantastic car in all aspects, with virtually no weaknesses. It strikes an excellent balance of performance, efficiency, luxury, and utility. I used to think Golfs looked bland, but now I appreciate the unpretentious, classic styling. The GTI is the most stylish Golf model with its red accents, both interior and exterior, and the Mk7.5 update takes the style to another level. I especially like the new headlights with double red stripes and larger tailpipes. Dark Iron Blue is a new exterior color for 2018, and it's exclusive to the GTI. It looks different under different lighting conditions - at night it appears metallic gray, but in direct sunlight a hint of blue emerges. I do recommend the Autobahn trim for anyone who wants a more luxurious ride with more tech and safety features. Main reasons I chose Autobahn over SE: dynamic chassis control, adaptive cruise control, dual-zone automatic climate control, 12-way driver seat, frameless auto-dimming rearview mirror, and premium audio system. It also gives you a few other niceties like high beam control and park assist. Basically, the 2018 Autobahn comes fully loaded with all possible options included as standard, including the features formerly called "performance, lighting, and driver assist packages." Reasons to choose SE over S (if Autobahn is out of the question): limited slip differential, performance brakes, full LED lighting, adaptive front lighting, sunroof, keyless entry and ignition, larger 8" touchscreen, blindspot monitor, autonomous emergency braking, and optional leather seating. The new Dallas wheels are controversial, but I prefer them over the old Austin wheels - they resemble razor blades and create a cool visual effect in motion. The S trim is really barebones and doesn't include many of the updates that distinguish 2018 from 2015-17 models. It's hardly a Mk7.5 at all! Might as well get a discounted Mk7 if you're looking to go that route. The interior is best in class. It's like a luxury sedan inside a hot hatch. Plenty of space for 4 passengers, and lots of space in the hatch. The most common description for a GTI is always "fun to drive." This is mainly because it has great low-RPM torque, responsive throttle, strong braking, and the handling is arguably best in class. It's a light and compact car, easily maneuverable, and the LSD makes it incredibly balanced in corners. The DSG transmission is versatile. You have 3 different ways to use it. In "D" (normal drive), it rapidly shifts up to 6th gear, reducing RPM as much as possible for a smooth driving experience. In "S" (sport drive), it holds the revs much longer on each gear, suitable for a more aggressive driving style. In "Tiptronic" (manual mode), you control the shifting either with paddles or the shifter. Tilting the shifter to the side will ensure that it stays in manual mode even when you stop moving, but it still downshifts for you when braking and upshifts if you reach redline. The GTI is considered an enthusiast car, but it appeals to a wide range of drivers for different reasons. The main people it wouldn't appeal to are those who need a larger vehicle, those who prefer more exotic styling, and those who want RWD or AWD (in which case, consider the Golf R).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by Fer from Otsego, MN on Sun May 27 2018

This car is one of the best cars I?ve ever owned! Very realiable, fun and safe car. The exterior look is elegant yet sporty, the interior is also very elegant.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2