2018 Golf GTI

Consumer Reviews

2018 Volkswagen Golf GTI

$20,535 - $28,599  MSRP Range
2018 Volkswagen Golf GTI

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

26 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Volkswagen Golf GTI?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Driving Happiness

by Cogmarks from Marietta, GA on Sat Jul 14 2018

I really enjoy my 2018 GTI SE. It is quite an upgrade in both the drive and technology over the 2014 Wolfsburg Edition GTI that I had been driving. The new car is peppier and quieter than the old. The only downside is the poor quality Hancook tires that came on the car. I drove the car for 180 miles and had a bulge in the sidewall of one of the Hancook Ventus S1 Noble 2 Tires. This tire was recalled in several sizes for having weak sidewalls, but not in the size 225/40-R18 that came on my car. A week into owning the 2018 GTI, I decided that I would replace the Hancooks with Continental Extreme Contact DSW 06 Tires. I have had 6 Volkswagens. They all came with high quality Continental or Pirelli tires. Also, don’t expect the CarNet app to work, because it doesn’t.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Cute and Fun Car That Everyone Loves

by Elroy Haylock from FL on Thu May 17 2018

This is my first ever GTI, and boy is it living up to the hype. It's super comfortable, especially over bumps and rough roads. It handles those potholes like a luxury car would. Overall, it's got very low NVH. It's just a little shy of a luxury car, but way less in price. It's quick and fast. The clutch is smooth...so smooth and easy, you can teach anyone to drive stick on it. It's got great technology inside and is so cheap (especially if you get the manual transmission). Dollar for dollar, it's the best bang for the buck you can get. That's just an overall Volkswagen thing though. Overall, I'm so glad I got this GTI.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GTI - The True Jack of All Trades

by HBird from Dallas, TX on Fri Nov 23 2018

To sum it up in a word, excellent. I'm very familiar with the VW brand (this is now my 4th VAG vehicle and 3rd MQB vehicle) and am impressed. Having owned a Mk7 Golf R and MQB Audi S3 I thought I'd miss the power, but it's actually a non issue. When I was thinking about replacing my S3, all of my options circled back to the GTI. It's fun to drive, stylish both inside and out, and the quality is better than its competitors (looking you Subaru with your cheap interiors). Not to mention it's tech options, usability, and is surprisingly fuel efficient when you're not full throttle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A total giggle!

by PCB_Designer from Saint Johns on Sat Feb 24 2018

It seems well made and well thought out. comfort is very good and it is a blast to drive. The adjustable comfort and performance levels add greatly to the value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

by DocMom from Pasadena, California on Thu Dec 20 2018

I was pleasantly surprised with this car having most of the gadgets, luxury, & comfort that I had on my BMW cars (6) over the last 20 years. This car is the epitome of optimal value for the price; VW truly delivers on a promise. Initially, I had reservations about the switch but at this point, No regrets! German perfection for less $$$, that is the ultimate drive. Thank you

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned

by theomega96 from Tulsa, Ok on Tue Jun 19 2018

You get it all with this car, the practicality of a daily driver with enough room for the wife and kids, you get cargo space and you get extreme comfort with all the extras for a great price. Car is great on gas and above all it is a little speed demon with a super reliable turbo 2.0 4 cylinder.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Tomguy88 from Quincy on Mon Mar 04 2019

Great car, drives and performs well, very fun to drive and also a good every day driver. Small things, wish the USB port was more easily accessible, hard to plug in your phone if you have big hands.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun car

by George F from NJ on Sun Dec 09 2018

I have owned 5 cars the past 12 years, this car is the most fun to drive and has the most stylish and practical interior, great usable horse power and awesome handling.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Truly the King of Hot Hatches

by Kris Mac from Quincy, MA on Wed Feb 20 2019

The GTI has been around for 40 yrs and it still is a leader in the pack. The model has a mature take on the racer hatch category, refined interior with touches of sporty. The exhaust sound is awesome, as is the torque and performance. Nice handling, great pick-up, and comfortable interior. The infotainment system loads quicker than many others while offering some cool features.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Satisfies on every front

by NewGTIconvert from West Jefferson C on Tue Oct 30 2018

I’m learning why the GTI has such a devoted following. The car exceeds my expectations all around’performance and handling are stellar, the interior is well designed and comfortable, and there are unexpected little touches and features everywhere. Body structure is vaultlike. And somehow, overall fuel economy somehow exceeds the EPA highway rating so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3