Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2007 GTI

Consumer Reviews

2007 Volkswagen GTI

$3,642 - $10,474  MSRP Range
2007 Volkswagen GTI

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

38 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2007 Volkswagen GTI?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 38 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great

by HotHatch from Geneva, IL on Tue Oct 21 2008

Best car I have ever owned. For the price you will not find a more luxurious ride that can take you to 60 in 6.5 seconds, while the seat heaters take care of your bottom and the 10 speakers entertain you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

V. Dubb, GTI is definitely "in das haus!"

by Big J from Denver, Colorado on Mon Apr 23 2007

My wife and I love our new Black Magic GTI "fun jet"! It is loaded with everything (package 2) , DSG transmission, 18" wheels, sun roof, etc. I love the blue and red dash lights at night. Seats are very comfortable. This car is so much fun to drive if you are a spirited driver. I am over 40 yrs old and over 6'5" tall so I got the 2-door model for easier access. I have ample leg room and head room. The wheels and suspension keep the car very tight in cornering but might be a little stiff for soft luxury riders on uneven pavement. The 200 HP turbo responds very well with very little lag from a standstill and extremely well from there. This motor performs very well in our high altitude air. Paddle shift in the passing lane and enjoy the launch! The transmission glides into gear with very smooth crisp shifts. Exhaust sound is just right. It's quite a techy car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This Car is a Blast to Drive

by GTI Enthusiast from Los Angeles, CA on Wed Jan 03 2007

I saw the new GTI at the LA Auto Show and was really impressed. After test driving several cars at various dealerships I bought a 5-Door 2007 GTI loaded with every available option. This car is so much fun to drive that I hardly drive my BMW 530i anymore. The interior is great and has a level of quality pretty close to my BMW. My only issue is that you can't get power seats, you have to settle for the manual adjustments which are actually pretty easy to use and have a lot of adjustability. The leather seats are first rate with tons of side bolster support. These seats hold you firmly in place as you fly around curves. The audio system is pretty decent, it's only lacking a little in low-end punch. The NAV system is extremely easy to use and very intuitive, I never looked at the manual. I was able to easily figure out all the features. The only annoying thing about the NAV system is the legal discalimer on the screen that you have to accept every time you start the car. The 2.0L turbo FSI engine with DSG is an awesome combination. The low-end grunt of this engine is pretty astounding, once the tach hits two grand the motor pulls like a freight train. The car is still in the break-in period so I haven't gone above 4000 RPM, but even up to to level the car is fast. Scary fast if you're not careful. The paddle shifters are really cool and it is amazing how fast and imperceptibly the shifts are executed by the DSG. Handling is excellent but the ride is on the stiff side. Make sure the tires are properly inflated, when I brought the car home from the dealer a check of the tire pressure revealed they were all 10 PSI over the recommended max value. Once I got them to the right value the ride was acceptable. My final comment is this car has a level of features and technology only available on cars costing thousands more. It is a great value for the money and will leave you smiling every time you drive this hot hatch.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Streetbob from NH on Thu Aug 14 2008

This is my 2nd GTI and have had no problems so far. It handles very well and is fun to drive. Fuel mileage is great and the turbo adds to the fun factor.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best all-around performer in VW lineup

by Lucky from South Jersey on Fri Apr 27 2007

Great high speed handling and quick , strong,refined 2.0 performance..flexible DSG Trans. Race the thing or just relax. 23,000 miles with no probs but lots of compliments.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun car I have ever driven

by Motorcycle Person from Boston MA on Wed Sep 26 2007

I am traditionally a motorcycle guy who only owned a car for the winter months, but I must say that this GTI is the best car I have ever owned. It is fuel efficient, roomy (I am a large person), practical and powerful. If you are in the market for a new hatchback you must check this one out. I find myself taking the long way home to keep driving, something that I frequently do on a bike, but never did in a car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A "Pocket Rocket" with Class and Attitude

by Love to Drive with a Need for Speed from Up-State New York on Tue Aug 14 2007

I have owned sports cars for more than 40 years and the new GTI is the best yet, The performance and handling are balance perfectly. It is a true pleasure to drive this vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So fun to drive... Is that a burnt out light?

by New Grad from Calgary, AB on Tue Nov 28 2006

This car is very fun to drive. I love the fact that there is power all over the RPM range, it just takes off whatever gear you're in. It makes going through tedious traffic fun. It looks great too, inside and out. I've recieved a lot of compliments on the way the car looks and rides. It is incredibly smooth. There are some issues though that a new buyer should be aware of. If you opt for the ipod adapter, the display will only show "Track 1, Track 2... ". It will also show your playlists as CD1 CD2... It gets incredibly tedious if you have more than 5 playlists and hundreds of songs. Searching for songs is very hard too, because the counter only goes up to 99, so you have to keep track of each hundred songs in order to get to the one you want. If you live in colder weather, the optional 18" wheels are not a good investment because you will have to opt for another set of winter tires. The 17" all seasons are a much better bet and much cheaper too. In the GTi, when a light is on, that means that something is turned off. Very counter-intuative. Yet not all lights that turn on mean that they are off, it actually means that it is on. I received my GTi with a scratch on the radio and dash and a scratch on the door. There was also left over glue on the ceiling where the sunroof is. Shows poor workmanship. There is this very irritating buzzing sound inside the cabin of the car which comes and goes. But it happens rarely. Bass on the radio seems to jump to the max and distort anything I am listening to, this happens at random intervals at random lengths of time. Finally, one LED light in the center console does not turn on, it never has. All the problems above (with the exception of the scratches and light) were not fixed by the dealership because I need to prove that it is happening. So I have a camera in my car waiting to record these problems. Great customer service. The LED light has no part number and hence it's been 1 month since I've had my car and still no light. Owning this car is a love/hate relationship. I now have to say that I didn't buy a VW for the reliability, I bought it because it is a riot to drive. Therefore I won't own it for more than 2 years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect car for every day...

by Automotive Enginerd from Eleanor, WV on Sat Apr 14 2007

Pros: Amazing interior, solid feel, great room for passengers, peppy direct injection 2.0L, smooth 6MT, performance when you want it, great fuel economy when you want it, plaid seats. Cons: Stereo could be better, Euro springs should have been fitted standard, climate control and heated seats bundled w/ leather interior. This car is simply an amazing daily driver. The car has a split personality. The 2.0L pulls from way down at 1800 rpm added to the tall 6th gear means that you get excellent gas mileage. Twisty roads beg you to drop a gear and mash on the accelorator. I regularly see 30mpg + in mixed driving but the car still pulls like a freight train for highway passes and interstate onramps. The standard interior w/ the plaid seats is the most attractive interior you can buy for under $30k. The seats themselves hug the driver and live up to the Recaro seats found in the MKII GTI/GLI. All the interior materials are top notch. The small, flat bottom steering wheels has amazing feel w/ a quick ratio. The extra small features (Multi-function display, for example) really separate the GTI as value/$ from competitors such as the Subaru WRX. In the end, it was the little extras that turned this Subaru diehard to the dark side. The 18" BBS made wheels ride great and the stock all-season rubber (if equipped instead of summer rubber) are very high quality. The bright red disk brakes feel and look great. They react perfectly to driver input. The factory aero kit really makes the car stand out without being obnoxious. The car gives up a little performance to some of the competition (WRX, MS3), but the great interior design, practical hatchback, and unparalleled economy make it a great choice for those who want a true jack of all trades. If all out performance is your requirement, I'd look elsewhere. If you want a car that is fun to drive through the twisties or on a 6 hr roadtrip, the GTI will not let you down. You get entry luxury car amenities and hot hatch performance for a great price. *note: reliability was set at 3 stars because I only have 2800 miles. No issues to date.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Vehicle I've ever owned

by Duchess from Los Angeles, CA on Thu Feb 06 2014

This car is so great gas, its a very cute car, and I never any issues engine wise, not to mention this car will last forever. My friends and I love my GTI, it is a fun car but its also a great everyday car as well

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4