2017 Passat

Consumer Reviews

2017 Volkswagen Passat

$10,839 - $18,491  MSRP Range
2017 Volkswagen Passat

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

169 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Volkswagen Passat?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

61 - 70 of 169 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The best one the I've owned

by Maong from Maryland on Tue Sep 19 2017

I love this car it's fun to drive, roomy, comfortable and smooth. The exterior design are looked good especially the 19 inch wheels. The interior designed are stunning and the Apple car play is easy to use.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

New HAPPY Passat Owner!

by Finney56 from Lewisville, Texas on Fri Mar 30 2018

I recently upgraded from a 2015 VW Jetta to a 2017 VW Passat and I could not be happier! The Passat is a larger vehicle which is what I was looking for as a big guy. There's plenty of leg room and it's more fuel efficient. Highly recommend!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First car I bought myself and I love it

by Beans from Jacksonville, FL on Sun Mar 25 2018

It was the first car I ever bought with my own money and it has really been a bang for my buck great gas mileage very reliable

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love our Passat

by Lynner from Pitman. NJ on Sun May 21 2017

This is our 2nd Passat. We love it. It is very roomey inside. Handles beautifully. Lots of car for the price. We love our VW dealership of Salem County. NJ. They make the experience wonderful.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 Passat R Line great family vehicle

by csc571 from Telford, PA on Thu Jul 06 2017

More leg room than your big SUV! An absolue ridiculous amount of room in the car, front seats, back seats, and trunk. I don't know how they did it. Love the engine change from our previous 2014 Passat, more power with no hesitation. Also love the R Line style, getting lots of compliments and the Apple Car Play is seamless and really easy to use.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by Rick from HHI, SC on Sun May 21 2017

Had a 2013 Passat and traded it in for a 2017. The new one drives very similar to the old one which is great. Very roomy in the front and back and plenty of truck space. Very happy with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my R-line Passat

by Cuban slava59 from Burtonsville on Sat Apr 08 2017

This vehicle is nicely equip for the cost, the driving experience is unique. Passat is my third VW in the last 12 years. I'm a VW fan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Passat review

by Ruben from Alabama on Wed Jul 19 2017

OK, you asked. This is not an exciting car to drive at all, I realized that during the Test drive, but, needed a new car and the Dealer I purchased from has always treated me well. It is a comfortable car, no problem there. Why does it have a "Sport Mode"? beats me.... Handles like any other mid size car. Performance is only Mediocre at best. interior space is far above any other car in its class,that is why I purchased this car. Good value, but don't expect it to be much more than a Grocery Getter. So, Good Value, Great MPG, Great comfort.... but.....boring to drive

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Proud Passat Leasees

by KramersluvthierVDubs from Neptune, NJ on Mon Jun 05 2017

The redesigned Passat is absolutely beautiful the Rline options are awesome and give the car a sporty look.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love love love my new car!

by Casper from Oak Grove, MO on Tue Jun 27 2017

I feel like I am gliding on a cloud! Smooth ride, handles like a dream. Roomy & luxurious. Have owned the car for 2 months, taken 2 long road trips. Gas mileage has been great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Volkswagen Passat

The verdict:


Multimedia system updates, a slew of new advanced safety features and lower fuel costs make the refreshed 2016 Volkswagen Passat much more attractive, even if its styling changes go largely unnoticed.

Versus the competition:


The Passat remains one of the roomiest and best-driving mid/full-size sedans. Updates where they were most needed keep the 2016 competitive, though its mileage is beginning to trail even though it went up this year.

Editor’s note: This review was written in January 2016 about the 2016 Passat, but little of substance has changed for this year. To see what’s new for 2017 click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years. To read the full review of the 2016 Passat, click here.

When it was introduced, the current-generation Volkswagen Passat sedan won Cars.com’s top award, the Best of 2012. The midsize-priced, full-size sedan aged well, and the 2015 took third place against nine competitors — most of which had been redesigned more recently — in our $27,000 Midsize Sedan Challenge. For 2016, Volkswagen’s product planners left well enough alone and improved only what... Read More