2017 Passat

Consumer Reviews

2017 Volkswagen Passat

$10,813 - $18,429  MSRP Range
2017 Volkswagen Passat

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

169 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Volkswagen Passat?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

71 - 80 of 169 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

feels like a higher-end German car

by feelgud from Tallahassee, Florida on Thu Jun 14 2018

I was looking for a Sonata-Accord-Camry kind of car and tried them before looking at the Passat. It feels more solid than the others and seems quieter as well. The turbo inline 4 has surprising power and in more than 800 miles of mostly in town driving, it's averaging more than 27 mpg. I appreciate the Android-Auto feature and use it as my primary navigation system. I recommend that anyone looking for this class of car should drive all of the others before driving a Passat.... you might be surprised.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car for the money I've owned

by Retired from Cummings ga on Wed Aug 16 2017

I was very impressed with the quality of the car and my sales woman was very helpful and friendly and made it and enjoyable experience Silvia Egan I would recommend her and dealership

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Jason from Fairmont,wv on Thu Mar 23 2017

Exceptional car for the money. I wish vw was able to make diesels still but the 1.8 turbo 4 gas motor has enough power to do everything i need. Interior is spacious and well designed. Exterior is sporty but elegant. I have had a few people tell me they thought it was a mercedes benz when they first saw it. The led lighting package is phenomenal.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Passat Rocks

by Fastball John from Phoenix, AZ on Fri Jan 26 2018

This is a great vehicle for the price point. Gets great gas mileage along with superior style points and power. You feel the torque from the front end it just gets up and goes well.. You can drive forever on a tank of gas...Looks great very stylish very user friendly...Great buy I recommend this car for anyone...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Practical but still fun.

by CDF1 from Columbus, OH on Tue Oct 17 2017

The car checked all the boxes I needed. It has a large trunk and still has the room to sit 2 car seats with room to spare. It may not be a speed demon, it still has enough passing power if needed and is actually quite fun to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

SE with Tech

by kurttg from on Mon Sep 04 2017

This is a great looking car that's really comfortable to drive. The features you get are great for your money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love My Passat

by Pete Pett from Alpha, NJ on Mon Apr 03 2017

Concluded with the VW buy-back of my 2014 Diesel Passat Tuesday 3/28/17. Came in on Thursday, spent only a few hours and completed a lease program. Drove off with a 2017 Pure White Gas VW Passat. Everyone could not have been nicer (that's the main reason I chose to come back) Kudos to Della, Tina, and Tyler. But a special thank you is reserved for Dan Berry, a true non-pressure salesman.(not sure if you knew he also tends bar part-time?) He was courteous, well mannered, kind and above all Professional. To me, he inadvertently served as a link to my first experience at Ciocca with then salesman Trevor Kirschner back on NY Eve 2013. Good job in staffing for4 Ciocca. My only disappointment was that I couldn't have lunch with Mr. Ciocca !!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a nice roomy car with combined 28-32 mpg 87 octane

by Don't pass on The Passat from Mystic, CT on Mon Oct 16 2017

Very nice vehicle to try and see if you might like. Very roomy both front and rear seats with a huge trunk. You really don't need an uneconomical large engine; the 1.8 liter responds nicely ...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice car but miss the torque of my diesel

by PaulNC from Wilmington NC on Sat Mar 04 2017

Traded in my diesel Passat and stepped up to the SEL Passat. The car is much quieter and the ride is smoother. All the safety features are nice, but insurance companies don't give you discounts. The 1.8 turbo is nice but I would prefer a little more torque like the diesel.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Passat: roomy, great performance and comfortable.

by COWTOWNKJ from Calgary, AB on Mon Sep 17 2018

The 2017 VW Passat 1.8 Turbo comfortline is a great all around car. The car is extremely roomy and very comfortable. My two kids love the back seat and report that they have plenty of room. The performance of my passat is excellent. No reliability concerns at this point.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Volkswagen Passat

The verdict:


Multimedia system updates, a slew of new advanced safety features and lower fuel costs make the refreshed 2016 Volkswagen Passat much more attractive, even if its styling changes go largely unnoticed.

Versus the competition:


The Passat remains one of the roomiest and best-driving mid/full-size sedans. Updates where they were most needed keep the 2016 competitive, though its mileage is beginning to trail even though it went up this year.

Editor’s note: This review was written in January 2016 about the 2016 Passat, but little of substance has changed for this year. To see what’s new for 2017 click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years. To read the full review of the 2016 Passat, click here.

When it was introduced, the current-generation Volkswagen Passat sedan won Cars.com’s top award, the Best of 2012. The midsize-priced, full-size sedan aged well, and the 2015 took third place against nine competitors — most of which had been redesigned more recently — in our $27,000 Midsize Sedan Challenge. For 2016, Volkswagen’s product planners left well enough alone and improved only what... Read More