2016 Tiguan

Consumer Reviews

2016 Volkswagen Tiguan

$13,281 - $22,437  MSRP Range
2016 Volkswagen Tiguan

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

28 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2016 Volkswagen Tiguan?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A pleasant surprise in a crowded small SUV field

by Brian from Rochester, NY on Sun Dec 27 2015

I traded in a several year old Subaru Outback and this is a sleeper vehicle. I purchased the Tiguan SE 4motion earlier this month, filled with nice options. To date, very pleased. Size is perfect for urban driving. Drives with great reflexes, nice chassis, responsive turbo engine/transmission. Interior nicely done and is Audi-esque. Much better deal than with new Subaru (VW is hungry for sales right now). Gas mileage not quite up to that of competitors, but, with current gas prices, not an issue. I test drove Honda CRV, Toyota RAV4, Subaru Forester, and liked this the best.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

46 out of 46 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car for the money

by Little red from Ca. on Mon Sep 05 2016

I'm a small person. This suv fits me perfectaly . I really like all the things that comes on it. Great color and interior. Would buy another one if I could. Car holds the road, gets great gas mileage and very comfortable to drive

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my new VW

by Pebbs96 from on Sun Oct 23 2016

Purchased a 2016 Tiguan, R line....Excellent! It's compact, sporty, stylish, and handles very well. The turbo is great, and being a smaller SUV, it's both easy and a fun drive. No regrets here! 2nd car I've found and purchased on cars.com.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Pebbles01978 from on Mon Apr 24 2017

Nice style, solid interior and excellent pickup. Also handles well around curves. Highway driving is nice, handles well and is quiet. I have the R-line model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

by Pebbs78 from Chicago on Fri Jun 09 2017

I really like this model for an SUV. I am not an SUV 'person' as I consider myself more of a performance enthusiast, but the Tiguan combines both into 1. It turns the corners like a go cart, and has quick pick up. Also, the Apple Carplay is AMAZING!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid change

by EdVR from Northwest territories on Wed Dec 20 2017

I feel safe. I love the useful and neat design of the car. No fussing around, it is simple and yet complete. I like the flexibility offered for the different type of driving that I need to do. My first drive was through a snow storm and I was quite impressed with how safe the drive was despite the terrible conditions. Great addition to the family! Only wish is for an ecoboost or something to reduce gas consumption (although it is not too bad).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Happy VW owner

by cbtiguanowner from Port Coquitlam, B.C. Canada on Thu Feb 01 2018

My wife and I are very happy with the vehicle. It has lots of power, ride is smooth and comfortable, and the visibility is excellent

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Condition Car

by DianeD from Basking Ridge on Thu Sep 14 2017

Great drive experience, nice and reasonable sensitive gas and break. Very well kept car, looks like a beautiful cherry red brand new car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Very unreliable

by P Jones from Cape Town on Sat Jul 28 2018

I really like it but very very unreliable it has left me starting on a very busy intersection very unsafe and VW SA can?t get it sorted I have had it for a year and has been in for at least three months and still not sorted. I am waiting two weeks now for a answer and still with out a vehicle I am not satisfied with the fact that they just ceep charge parts and only lost two days

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Going from Big to Smaller Car

by lduen from bothell,wa on Sat Aug 19 2017

I went from a SUV to a smaller car . I like how it has the visibility I was looking for. Easy for me to park.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3