NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Tiguan

Consumer Reviews

2017 Volkswagen Tiguan

$12,703 - $21,275  MSRP Range
2017 Volkswagen Tiguan

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

82 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Volkswagen Tiguan?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 82 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Quality Smaller Vehicle

by B&K from Madison, OH on Tue Nov 14 2017

We have an F150, perfect for those times when a pick-up is a must have. For day to day use, weekend excursions, etc. the Tiguan fits the bill! Fun, sporty, plently of room for dogs, packages etc. Well made. Love the sun roof, heated seats, leg room.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great performance and value

by JamesM from Canmore, Alberta on Fri Oct 27 2017

Excellent design, assembly and ergonomics. We purchased the 2017 Mk 1 2.0 litre TSI Wolfsburg Tiguan to replace our 2011 TDI Golf which was affected by the diesel emissions buyback. The Tiguan exceeds our expectations in performance, handling and comfort. The fuel consumption cannot match the TDI but is actually quite good for a TSI turbo, yielding much better overall numbers than stated on the NRCan data. The car is so much fun to drive!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fun to drive

by MarianD from Glastonbury, CT on Sat Dec 30 2017

A great car and fun to drive. This car handles extremely well in the snow. Just drove it to Maine and got 27 miles per gallon. Love this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car.....I Love it....

by Natchez from Monroeville, AL on Fri May 19 2017

First drove a Tiguan as a rental car for 2.5 months... when we decided to trade my car in ..... my husband ask what kind of car did I want, I immediately said Tiguan... found a great deal on one.... bought it and am very happy with it... it is a fun car to drive..very good looking .....major comfortable.... just love that turbo too. When anyone ask about my Tiguan. I immediately tell them it has a turbo!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Stylish and practical

by Craig from Toledo, Ohio on Mon Jul 09 2018

Love everything about the Tiguan! The car handles wonderfully, it’s very spacious, and it’s a very nice looking too! I would recommend this car to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car ever!

by Mary M from Turnersville, NJ on Sat Mar 18 2017

Tiguan is unbelievable!! Love it! Can't wait to take a long trip in it! Highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great vehicle!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Tiguan 2017 - Great Purchase!

by PranP from 60004 on Mon Jul 31 2017

Purchased the car and am very satisfied with it. All round good German build! I would buy another VW any day again!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my Tiguan

by dawnhudson from vancouver BC on Wed Jun 14 2017

it is like owning a high priced luxury vehicle for a very affordable price. I love the way it drives and how much it can do, my first vehicle was a VW and I am always impressed with the outstanding customer service I receive with my vehicle no matter where I take it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I have ever owned

by Tiguan17 from Grande Prairie, Alberta on Sun Nov 19 2017

The Tiguan Highline has met all my needs and then some. With its navigation system, Apple Car Play, roadside assistance and stunning panoramic sun roof, I’m set for all my journeys.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most beautiful/reliable car that I have ever owned

by Chicago Girl from Chicago, IL on Thu Oct 19 2017

This car is honestly perfect for anyone! It is LESS THAN A YEAR OLD! Has less than 10,000 miles on it, and it still looks brand new on the inside and outside. There is a lot of leg room in the front/back, and the trunk has a lot of room for storage as well!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2017 Volkswagen Tiguan

The verdict:


Volkswagen has an uphill battle to win back buyers in the wake of its messy diesel-emissions scandal, and the Tiguan is dead weight in that battle: It's cramped, inefficient and irrelevant in a class of winners.

Versus the competition:


The Tiguan's peppy engine and pleasant ride are strengths, but many other compact SUVs offer those things plus better gas mileage, higher crash test scores and more space — for less money.

It competes in a crowded class that includes sales leaders like the Honda CR-V, Ford Escape and Toyota RAV4. Compare all four here.

For 2017, the Volkswagen Tiguan’s base S model gains Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity, which mirror select smartphone apps on the dashboard touchscreen. Compare 2016 and 2017 models here. A new Tiguan is coming soon, though VW has released few details.

Exterior & Styling

If you’ve seen the 2012 Tiguan, you’ve seen the 2017 Tiguan. Aside from a minor face-lift in 2012, it hasn’t seen an update since it debuted for the previous generations 2009 model year. Surprisingly, it doesn’t look dated; it wears a version of Volkswagen’s streamlined... Read More