2005 Touareg

Consumer Reviews

2005 Volkswagen Touareg

$1,834 - $11,198  MSRP Range
2005 Volkswagen Touareg

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

24 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Volkswagen Touareg?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2005 V6

by VW owner from St. Joseph, MI on Mon Jan 09 2012

Bought our '05 back in November with 91,000 one owner miles and couldn't be happier. Truck drives and rides like it has 20,000 miles and the interior shows no visible wear for being an '05. Gas mileage sucks, but knew that when we bought it and didn't buy it to run up and down the highway anyhow. Maintenance is expensive, but that is expected when buying a high end German vehicle that if the money is spent on maintence, these things will run forever.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VW Touareg-2005 may have been it's best year!

by Bay City Rollers from SanFran, CA on Sat Apr 29 2017

As another reviewer said, this is a "sleek and sporty-looking vehicle". Ours draws admirers when parked too. Regular oil changes and tune-ups is all our 2005 has needed to keep it running great. Seen many negative comments about the Touraeg...I guess maybe 2005 was a good year for them. But hey- any 12 year old car is going to need things replaced now and again. Our expenses for the standard tune-up replacements haven't been out of line in our opinion. It's a foreign import - of course it's going to be more than what's charged for a domestic model...comes with the territory.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

very nice

by auto nut from Abingdon va on Fri Sep 20 2013

Beautiful car,has held up well,drives very nice I am very happy with vehicle purchase.Dont see many on street,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I highly recommend this vehicle

by Ronney from Valparaiso, In on Fri Nov 24 2017

I loved her from the moment I lay eyes on her. The unique design means my Tuareg at 12 years old competes with the latest models vehicles without looking old. She handles well in winter and looks good in summer. Although she requires high quality fuel and gets a little costly when repairs are needed. I will say this, I have maintained all scheduled repairs on this vehicle and have had very little issues aside from those. She is expensive when the warranty expires so I recommend anyone who purchases a vehicle like this have gainful employment. Reliable, classy, and timeless is my discription of her.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SUV with a sports car heart

by Value Conscious Snob from Wisconsin on Thu May 13 2010

Great performance, i found in similar to driving a Porsche 911. I was originally looking at the Porsche Cayenne S, but then realized that the Touareg was extremely similar, and I actually liked the interior and exterior better on the VW, not to mention the price. I know the Porsche badge might mean a lot to some, but it didn't equate to an additional $15,000 on a used car....especially not one that I found more appealing. v8 is a must and very powerful and responsive, the v6 was too sluggish for the size and weight of this vehicle. Great in the cold weather regions as well

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pleased owner

by Car Guy from Maryland on Thu Aug 26 2010

A very capable highway and local vehicle with a sport-truck personality. Plenty of room and very comfortable for long trips as well. 2nd Row Seat fold-down could be easier to accomplish (hence the 4-Star Interior Design rating,) but in light of everything else I like about this V8 4X4 SUV that is a minor issue to me. One of the most attractive SUV's I have seen. East Coast blizzards of 2010 could not stop this vehicle under any circumstances.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love and hate for sure

by Jmcmiq314 from Saint Louis MO on Fri Mar 24 2017

The vw Touareg is a great vechicle only if u buy it brand new with a factory warranty with it after the warranty is out dated get rid of it because the cost of keep up is so much money is really sad the only thing on this car that is cheap too replace is a wiper for the windshield which is 60$ buck if u go to vw everything else goes up for there aside from the cost of up keep the Touareg is a great vechicle performance I mean this thing really can get up and go and maybe even fully capable of doing the 160mph that is on the dash that is usually just for show for these newer cars that built I love my truck but not enough to keep paying paying for repairs that cost well over into the hundreds of dollars and into the thousands I would buy it again but not used only brand new and once the warranty is gone I would get rid of it for sure as I would with any German vechicle for that matter the up keep cost for these vechiclea are Crazy

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

TREG in TX and Happy!

by TREG_TX from Texas on Thu Dec 08 2011

Purchased this steal of a deal 2005 in 2011 w/ nearly 80k miles. No problems, fun drive, nice ride and does everything I need it to do. Go T-Reg!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very beautiful car

by maj from Bellevue on Mon Aug 02 2010

Love the car bought one back in 2005 and gave it to my wife she loved it now i am thinking to buy a newer model but my wife wont sell it the only thing i did to the car is a tune up and regular maintenance and i am looking for another one to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LoveMyTouareg

by 2005 V8 4.2 from Saint Louis MO on Fri Jan 20 2012

This is my first vw and i love it the price i pay for it was very reasonable and the performance is crazy talkin about going 160mph on highway with no worrie of about the vehcile going out of control this vehcile performance better than alot of the newer 2012 models cars and suv's for it to be an 05 its crazy fast for a suv that's over 5000lbs sport mode i love zoom see ya lol great job VW.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3