2008 TL

Consumer Reviews

2008 Acura TL

$3,322 - $12,850  MSRP Range
2008 Acura TL

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

110 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Acura TL?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

91 - 100 of 110 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I loved this car always wanted this car

by LeoMA from Lynn , Massachusetts on Sat Oct 12 2019

I loved this vehicle I always wanted it and after having it still love the car I recommend this car to family and friends very reliable

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My baby!

by Cynful88 from Molalla Oregon on Fri Nov 15 2019

I have an 08 with nav. Base model. Diamond white pearl. I previously owned a bmw and a Mercedes and I love this car way more. It gets on it pretty quick and even with the base model my car is quicker on the freeway than some bmw guys trying to show off lol. I LOVE the body line on this car. It’s so nice! I purchased the aspec factory lip kit for this car from the dealership and it makes the car look bad as all xxxx. I’m at almost 200k miles and it runs amazing. I like that mine will alert you for most anything on the dash. It has a lot of options in my car. The nav is kinda outdated now but I still use it. I think it needs an update. I lowered my car and it still rides comfy. The bad! The doors like to shut quick on you so you might lose a leg if your not quick when having it not out all the way. The interiors are known to go to crap super quick so a lot of this now in 2019 have crap for seat. The side mirror when in left mirror or right mirror position will malfunction and go up down up down over and over until you center the button while in reverse lol I prob need to repair it. I haven’t experienced this but a lot of people in a Acura group I’m in have what is feared and called “the dash cracks” I’m assuming they live in a hot place and park outside a lot. I live in Oregon and mine is not damaged. Knock on wood. If you get one, join Acura TL third generation on fb. It’s so helpful! Those “bad” things aren’t deal breakers for me. This car is bad xxx.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun car to drive tough for me to let it go

by Need4speed from Auburn on Mon Dec 23 2019

This car was more than I expected and honestly I thought I was going through a mid-life crisis. Acura really did this vehicle right! From the power that it delivers to the handling it performs like nothing I've seen.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Car

by nocinc from Chicago, IL on Sat Aug 26 2017

Just a great overall car.. last year of the good body style Great power, I had the 6 speed which was super smooth I also had the Type S so it had all the options and power. I sold it because someone offered me more money than I bought it for new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car to own

by LeonQ from Tampa,Fl on Wed Dec 27 2017

My 2008 Acura TL is a great car and fun to drive. After owning a 2001 TL with no problems I upgraded to a 2008 TL and very happy with the purchase. Everyone likes the car and I get many compliments. I purchased this as a second car but find myself driving it more than my primary vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Theirs nothing not to love about this car.

by Leecorrado from Kearny, NJ on Sat Feb 24 2018

Rides great, looks amazing parked and on the road, spacious, has great features and is just fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I have owned

by BMWOwner from Alexandria, VA on Wed Nov 15 2017

Amazing car. This TL was my first dream car. Very reliable. Plenty of power for enthusiasts. Highly recommend

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I just love this car

by Leo from Baltimore on Mon Apr 08 2019

I drove this car the other it's comfortable, good performance and nice control. It's a wonderful machine. I'm definitely thinking about purchasing one. I just love the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My second sexy little TL

by CincyDeb from Cincinnati, OH on Thu Oct 03 2019

This was one of three cars that was on my "Doable Dream Car" list, along with the BMW 3-series and Cadillac CTS. Since the other two are rear wheel drive, I knew they wouldn't be practical for our unpredictable midwestern winters. The TL it was. I first purchased a 2006 TL and much to my dismay, it ended up being the biggest piece of junk I ever owned. After 6 months (I bought it used) the transmission went out. After having that replaced, about a year later, it blew a head gasket. Apparently the previous owner didn't take very good care of her. I had to put it out to pasture. However, I missed that car and definitely wanted another one. About four years later, I needed a new car and this was my chance to get what I wanted. I got a 2008 TL because that was the last year they made this body style. I still have it and drive it daily. I LOVE this car! It's SUCH fun to drive and she still is a sexy little thing after all these years. Mine has navigation and every 08 TL has the heated seats, backup camera, bluetooth integration, integrated foglamps etc. She still drives smooth as can be and accelerates like a dream. The only issue I've had with this car is the Canister Vent Valve Solenoid went bad and I had to replace it. Easy fix. $120 part and you can pull the old one off and put the new one on yourself in seconds. I found this out because I kept getting a notice to tighten my gas cap. When that didn't do the trick, I researched online and found it was this part that was triggering the message. I tried going the cheap route and getting an off-brand part, but then it only made the check engine light come on (but the gas cap message was gone). I had to buy a real OEM Honda part to make the light turn off. So, you can't go cheap on these cars, they know! She's got over 200k miles on her and I'm looking to go at least another 200k.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car just looks, feels and drives fantastic.

by Still amazed from Dallas, TX on Thu Sep 27 2007

I got more than 2000 miles on my new TL and I cannot believe that I actually drive this car to work everyday. Everybody in my company noticed immediately. Other day I saw myself in a reflection and now I know why. This car just looks fantastic. Take it from a dealership parking lot to downtown and watch reflections of yourself. I got bronze exterior with parchement interior. When you open the door, it whispers (not screams) luxury! I love all the features: seat memory settings, hands-free bluetooth phone link, navigation, dual clima, sound system. Driving is very smooth and comfortable and if you want very sporty as well. Perfect balance. You can drive your mother in law in a limo and your friends in a sports car all in the same vehicle. Driving in the heavy rain, passing 18-wheelers, up the hill in curvy road, all of it is pure driving passion. MPG is OK, 28 on highways and 23.5 in my daily commute. Easily the best car I ever had.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Our Take on the 2008 Acura TL


The 2008 Acura TL Type-S didn’t rock my world. I was really expecting sparks to fly, but I’m a few weeks away from giving birth and probably a bit crabby, which undoubtedly affects my worldview. While the car performed relatively well, there were too many things that disqualified it from being my perfect mommy-mobile. In short, the TL was fine, but not fabulous.

I drove the TL Type-S to Crested Butte, Colo., for the Fourth of July weekend, and my trip fell short in some respects, too. I know I sound implacable, so please don’t get me wrong – I’m not that hard to please. But I like things the way I like them, so when they’re not that way, I don’t like them... Read More