2008 TL

Consumer Reviews

2008 Acura TL

$3,322 - $12,850  MSRP Range
2008 Acura TL

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

110 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Acura TL?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

101 - 110 of 110 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Nice and cleAn

by 2008 Acura TL on Sun Jul 26 2020

Nothing wrong and no issues at all. Clean title on hand . Only two owners . Engine and transmission are strong . Well- maintained and well- kept

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable

by Michaeldav from Davenport, IA on Thu Jul 30 2020

Easy to drive, reliable, good gas mileage, sporty, fun to drive, looks good. Would definitely buy the exact same model again if this car even ever dies

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Never had an issue.

by CHackett from Homer Glen, IL on Sat Aug 11 2018

I’ve owned the car since 2011 and I’ve never had a single mechanic problem with it. I maintained the car well and it did its job. I love this car and I’ll be sad when I have to trade it in.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best car's I've ever owned

by Acura/ Honda lover from Chicago suburb on Fri Jan 06 2012

I bought this car about 2 years ago with 31k on it- and I love it! The problems with torque steer are with any front wheel drive, and not as bad as some people say- it's never happened to me! There are only 2 things I will say against the TL: the quality/ durability of the seat leather( mine doesn't look very good- was told by Acura- this is normal!), and the Michelin Pilot's that they put ont the car from the factory- they slip on anything wet!!! Other than that I reaaly Love this car, which is the second TL I have owned- had a 2000 TL until the Trans. gave out! Trans. seems very good in this one though, and not as many problems reported with this trans.! Gas mileage is awesome- I get 31 to 32 mpg on straight highway- Nice!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All the goodies: 6spd type-S

by Tee-golfer from Orlando Fl on Tue Aug 01 2017

Great example of what a modern sports sedan can be. Tight handling and responsive throttle, use as a daily driver on highways is the most bang for you buck. I recommend a Manuel transmission type-s. Stupid things in this car go bad, like side mirrors not remembering set position after going into reverse; or LED indicator for heated seats on.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super Car for the Money!

by Driverman on Thu Sep 14 2017

I think I want another one. Only selling because I need more room for a bigger family. I love driving this car on the highway and in the city.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car is very reliable. I had no problems.

by Lil from Angier, NC on Tue Aug 08 2017

Can't beat this car: I got my 2008 TL-S car new 10 years ago this fall. It is a great car. It's dependable, good on gas--I use regular. It is 6-cylinders and fast. I can't say enough good things about this car. I can't believe they have stopped producing this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Acura’s reliability and style continue to impress.

by mbotting from on Sun Jan 14 2018

I’ve owned a total of 4 Honda Motors vehicles in my life. Every one has been at least on each mode ear newer than the last. My most recent 2008 Acura TL Type-S was the most impressive. It was the perfect ’hybrid’ (no pun intended) between luxury and sport; equipped with supple leather seats that don a cool, stitched ’Type-S’ logo, as well as a high-class, user-friendly dash board set up, to its unforgettable responsive 3.5L VTEC V6. All of this with the piece of mind that you’re driving a reliable, coat-efficient, Honda Motors vehicle. And oh yea - I got almost 30mpg on the highway!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I’ve ever owned.

by Astrosworldchamps from Houston, TX on Sat Jan 13 2018

This car does the job. Great acceleration. The interior is sophisticated. It drives like a charm. I love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best car i had in a while .

by Kunta befin tefley from Manchester ct on Wed Sep 13 2017

It is a very good veichle it ran for me for almost 3 years then the transmission went . But hey atleast it lasted through the winters. I would definetly buy it again if I seen one

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Prev
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Our Take on the 2008 Acura TL


The 2008 Acura TL Type-S didn’t rock my world. I was really expecting sparks to fly, but I’m a few weeks away from giving birth and probably a bit crabby, which undoubtedly affects my worldview. While the car performed relatively well, there were too many things that disqualified it from being my perfect mommy-mobile. In short, the TL was fine, but not fabulous.

I drove the TL Type-S to Crested Butte, Colo., for the Fourth of July weekend, and my trip fell short in some respects, too. I know I sound implacable, so please don’t get me wrong – I’m not that hard to please. But I like things the way I like them, so when they’re not that way, I don’t like them... Read More