2019 TLX

Consumer Reviews

2019 Acura TLX

$22,770 - $48,566  MSRP Range
2019 Acura TLX

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

51 Reviews
76% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Acura TLX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 51 reviews

2 out of 5 stars

Worst car I've ever owned

by heatdiva1 from Palm Harbor, FL on Wed Feb 27 2019

I am extremely disappointed with the 2019 Acura TLX A-Spec V6. I began a 3 year lease at the beginning of Feb. 2019 and I already can't wait for my 3 year lease to be up. The car does not shift smoothly and is very jerky when shifting. It has four different modes (eco, normal, sport and sport plus) and I've experimented with driving the car in the various modes but it doesn't help. The interior of the car is pretty "plain jane" compared to other vehicles in this price point. The car exterior looks good but I am disappointed overall with the vehicle. I previously had a Nissan Maxima and would choose it any day over the Acura.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Technology - update from my post on 8/26

by PT from Jacksonville, FL on Sun Sep 01 2019

Well things have changed a bit in 2 weeks. The transmission troubles that others have referenced for the 9 speed transmission in the V6 TLX has reared its ugly head in my car. The car can't make up its mind which gear to be in - it lurches a bit. Happens more at lower speeds. Disappointed at the moment. Dealer said it learns driver habits so they did a factory reset to erase all data since it was dealer demo. Has made no difference. Also feeling a vibration in the front end but its very sporadic so can't pin it down to anything yet. Not happy about it given what we paid. Yes its under warranty but I don't want to battle with Duval Acura for years about this.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It envelopes you into the feel of luxurious comfo!

by Leo Pz from Rancho Cucamonga on Tue Jul 24 2018

This only my 2nd ever new car. I love it. There is no way you should be in bad mood when driving one ! It makes you smile everytime you drive!! Driving to work is slot less stressful now,I’m very calm when driving this car. Like Mikie says try it you’ll like it!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2019 Acura TLX is one of a kind

by sking081214 from Buckeye, Arizona on Thu Jun 28 2018

I bought the 2019 Acura TLX Aspec edition, and nothing compares. So much luxury and comfort. Acura of Peoria in Arizona is the ultimate dealership as well. Friendly, and most helpful!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Nice car-Technology/electronis - both garbage!

by Phil from Forked River NJ on Fri Apr 26 2019

Car is comfortable and rides nice-BUT technology/electronics totally unreliable! Rearview camera stays on in drive. Nav system constantly states "device is not supported". Fuel low indicator light stays on after putting gas in tank. Phone does not turn on when you hit answer- have to say hello twice. Nav buttons not responsive- home buttons and speak buttons often do not work. Dealer cannot find anything or reproduce???!!! A lot of B.S --- son has same car and same problems. Have owned a total of 8-10 Acuras- this is the worst. Do not buy this car- it sucks-- very frustrating!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

I’m done with Acura

by Annette D from Pittsboro, NC on Fri Nov 08 2019

Having issues with spots under the clear coat. Dealer tried to buff it out twice. Spots still there. They buffed the clear coat off and had to re-paint. Now client services is saying it’s because I bought the red and it’s hard water spots. I have another Acura right next to it with no issues. Where is the customer service here? This is my 7th Acura and my last one since they are not standing behind their product.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Test drove an Acura TLX

by chopsticks from Brightwood, VA on Tue Jul 16 2019

It was a nice car. Nothing really bad but not overly exciting either. It lacked some of the safety features a lot of cars have. I wasn't crazy about some of the styling. The placement of some of the chrome was not appealing to me and the A-Spec styling was a little too dark for my tastes. I couldn't find the combination of options and exterior styling that I really loved so we moved on and bought a Lexus es350 Sport that we really love!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

ACURA!!

by WEEEE from IRVINE,CA on Wed Jun 27 2018

IT WAS VERY LUXURIOUS AND FELT LIKE A VERY SMOOTH RIDE. UNFORTUNATELY, IT WAS OUT OF MY PRICE POINT OTHERWISE I WOULD LOVE TO OWN IT.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My acura Tl

by Adoyle from Chicago Illinois on Fri Jul 06 2018

Excellent I love acura,s I would not want another car if I could own dealership that would beautiful dream come true.i love the different body and the smooth ride

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Piece of xxxx

by Unhappy Camper from None of Your Business, OK on Sat Jul 14 2018

Worst vehicle I’ve ever owned. Avoid this piece of crap like the plague. Horrible design and poor quality of materials. Piece of junk that should be crushed.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 60 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2019 Acura TLX

The verdict:

Refreshed for 2018, the Acura TLX sedan remains a strong value choice in a large class.

 

Versus the competition:

Luxury sedan shoppers with a $40,000 budget have enough choices to fill a Cheesecake Factory menu, and though the TLX can’t go blow-for-blow against the best of them for performance or quality, it thumps most of them in value.

 

Now in the fourth model year of its current generation, the 2018 TLX gets a slew of visual updates and a reworked multimedia system. Drivetrains carry over, with a four-cylinder or V-6 engine available with front-wheel drive. All-wheel drive can also be had with the V-6, as can an A-Spec performance package — a $2,900 option that’s new for 2018. We drove a V-6 TLX AWD in regular and A-Spec form at a Kentucky media preview (Cars.com pays for its travel and lodging for such automaker-held events).

Quickish

The TLX’s engines — a 2.4-liter four-cylinder and 3.5-liter V-6 — boast direct injection but not the turbochargers that are ubiquitous among competing sports sedans. We’ve driven the... Read More