1998 Blazer

Consumer Reviews
1998 Chevrolet Blazer

Change Vehicle
3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5

17 Reviews
1998 Chevrolet Blazer
3.5 out of 5 starsComfort
3.5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3.9 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.3 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

You won't be disappointed

by SUV Man from Frederick, MD on September 19, 2009

Bought New in '98. If you have had water pump problems its because of Dex-cool. Any other recurring problems are so easily fixed - Do it yourself and buy GOOD replacement brands! I have only ever had to do major maintenance once - Intake manifold gasket. The AC dies under warranty which is on par for GM vehicles (Expect this) I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS VEHICLE AND WANT TO MAKE IT LAST FOREVER!!! This vehicle has a nice interior, it is very comfortable and the AC (With the cheap Delphi compressor replaced with an AC Delco) is very cold, sometimes even too cold. The electric mirrors don't work any more, they died after about 8 years, but the defrosters still work. Engine still has plenty of power after 145K miles, EASY TO REPAIR!! EASIER TO TUNE-UP THAN MY '95 S10! My maintenance: (Routine stuff not listed. i.e. brakes, oil, filters, consumable parts) -AC Compressor -Parking brake pedal assy -Front Wiper Motor (once, then never again) -4-wheel drive switch (got rear-ended & my coffee went into it and made it stick) -Intake manifold gasket -3 waterpumps (Before I changed from Dex-cool to the old school coolant, since then: never) -Repaired 1 rust spot Pretty good for 145K in my opinion. None of them were too hard. More time consuming than hard. Longest was 5 days and that was intake manifold gasket + all the upper gaskets just because I was in the neighborhood.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

kg

by kg from nh on December 1, 2011

We have had about 6 blazers in the family. All have been a good vec. great tow and work truck, good ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car i have owned

by chevy guy from oklahoma on April 18, 2007

mine has all the options including leather seats , heated mirrors, heated seats, power windows, power locks, radio stays on till door is open, ccd player, cassette theft lock radio, bucket seats in front, center console, rear hatch open button, full size spare, tinted windows also luggae rack , driving lights, fog lamps, auto on head lights , over head consloe with compass, miles per gallon fuel used , miles till on empty, instant fuel economy, outside temp, love the way it handles would ride better with new shocks good gas mileage 17 in town and on highway still getting 21 bought it used 1998 170 000 miles no leaks no mess, i

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best first car

by Brett from Kansas City, MO on March 6, 2011

Parents bought it new, i drove it after it was already 12 years old and besides for the stains on the floors its as good as new. 86,000 miles on it and it runs like a beauty.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Solid Vehicle - B Student All the Way

by Vegas Wms from N Utah on May 5, 2007

Plenty of power for towing, hauling, and passing. Relatively comfortable. Only two mechanical issues: alternator went out @ 60k miles (no reoccurrence after that) and weird suspension noises when full opposite lock / vibration @ 65-75 mph (hasn't effected driveability and I've seen this on other GM trucks). Very reliable other than those hick-ups. Was $8k less expensive than the similarly equipped 4-Runner I cross-shopped. Relatively comfortable and love the adjustable lumbar support. Cat-con hump on the passenger side is VERY uncomfortable during a long drive. Decent cargo capacity and chock full of comfort / convenience features (dual sun-visors, cargo cover that extends sideways vs. front-to-back making it easier for short folks, grab handles, overhead console, many others) and storage cubbies. Overall pleased w/ my purchase; 10 model years old and plan to keep at least 3-4 more years.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Pleased

by Single mom from Texas on April 3, 2007

I bought my car used with 26,000 miles on it. I have owned it now for 7 years. It has served me well. It is a great combination car--I can haul small things, go on a trip with lots of gear, go to the theater with friends, drive with the sunroof open and my hair blowing in the wind. It's great for having kids or pets, and still small enough to get into the smallest of parking spaces. I don't feel like I'm driving a tank!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

we've had some problems

by Jimbo from Columbia, SC on October 20, 2006

the transmission lost a gear @40000 miles. a lot of vehicle integrity issues appeared (i.e. A/C went out, door won't lock, wipers quit, etc.) I still have it at 132,000 miles and the engine still runs pretty well. But it's had it's share of problems so I'd only buy one if you got a really good deal. It doesn't hold value very well.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good starter

by General Motors Expert from mansfield, Ohio on September 20, 2009

This is a great starter car, very reliable, never had any problems with it, and is great off roads.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Garbage

by Brian from Placerville, CA on April 26, 2011

This is not a well made vehicle. Problems with fuel pumps are common ($900 repair), as are clogged spider injectors (also $900). I spoke with 3 mechanics who all said they saw these Blazers for these issues all the time, especially years 97-98. (My tow truck driver said his brother had to replace the fuel pump 3 times during the life of his earlier model Blazer.) When the vehicle is working, ride comfort is not good, noise levels are extremely high, handling is atrocious, and the vehicle just feels plain clunky. Avoid!

1 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Least Reliable Car I've ever owned

by BlazerMoneyTrap from New Jersey on June 27, 2008

Look on any blazer forum and you can see the same things failing early: water pump, door pins, wiper motor, tranfer case seals, loose steering, ball joints, coil pack, .... Worst design I've ever seen.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 1998 Chevrolet Blazer