2010 Equinox

Consumer Reviews

2010 Chevrolet Equinox

$3,842 - $11,358  MSRP Range
2010 Chevrolet Equinox

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

210 Reviews
70% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2010 Chevrolet Equinox?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 210 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Nice Ride

by Shewy from Cumberland,MD. on Mon Nov 03 2014

Although I haven't had mine that long I really like the style and ride. It handles well on the turns. I'm hoping to save on gas mileage. I had to get used to driving a 4 Cly. again but it seems to pick speed up fast enough. I too don't care for the rear headrests being so big and not adjustable. Also the center console seems a bit to big and takes up space when having to wear a Winter coat it's a little snug. The heater/air cond. fan is very loud. I look forward to finding out how well it does in the snow with the AWD.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Soooo Happy

by preciouseve from bronx, ny on Sat Jan 20 2018

I just purchased this equinox and i am so far in love with it.. i love the ease of driving I am still getting use to driving but i am enjoy finding reasons to go driving. I wish the remote will alert you if when using Remote starter that the vehicle actually started but hey i can deal with that. If things stay the way they are now then i will stay loyal to the equinox family.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

I will never buy an Equinox ever again!!!!

by Amy from Scotts Valley on Mon Sep 24 2018

My 2010 Equinox is actually my second one. The first one was deemed a lemon and I was given a second one . The first one has so many issues within three months it was crazy. The transmission in my second one left me on the freeway stranded because it just died!!! It has always sounded like a loud tractor and is so much money to always fix it. NEVER AGAIN!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Worst engine I ever had

by BEpbfl from Paim Beach Gardens,Fl on Sat Dec 29 2018

Initially I bought the car with very low mileage.29,000 thought I had a great deal. Then in 8 months the air conditioning went out and completely replace everything $1,500 by my mechanic. The drive axles went bad replace them not too bad couple hundred dollars. Using oil is a big problem always low when I checked it adding oil continuously. Then the engine shut down on me I was able to get it to my mechanic and he diagnosed that I needed a new engine. Ordered a new engine and he installed it $3,800. Now the exhaust manifold is cracked and I have to replace that another 300. I would not recommend a 2010 Equinox to anybody unless it got all fixed up already a motor new are you see new manifold new axles yeah then be a good time to buy it if you got a deal.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

I loved this car but the transmission went out.

by Shebro from Richmond on Thu Dec 13 2018

I was disappointed with the oil consumption. I had to add oil before it was due for an oil change. I was advised by my mechanic that several different makes of Chevrolets had the same issues with oil consumption. I also read reviews about bad transmissions in several Equinoxes.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

piece of crap

by sheree from dayton ohio on Mon Apr 01 2019

whoever made this truck should be ashamed of themselves this piece of crap I've had to replace 2 engines that was under my warranty transmission put in I had to pay out of pocket for I tell you this has been the worst vehicle I have ever purchased in life

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great

by Jamey from Fairmount, In on Sun Jul 16 2017

great ride looks good roomy good gas mileage fun to drive great sound system bottom line I love this car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Much work done already, to this vehicle.

by jlee629 from on Wed May 31 2017

Car is less than 7 years old, Have already had to replace wiper motor. And is in shop today for transmission issues.Leaking , low, burnt fluid. Less than 55 thousand miles on the car. Brake pads , rotors, and bearings shot. Test revealed some sort of problem with the engine, sensors or some such thing. I LOVED this vehicle when we first got it, but once it starts falling apart its like dominoes. Turned out to be a lemon. As soon as all of this is replaced, its GONE.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Its junk

by Matt from Arcanum Ohio on Sun Mar 24 2019

Have had it for almost 4 years. Have had to put a new tranny in($3300) broken timing chain so top of motor had to be replaced($2200) and now I'm on my 3rd wheel bearing that has to be replaced. The car is junk.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my equinox it’s sporty and sexy a must have

by Mimi from Cleveland, Ohio on Mon Jun 04 2018

Spacious and safe for a mother and her children I don’t have to worry about anything with this vehicle and it’s great on gas my family loves it and calls it a spaceship

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 21

Our Take on the 2010 Chevrolet Equinox

“Equinox” has become a truly apt name for Chevrolet’s small crossover. Twice a year, the equinox marks a near-perfect balance between length of day and night across the planet, and for 2010 the redesigned Equinox offers an excellent balance of size and efficiency, roominess and utility, quality and price.

The second-generation Chevrolet Equinox four-cylinder surpasses the Honda CR-V, Ford Escape and Toyota RAV4 — three of its main competitors — in gas mileage, and its stylish cabin brings high-quality materials and an upscale flair to the class. It also features a large backseat to keep passengers happy. Some people might find the Equinox’s ride a bit too firm for a... Read More