1998 Lumina

Consumer Reviews

1998 Chevrolet Lumina

$43 - $5,735  MSRP Range
1998 Chevrolet Lumina

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

14 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Chevrolet Lumina?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The best car hands down for the money

by PonyFeathers from New Jersey on Sat Jul 05 2008

I had a 95 lumina that had 157k miles when i got it. she ran wonderful up till about 220k then she overheated (my fault for not replacing the ratiator sooner) and sadly "lucy" was no more. i loved that car so much i bought another lumina,"lola" a 98 with only 108k. they are all around fantastic cars. they are comfortable and very very reliable. they are cheap to fix to. I would highly reccomend someone buyin this car. its a shame chevy dosent make it anymore

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Keeping it as long as it lasts!

by MC Jackson from on Sun Apr 05 2015

I have the LTZ model and WOW. I absolutely love this car! The engine bay is easily navigable (except for Power Steering which is between the firewall and engine.) It looks amazing, it rides well, and is comfy. My personal complaint is I wish there was a tad more legroom for my left leg. But I digress. I got it from my grandfather, who didn't drive it often, with only 65K miles on it! Only things I've had to do is give it Power Steering Fluids and Brake Fluids, and It runs beautifully!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

loved my car---

by randy from ct on Fri Sep 02 2011

very reliable vech.nice and roomy fun to drive good on gas--low repair cost a lot of car for the money

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever

by Blue Lady from Texas on Mon Dec 30 2013

This is my second lumina. I bought a 95 new and drove it for over 100K miles until someone turned left in front into it. I added leather seats to both luminas I have had. My current one I bought used after having tried a new malibu to replacee the 95 lumina. The malibu wasn't as comfortable to me as the lumina is. Since they no longer made new luminas, I bought this car with about 10K miles on it. I now have over 150K and still love its perfomance, appearance, and comfort. I service it regularly and get about 28 MPG. Hope I can find something I like this well if this one ever dies on me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Likes

by Ryan from Rochester NH on Mon Jul 31 2006

I like it because A)it is good on gas (economical) B)it has great handiling C)easy to maintain D)Comfortable E)great handiling F)mine is second hand and i only paid 600$ for mine and i bought it in 2006 it is a 98' there have been no real repairs except for basics (breaks, oil change etc.) it runs smooth and still has maintained great fuel efficeny. All the features are easy to get to and work good the only disadvantage with the base model is no inside trunk release.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable 3800 II engine

by LeSabotuer from Atlanta, Georgia on Fri Aug 11 2006

I bought this car used and I am the second owner, and it was taken care of well. I love this LTZ model, it comes with the 3.8L engine which is tried and true, with 200HP and sportier suspension, tires and wheels. Love the 4 wheel disc, traction control and ABS! I never liked the steering feel in the base model and this models steering feel is just a little better, but not much. The instrumentation is well layed out and could have used more cup holders and cubby holes, overall I love mine. It's very comfortable to drive around town, but excels on the hwy, passing crusing and chillin'. Gas MPG in the city isn't great(18 mpg), but hwy cruising is better @ about 29-31 Hwy MPG

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable with the Fuel Efficiency of a Small Car

by highwayCommuter from Twin Cities, MN on Sat Feb 25 2012

I bought this car from my aunt in 2005 with 181K (sales rep miles) and I drove it for the next 120K. It's always started (except when I needed to replace the starter) and has needed little repair over the past 7 years. It had GREAT fuel economy for such a roomy car - consistently got 28mpg. Made it to 300k and then died about 3k later when the intake valve failed. Wasn't worth the $500 or so for me to fix but if not for that I'd still be driving it and I'm not sure that it won't be back on road once the salvage guys are done. In fact am considering buying another one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car

by Lumina98 from Scranton Pa on Sun Aug 06 2017

This car is the most reliable ever. Had a 99 Honda CR-V in which all the power locks etc broke after a few years. This car in 2017 is like brand new. Hardly any money put into this car with at least 130,000 miles and counting. Very reliable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good, solid car

by el tachon from Nixa, MO. on Mon May 08 2017

This was a deceased Grandmother's car. It was a program car with 18,000 miles on it when she bought it in 1998, now has 100,900. She literally only drove it to church and grocery store. The interior is in fine shape, no stains, wear and tear. Front wheel drive so good on snowy streets

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not bad for the money.

by Ckeo87 from East Petersburg on Fri Apr 07 2017

It's a decent car. Not terrible, not exciting. It tracks well, picks up good and drives easy. Performance for the 3.1 V6 leaves something to be desired but is sufficient. It is a true value car and serves it's purpose well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1998 Chevrolet Lumina

The demise of the Impala SS means that there is no longer a hot rod sedan in Chevy's lineup, but the Lumina LTZ does its best to take the place of that loved and lamented four door.

The Lumina has made its mark as an affordable, competent family car that represents solid value without a lot of flash. The LTZ package adds some sizzle to the standard model with a bigger engine, alloy wheels, trunk lid spoiler and subtle badging. Even at that it retains an understated demeanor that many will find appealing.

To create the LTZ, Chevrolet added different front and rear fascias, tightened up the suspension, put on aluminum wheels and slipped the 3800 Series II V6 under its hood. This engine's 200... Read More