2005 Malibu

Consumer Reviews
2005 Chevrolet Malibu

Change Vehicle
4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

47 Reviews
2005 Chevrolet Malibu
4.4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.3 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 47 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

One Of The Best I've Owned

by New Toy from Illahee, WA on October 1, 2009

I owned a 2005 Chevy Malibu LT and loved it. My LT had the 1SB Luxury Package: Sunroof, Auto Start, Chrome Wheels, XM Radio, 6 Disk Changer, Sunroof Auto Dimming Mirror w/On Star, Homelink, Chrome Wheels. With the 3500-V6 Engine this car had pep. When I stepped on it I had to hang onto the wheel as the rear end would want to take off on her own. This was definatly an almost luxury car without the price. Had very little upkeep costs besides the oil and other regular maintenance. Heated seats, auto-start, traction control and with the addition of studded snow tires I kept warm and on the road, despite the steep hills I traversed during winter.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE THIS CAR

by Meet the Chevrolet family from Ohio on February 15, 2009

I purchased my Malibu brand new in the summer of 2005, and it is one of the best cars I have ever owned the body style is a little plain but the car makes up for it in pure performance. The 2.2L Ecoctech engine is a god send among rising gas prices I was getting about 34mpg on long trips, and that little motor did not back down when you asked it to pick up the pace it always had enough power on tap for merging on the freeway. I never had any problems with the car what so ever Zero, the only up keep it required was regular oil changes and that is it. The interior of the car is high quality and the seats are very comfortable, I also love the feature that allows you to set the petals exactly where you want them. I owned my Malibu for 4years, the only reason I traded it in was to get one of the new 2008 Malibu?s witch I just had to have the new body styles are so sweet. Get a Malibu with the 2.2L 4cyclinder and you can?t go wrong.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car of 2005

by AlFord from Southfield, MI on October 21, 2006

The 2005 Chevrolet Malibu proves to be a great family car, Both for women and men the car which started being reproduced in 1997 has had a major body change and re-shape in 2004. They introduced 3 Trim Levels Base, Mid Class LS , and First Class LT , Later to be called LS,LT, and LTZ in 2006/2007. The Malibu has a base model which I don't recommend becuz it lacks in features. As for the Higher Trim LS the vechicle comes equipped with beautiful and useful features such as adjustable pedels and cruise control. The LS has an available Remote Vechicle Start thats Standard on the LT and standard on LS if car comes with an Sunroof. As for me I opted for the High Class LT V6 Edition which is my favorite I highly recommend you get this car, it features a beautiful exterior with sporty rear spoiler, foglamps, 16" alloy wheels. The interior features are Leather/Ultralax Inserts, Adj Pedals, Remote Vehicle Start , Auto Climate Control, Onstar, Sunroof on 1SB, Home Garage System, Leather Steering wheel with Audio and Cruise controls ..... No matter the weather this car handles well Auto Tempature controls the cars climate and remote start allows easier and quicker getaway with tempature perfect .....Yes U should get this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Car Enthusiast from on July 13, 2010

Where to start. These cars are great. The ride is so smooth. It handles smoothly. All of the features make the car what it is. It would be great for families, daily drivers, or any situation.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is the best car I've ever owned

by flyerskyer from chicago on May 5, 2008

Absolutely the best car I've owned really I've owned a BMW Mazda 929 which was good a Lincoln MarkVIII and out of all these some luxury cars this is the best. It handles very good in rain sleet or snow,no matter I've never been stuck plus its easy to own and good on gas especially on the highway and tooling around town.Keep up your oil changes and schedule maitenance and you can't lose.Kudos to chevy!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great small family car

by Jeff from Detroit, mi on December 12, 2012

It's great step up from the neon we had. Fits child seat comfortable. Driver seat goes back for plenty of leg room for a 6'5 person.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Chevy Malibu LS

by Layne from Idaho on September 11, 2016

This has been the best car most people can ever hope to own. I bought the car with 15,000 miles in 2006. I now have 422,000 miles and still going. This car has the 3.5 liter 6 cylinder engine in it and is amazing. I consistently get between 33 and 35 MPG highway. As far as maintenance I have put brakes and tires on this car and 2 windshields. Aside from that, everything is originial. As I said, the best car imaginable. Thank you Chevy.....I will let you know when I hit 500 K next year.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

fastest best handling car I have ever owned

by sports car enthusiast from East Smethport,Pa on May 19, 2011

The computer tells you everything you need to know about gas and oil life and 2 trip odometers make sure you can compute your milage correctly. The faux beige convertible top makes a nice unusual touch along with the ruby red bottom.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellant vehicle well worth the money

by owner of the silver streak from on May 18, 2017

Reliable cheap to own good gas mileage very good riding and handling car.Good equipment good power chevy had a winner with this car.This car has more than payed for its self and at 169000 miles still runs good and is always reliable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE MY MALIBU

by Bu Owner from columbus, oh on May 30, 2012

This, by far, has been the best car I've owned! Can drive all day and never get tired. Great features, all controls are easy to reach. Interior is very comfortable, even my 6'3" hubby enjoys driving it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5
Our Expert Review: 2005 Chevrolet Malibu