2016 Malibu

Consumer Reviews

2016 Chevrolet Malibu

$11,668 - $22,844  MSRP Range
2016 Chevrolet Malibu

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

102 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2016 Chevrolet Malibu?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 102 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great car for the money

by hrupp22 from Lancaster, WI on Wed Mar 29 2017

I went from a 2012 Malibu LT to a 2016 Malibu LT with the leather and convenience package. I shopped for over a year before making decision. If you buy it with regular rebates and discounts you will be disappointed on the resale value. I bought mine at end of model year and the 20% sale was going on plus the dealer was $1500 under invoice so I am very happy with what I paid (MSRP 28300, paid $19200). The overall designed is pretty good. I do not like the plastic pattern in it but that's about it. I love the exterior and interior styling. I got it in charcoal. Very sleek looking and get many comments on it. The power is great for the 1.5 turbo, 4 cyl. engine. I have no issues passing on the highway or keeping up with everyone else. I do mostly highway driving and average 34 mpg. When we took it from Wisconsin to Nashville last week we did even better, averaging 38mpg. The Malibu has plenty of room it. I can fit all of my niece and nephews in the back, car seats and all, and they don't have any personal space issues. The trunk has more than enough space in it. I was worried how it would handle in the snow this winter but didn't have an issue. Even on the worst roads, she got around great. Overall you get a lot of bang for your buck. It is a great car for someone looking for something sporty, good on gas, easy on the wallet, and have space for friends and luggage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

alot of bang for the money

by big mike from kent, ohio on Fri Apr 28 2017

i have a 2016 malibu ls its a very nice looking car great on gas and plenty of get up and go under the hood

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Ride

by Lady J from Germantown, MD on Mon Mar 13 2017

The Malibu's are great cars! Excellent interior and exterior. Smooth driving and user friendly. Love the color and the features too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful car and a value

by Richc from Pittsburgh, PA on Sat Mar 25 2017

I purchased my first 4 cylinder a 1.5 liter Turbo Malibu. The car runs as well as a 6 cylinder and I get 24 miles to the gallon in the city some times more. The car will get from 0 to 60 in a reasonable time it's not my Camaro but I wont get as far in my Camaro for as little money. We are looking for a second car and as long as the styling is as nice as the 2016 models we will definitely buy either another Chevrolet maybe a 2.0 Liter Turbo the SS if you will.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable car

by Queenb2u from Birmingham on Fri May 05 2017

This case was good for a little old lady or a teen driver. Safety and comfortable car. Enjoyed to the highest. This car is stylist and very dependable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Gnv from Orlando FL on Thu Apr 06 2017

Amazing how far Malibu has come in a few years great car. Far better than a Toyota or Honda , quieter better ridding

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car for the money!

by Umpyogi8 from East Aurora on Fri Apr 28 2017

The technology is easy to use. Google and Android Auto, great ! GM has come all the way to the top. Even my friends that don't have a Chevy were very impressed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Malibu the best car we have owned

by brittany77 from Atlanta, GA on Mon Aug 06 2018

This car has met all of our needs. We were concerned about going from an suv to a car and the Malibu has exceeded all of our expectations. We are happy with the amount of room, and feel it's a safe family car .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sleek. Smooth ride. Great comfort.

by Dr.Mark from East Lansing, MI on Sun Mar 19 2017

This is the second Malibu I have owned. Great product for lower price. Would not get any other car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wow

by Chi-town teacher from Chicago, Illinois on Thu Jun 02 2016

I love this car. I drove it off the showroom floor and never returned it or drove anything else. The Premier package is awesome.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Our Take on the 2016 Chevrolet Malibu

The verdict: The reimagined 2016 Chevrolet Malibu's polished exterior looks are matched with a roomy cabin, refined powertrains and a seamless multimedia system.

Versus the competition: There have long been a lot of strong contenders in the midsize sedan class, but the Chevrolet Malibu hasn't been one of them. Now, with a redesign for 2016, it should finally have a shot.

The Chevrolet Malibu competes against the Honda Accord, Toyota Camry and Hyundai Sonata, among many other midsize sedans. Compare them here. Along with its new styling and powertrain, the Malibu grew in size for 2016. Compare it with the 2015 model here.

Exterior & Styling
The Malibu's designers admitted the previous generation had... Read More