2017 Silverado 1500

Consumer Reviews

2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

#2 Most Popular Truck
$25,240 - $42,616  MSRP Range
2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

299 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 299 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2017 Silverado LTZ Z71 Off Road

by Pat19018 from Aldan, PA on Mon Apr 24 2017

The Crew Cab version (which I purchased) is equipped with every amenity one could desire. The interior is spacious, with abundant power, USB, and even wireless charging for your cell phone. The leg room in the Crew Cab is impressive, even at 6' 2", I had plenty of room in the rear seat with the front seats adjusted to accommodate my leg and pedal reach. The vehicle with it's AFM (Fuel Management) system gets an impressive 25MPG for me (on fairly level surface).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

44 out of 44 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice Truck

by Jerry from San Antonio on Thu Mar 23 2017

The truck was love at for sight, drove over 150 miles just to purchased it, and when i test drove it and saw it in person this vehicle was all me, its unique style was different from other Chevy Silverado trucks, and for being a basic work truck it was what i wanted, but imagine the higher grades. Man! If i can feel this way with just a basic standard truck, Chevy is doing something right.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Lots of power but good gas mileage

by Gene17LTZ from Normandy TN on Mon Dec 03 2018

I really like my 2017 Silverado LTZ crew cab. It has the 420hp 6.2 engine and the 8 speed transmission. It has plenty of power for passing and towing, I get 22 mpg in all around driving. On the highway it is smooth and quiet, great acceleration. The only negative is that the transmission occasionally bangs into gear at low speeds.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

as usual a very nice vehicle

by shotgun14094 from Lockport N.Y. on Tue Apr 18 2017

great vehicle, nice ride and great looking. Fits all my needs. both in style and usability for towing and winter driving

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love our Midnight LT Z71

by Nick from Trucksville on Fri Mar 31 2017

Options for this truck is nothing but awesome. Looks sharp and rides smooth. We love the black on black.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cowboy Cadillac

by Loopy from Napa, CA on Mon Jul 03 2017

Beautiful truck, inside and out. Superior comfort with all the bells and whistles! Couldn't be happier with it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Truck in Every Way

by scantz56 from Butte, MT on Tue Oct 03 2017

Owned for almost a year and have been impressed with everything from style to performance. Awesome on economy as well as towing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great looking Reliable Truck.

by Dan the Man from Ventura ca on Fri Jul 05 2019

This 2018 truck will do everything I need. The search was a long one but I finally found a great looking 2 door reg cab standard box truck. Since I have owned several 4 door vehicles in the past and now I’m actually sick of 4 door everything I decided to go back to a great looking 2 door. Also can’t believe the looks and how many people ask me if it’s for sale since Chevrolet no longer makes reg cab standard bed LT pick-ups. What a shame!!! Guess I will be keeping this one till I die.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck on the road!

by Jason from Toledo,ohio on Tue Apr 18 2017

Get the 6.2 V8 Z71 LTZ package for the best bang for your buck! 420 Horse 460 FT/LB Torque can't go wrong!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice all around

by Rich BNO from Green Bay, WI on Sun Jan 05 2020

Lots of upgrades over previous models, reliably is hugely important to me, this truck has it all! This is my last truck, could not be more happy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 30

Our Take on the 2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

The verdict:


The 2016 Chevrolet Silverado exudes a good, old-fashioned trucklike attitude with its bold presence, but it isn't the least bit outdated, with highly competitive capabilities and the latest multimedia technology.

Versus the competition:


A 2016 Chevrolet Silverado with the optional 6.2-liter V-8 and eight-speed automatic transmission is a nearly unstoppable combination in overall performance against the most powerful half-tons the other guys have to offer.

Editor’s note: This review was written in March 2016 about the 2016 Silverado. The 2017 now offers low-speed automatic braking with forward collision warning, but little else of substance has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

With its latest update, the 2016 Chevrolet Silverado adds a few features on the inside and under the hood to keep the full-size, half-ton truck up to date in a constantly changing segment. For 2016, the Silverado’s styling is mildly updated, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto are added, and an optional eight-speed automatic transmission previously teamed... Read More