2008 Silverado 2500

Consumer Reviews

2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500

$5,886 - $33,766  MSRP Range
2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

28 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 2500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2008 Duramax

by Riding horses from Waco, Texas on Mon Apr 02 2012

This 2008 Silverado duramax is an excellent example of what a heavy duty truck should be. It gets reasonable fuel economy and so far has been very reliable. The body style is nice and the interior is very comfortable with all controls within reach. The only thing I don't like is the EPA mandated emission controls like the diesel particulate filter.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic truck.

by Hogdoctor from Memphis TN on Tue Aug 21 2018

I bought this 2008 Silverado 2500 HD used with 60k miles on it in well-maintained condition. It has the 6.6L Duramax engine and Allison heavy duty transmission. I've had Fords, Dodges, and foreign trucks in the past, and this is hands-down the most impressive machine I have ever owned.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Owned Chevrolet for my whole life but never again

by Jon from ND on Thu Oct 29 2020

Have owned this vehicle since new and it has been nothing but an absolute nightmare. Endless emission issues electrical issues exhaust issues and interior problems. It has been the definition of a money pit. Just had to finally get used to the check engine light because it's constantly on. I have a hundred and forty thousand miles on it now and I adventure to say I've got more in repairs than I paid for the truck off the lot. That is not even considering the warranty work. I've taken the emissions off and it's still unreliable and still gets terrible fuel mileage. If you're looking at a used one run away!

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Customer Satisfaction is Empty Promise

by Sorry GM got Bailed Out from Middletown, IN on Wed Feb 15 2012

Although this truck drives well, there is an ongoing random no-start issue which GM either does not care about or does not know how to fix. GM does not stand behind their product, at least not the Silverado 2500.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Diesel truck I've owned

by les the best from on Tue Jun 13 2017

The truck in general is a good truck but, the motor and transmission are excellent for pulling. This is the 3rd Duramax I've owned and I would highly recommend it to anyone pulling a fifth wheel RV.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Greta truck.

by redmac63 from Louisville, TN on Fri Nov 24 2017

Great truck. Comfortable interior. Plenty of power for pulling anything I need to pull . I have the 8 ft box so can easily load building materials. Plenty of load capacity. Been just a great all around truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent resale value. Returned 69% of price paid

by Stu from Springfield, Mo on Thu Aug 10 2017

Chevy Duramax/Allison is the only way to go for pulling and overall engine performance. Acceleration and torque is amazing. No problems whatsoever with this truck. I consider it the very best vehicle investment I have ever made in over 50 years of driving. The monetary depreciation was only 31% in 9 1/2 years of total ownership. Couldn't be happier.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable truck ive ever seen

by Gmoney13489 from Lloydminster,CA on Wed Nov 08 2017

This car met all of my needs. It is reliable it has a lot of power to tow and it can roal a lot of coal.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best diesel truck on the market

by Clssycntrygrl from Colorado on Sun Nov 12 2017

This truck has been comfortable, reliable and a pleasure to own. Fuel mileage is low, but I knew that before I bought it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best worktruck I've ever owned!

by Osachuk's Landscaping from Leominster MA on Wed May 10 2017

This truck has never left me stranded, has plenty of power, and pulls like no other. Would never buy anything other than gmc. It looks great, drives great, and performs even better! It does guzzle fuel though but hey it's got the 8.1L. You can buy gas, you can't buy power!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com